Round 1, Day 7: ADF

November 23, 2008 at 6:26 pm 2 comments

Curiouser and curiouser.  Oh, and I’m 1/3 of the way done already.  Wow!

Last night my sisters, my mother and I went to the movie theater to see the recently-released ‘Twilight’ movie.  All of us have read the series (well, Mom is still reading the first book, but close enough), so this was sort of a big Girls’ Night Out for us.

I was determined to have popcorn.  After denying myself the Bunco repast, I figured I’d more than earned popcorn with butter and cheese, and that the very smell of the stuff would have my mouth watering.   I was surprised to find I was wrong about that, though.  In fact, once we got to our seats and settled in, I found that I more or less didn’t care whether we got popcorn or not.  The movie was rumored to be so anticipated that we’d gone to claim seats an hour before showtime lest we end up sitting in the front row or something, and to kill time I’d brought two Nintendo DS’es with Uno/Skip-Bo cartridges with me.  I was actually more interested in playing the game than I was in popcorn.

Anna did buy some for the two of us to share, and I did eat some.  But when the movie was over, the tub was at least half full.  This is remarkable, as I had it in my lap the entire time, which would normally guarantee that it would be gone, one way or another.  I just kind of didn’t care that much about it.

Which is a pretty big thing, when you think about it.  That’s the way it should be.  I wasn’t hungry, therefore I didn’t eat.   Food as nutrition, as opposed to security blanket, comfort sorce, or boredom killer.   Well, what do you know?

I asked when it would cease to be an effort, and I guess there’s my answer.  It ceased to be an effort last night.  😉

Of course, just how SUSTAINABLE that is, I couldn’t say.  I’ve only fasted three days total, and as far as I know I have not yet lost any weight.  Of course, I haven’t really weighed myself to see yet, either.  I figure I’ll follow Weight Watchers’ guidelines on that and check just once a week to see if there’s been much change.  I believe I started out at 241 or so; I’d been hovering around that mark for awhile.  It should be interesting to see if there’s a difference tomorrow morning.

But even if there isn’t, I still feel I’m onto something here.  I feel more in control, which is really good.  I mean, yesterday we went to Pizza Street, and I had one piece of alfredo-spinach pizza, two small pieces of garlic bread,  a salad with oil and vinegar, and a soft-serve cone.   Written out, that probably sounds like a lot, but it was literally less than half of what I’d normally get there.  And I wasn’t TRYING to be conservative, either; I’d been up and working hard all morning helping the Scouts sort food items for Scouting for Food, and I was STARVING by the time we got to the restaurant.  That just happened to be all I wanted.

Only a week in, I really probably ought not be focusing too hard on the long-term yet.  Next week may be harder still for all I know.  But if it doesn’t and I feel I can continue — and that I WANT to continue — I can see right now that I’m going to have to address a couple of issues somehow:

1.  Crankiness. Nearly everyone who uses a diet like this, whether it’s ‘ADF’ ‘IF’ (Intermittant Fasting), ‘FAF’ (Fast and Feast) or JUDD (Johnson Up-day Down-day Diet), struggles with irritablity on fasting days.   It’s understandable; it’s hard to be in a good mood when your stomach is whining and complaining because it’s hungry.  I was okay on Monday, but on Friday I was getting pretty snappy, and I’m going to have to figure out a way to deal with that if it doesn’t get better over the next week or so.

2.  Spaciness.  An unhappy tummy not only affects your mood, but also your concentration. It’s just plain hard to concentrate, much less be productive, when something hurts.  Again, ideally the coming week should see some kind of improvement over this week, because presumably my body will start to adjust, but if not, it could represent a serious issue and I’ll need to figure out a way to deal with it.

Oh, and I just found out that my father has decided to switch our Thanksgiving celebration from Thursday to Friday next week.  My Mom was all for this, as apparently Friday was her ‘eating day’ anyway, but I was less than thrilled.  I guess that means I’ll be swapping Friday for Saturday… but maybe that will work out anyway; we’ll be coming back from the lake on Saturday, so we’ll be busy for much of that day getting things packed up and cleaned before driving home.

Entry filed under: ADF, Successes.

Round 1, Day 6: ADF Round 1, Day 8: ADF

2 Comments

  • 1. Pangie  |  November 24, 2008 at 1:42 pm

    Congrats on Day 7, 1/3 of the way through! I’m on Day 3, 1/7 of the way through of my first 21 days. 😉

    Congratulations for not ripping your father’s head off when he announced switching Thanksgiving to Friday. I wouldn’t have been too pleased. But I suppose that’s what your flexible Fridays are for.

    I’ll be interested to see how the crankiness and spaciness are into this week. I hope they get better. Also hope nothing new shows up. Have you experienced anything like weakness or fatigue?

    Best of luck into week 2!

  • 2. Jennifer  |  November 24, 2008 at 4:22 pm

    It’s hard to say if the fatigue I feel is genuine or just borne of a desire to get the day overwith as quickly as possible. 😉 I definitely want to go to bed early on fasting days, though.


Recent Posts

November 2008
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Check it out!

  • 9,474 people are watching me!

