Round 1, Day 2: ADF

November 18, 2008 at 9:29 pm 2 comments

Okay, today was….weird.  I guess I thought I’d be up like a shot at the break of dawn, scrambling down to the kitchen to consume every edible thing in the house while I could.  It didn’t actually turn out that way, though.

Not that I didn’t eat, of course.  I did.  I just didn’t wake up desperate.

I had two fried eggs for breakfast.  With cheese.  Oh yes, I did.  The perk here is that I can eat whatever I want, so I indulged.

After that, though, I wasn’t as voracious as one might think.  We had music lessons today, so I killed some time with a drive out to Great Harvest Bread Company to buy Dakota Bread.  They’re a whole-grain bakery that I discovered while on Weight Watchers a few years ago, and while Dakota Bread is hardly their most calorie-light bread, it’s got, like, ten million different grains in it and it just plain tastes good.  I figured it was an apt ‘Feast Day’ celebration treat for me, and I got the kids some of their whole-grain cookies while I was at it.  Yum.

I ate about a serving’s worth of the Dakota bread.  Without butter (it’s that good!).  Given that, I was surprised to find I wasn’t all that hungry for lunch.  Weird.

The thing is, I was so proud of myself for having abstained from eating all day yesterday that when I did eat today, I actually felt funny about it.  I felt like I was cheating, undoing all of the ‘good’ I’d accomplished by fasting the day before.  I’m not sure what to do with that, but I guess if it continues I’ll probably wind up trying to decide some kind special diet for myself on feast days.  I think it’ll probably wear off, though.

Guess we’ll see.

Entry filed under: ADF, Successes.

Round 1, Day 1: ADF Round 1, Day 3: ADF

2 Comments

  • 1. Pangie  |  November 21, 2008 at 4:35 pm

    Snooty bread!

  • 2. Feaelin  |  December 1, 2008 at 6:11 pm

    No matter how snooty that bread is, its still not worthy of me. 🙂

    I’m reading these in order, but very belatedly; so things I say may easily be redundant.

    I’ve experienced that before…you get used to eating a certain amount; cutting WAY back often immediately reduces that. Kind of a bizarre ‘eating less reduces appetite’ effect.

    I assume there is a diminishing return eventually. 🙂


Recent Posts

November 2008
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Check it out!

  • 9,469 people are watching me!

