Round 1, Day 8: ADF

November 24, 2008 at 10:10 pm 1 comment

I’m now starting my second week, and to celebrate I did an official weigh-in this morning.

We invested in a Wii Fit a couple of months ago, and I really do like it.  It’s challenging enough and rewarding enough that I like using it, but not so demanding that I feel like a complete loser when I do.  I understand that most PT-types feel that while it’s not something that will give you a good cardio workout if you’re already in shape, it’s a good ‘leg up’ for those of us who aren’t in good shape.

At any rate, the daily program on the Wii Fit game disk involves a ‘Body Test’ in which you’re weighed and your BMI is calculated, and both are tracked.  The weight that registers on the Wii Fit for me is always around 240/241.  My bathroom scale (which, admittedly, is a cheap thing we got from LTD), on the other hand, places me at more like 245.

My bathroom scale tells me I weigh 239.4 this morning.  The Wii Fit says I weigh 237.   Wow.

At any rate, so begins my fourth fasting day.  It was going pretty well until I took my vitamin and went to weigh myself.  I took Mom’s advice and ate a banana as I took my vitamin with lunch, and somehow this did not make my tummy very happy.  Far from hungry, I actually felt nauseated to the point where I wanted to throw up.  The experience was distressing, and yet somehow hauntingly familiar… and then a funny taste in my mouth brought me back to my days of Prenatal Vitamins.  The vitamin was upsetting my stomach.

Fortunately, it didn’t last too long.  About twenty minutes, and whatever was going on in there moved on to the next step, and now I feel much better.   I’m going to need to figure something else out, though, if that happens again.  Feeling hungry is bad enough, but throwing up?  Forget that.

I have Handbell practice tonight.  It’s one of only two practices scheduled between now and our ‘big’ performance at Lessons and Carols on December 7th.  This wouldn’t be a source of concern, except that one of the pieces we’re playing involves one line of positively heinous bell-switching for me.  We’ve practiced it for several months now, which is usually more than enough time for me to master ANYTHING we play, but this one stupid section of about six measures is still giving me fits.  I think I’ve only managed to play it correctly twice.

So… I’ll be eating something tonight before I go.  Maybe another banana.   I wouldn’t care so much if it was a typical performance, because in such cases we’re performing up in the balcony and no one can really see us.  At Lessons and Carols we’re up in front of everyone, which is a completely different story.  It’s too hard not to react when you really screw up, so I need to get this piece mastered.

I figured out today that NCon is 34 weeks away.  Averaging 1-2 pounds per week, I could conceivably be down to 190 then.  Of course, that’s assuming 1-2 pounds off per week, which is probably ambitious.. but wow… wouldn’t it be nice to greet my friends looking like a completely different person? 😉

Entry filed under: ADF, Successes.

Round 1, Day 7: ADF Round 1, Day 9: ADF

1 Comment

  • 1. Pangie  |  November 25, 2008 at 5:17 am

    You can do it! 🙂 I’m proud of you.


Recent Posts

November 2008
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Check it out!

  • 9,474 people are watching me!

