Round 1, Day 3: ADF

November 19, 2008 at 10:18 pm 3 comments

Today was harder, I think, than Monday was.    This was probably due in part to the fact that my attitude toward hunger pangs was a lot less academic than it was Monday.    The novelty of that has already worn off.

But worse than that was the fact that I was in the kitchen all day, first cleaning and then preparing meals.  I was smart enough to plan another lunch for the kids that wouldn’t particularly tempt me, and then a dinner for everyone that also wouldn’t appeal to me all that much, but it still wasn’t much fun.

Even so, I didn’t break down and turn to the popcorn.  I have it here, but it just seemed too early in the game to concede a defeat, even a minor one.  I took my vitamins like a good girl, drank some grape juice when it got really bad (yay antioxidants!), but otherwise I was good.

I did, incidentally, run across this article on ADF, published in Elle just this past June.  I was both surprised to find an article on it that appeared so recently, and also encouraged by much of what it had to say.  Reading that the recommendations of the experts suggest that giving in to the popcorn temptation wouldn’t be a significant failure in any case was especially nice.  Good to know.

It occurs to me to wonder if I should be posting ‘Before’ pictures.  I don’t know if I’m brave enough, frankly.

Entry filed under: ADF, Successes.

Round 1, Day 2: ADF Round 1, Day 4: ADF

3 Comments

  • 1. Michelle  |  November 21, 2008 at 4:26 am

    Just make sure you take before pictures and measurements, because you’ll wish you had them someday.

  • 2. Pangie  |  November 21, 2008 at 4:32 pm

    I thought about the before/after thing, too. I think what I’ll end up doing is posting twice a day. One public detailing the progress, one private with that kind of information. Then if it ends up as a totally success and I want to share with the world, I’ll go back and make them public as well.

  • 3. Feaelin  |  December 1, 2008 at 6:13 pm

    I agree with Michelle and find Pangie’s response a clever solution!

    You definitely want your own ‘before’ and ‘after’, just so you can say ‘holy shit, look at what I did!’ later. And later will definitely arrive, so you want the evidence for yourself. 🙂


Recent Posts

November 2008
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Check it out!

  • 9,469 people are watching me!

