Round 1, Day 1: ADF

November 17, 2008 at 10:14 pm 2 comments

Well, I survived it.  Today is Monday, and I managed to get through the whole day without eating anything.

Wow.

I’m not going to say it’s been fun or anything; making lunch for the kids today was precisely what I would describe as the exact OPPOSITE of fun.  I made it a point to make them a lunch that I knew they would like, but that I wouldn’t, but this didn’t help very much.  Those carrot sticks were looking mighty good already by that point.

That said, though, I do have to say that it wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be.   Part of this may be due to the fact that I’m still feeling rather academic about the whole thing.  Feeling actual hunger pangs was such a new experience for me that I regarded them as ‘interesting’.. and when my stomach actually growled at one point, I was even kind of amused.  I can’t remember the last time I heard my stomach growl like that.

There is sort of a masochistic vein in all of this, when I think about it.  The hunger pains are not fun, but there is almost something obliquely rewarding about them.  The discomfort is a good sign, because once you feel that way, it means your body is seeking something it won’t get unless it goes to storage to get it.  Therefore, hunger pains sort of signal that fat is about to be utilized.   That makes them more welcome, somehow.

I’m REALLY looking forward to tomorrow.

Entry filed under: ADF, Successes.

And so it begins… Round 1, Day 2: ADF

2 Comments

  • 1. Feaelin  |  December 1, 2008 at 6:07 pm

    When I tried the Hacker’s Diet (the curious can do their own web searches), it has an initial stage where you near-starve yourself at the start (degree varies, I don’t recall specifics), basically to get your body in the ‘I may have to burn fat to sustain function’ mode.

    I recall that getting through the day was a major undertaking. πŸ™‚

  • 2. Jennifer  |  December 1, 2008 at 6:12 pm

    One thing I’ve heard from those who fast for religious reasons is that fasting gets progressively easier the longer you do it. The first day is hell, but by day 2 or 3 or so, your body has effectively given up on asking for food and quits nagging you about it.

    Not that I want to attempt to fast for 2 or 3 days or more.. but this does suggest that fast-feasting may be harder than just straight-up fasting. πŸ˜‰


Recent Posts

November 2008
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Check it out!

  • 9,469 people are watching me!

