Round 1, Day 9: ADF

November 25, 2008 at 5:30 pm 7 comments

Ah, eating day!   We had music lessons this morning, so I took the kids to Great Harvest Bread Company again and we picked up a new loaf of Dakota bread.  We also got one of their seasonal loaves called ‘Stuffing Bread’ (which is exactly what it sounds like it is — a loaf of bread that tastes exactly like stuffing), and cookies for the kids. 

I feel more ‘normal’ today than I have for awhile.  I’m not chomping at the bit to eat, but I don’t feel the same hesitation I felt last week.  I’m debating how I feel about this, as it will probably end up that I’ll eat more than I did last week, but on the whole I’ve decided it’s a good thing.  Feeling normal means I’m not cranky, feeling normal means I’m not spacey.  And as nice as it would be to lose 4 pounds per week every week, that’s pretty much an unhealthy goal, so.  I will count this ‘normal’ feeling as a good thing, then, and assume it just means I’m adjusting to the new diet.

I won’t be around after tomorrow, since we’ll be at the lake for Thanksgiving.  No internet access there, so I can’t update… but I’ll take my laptop and blog offline and then just post them when I get back on Saturday.  The plan right now is to fast tomorrow, eat minimally on Thursday, eat normally on Friday and then fast again on Saturday.   Next week’s schedule should be back to normal.

Time to go make lunch!

Entry filed under: ADF, Successes.

Round 1, Day 8: ADF Round 1, Day 10: ADF

7 Comments

  • 1. Melalvai  |  November 25, 2008 at 6:15 pm

    Not only is losing 4 lb per week an unhealthy goal psychologically, it’s plain unhealthy. You will lose muscle as well as fat at that rate. I have a very heavy friend who started biking, and at first she actually gained fat (not muscle) but her stamina increased so actually she was healthier despite the fat increase. (Then she started dieting and moved to Canada and I don’t know how she’s doing, but the point is I’d rather see you with more stamina than with less fat.)

    I’d like to see, and implement for myself, more goals like “I’ll be able to walk X distance in Y minutes with a Z heart rate” or “I’ll be able to wear this pair of pants” rather than “I’ll lose W pounds”. That moves the emphasis from weight, which is a function of fat and muscle and water retention, to size or fitness.

    Do you have a # goal, or is your main goal to succeed in this 21 day project? Just curious. 🙂

  • 2. Jennifer  |  November 26, 2008 at 5:38 am

    *laugh* Biking, biking, biking! I promise I will take up Biking as soon as I can ride around without feeling like an apple balancing on a coat hanger when I do it. 😉

    I guess the safest answer I can give right now is that my goal is to succeed in the 21 day thing. I obviously do want to lose weight, though, and while I agree with the ‘X distance in Y minutes with Z heartrate’ idea in principle, I think that that’s a goal appropriate for someone in your situation, where you’re already at a reasonable weight for your height and it’s a question of fitness rather than weight loss specifically. In my case, there’s no amount of musculature fitness that could justify someone 5’4″ weighing 240+ pounds, so dropping the scale numbers is going to have to be a priority regardless.

    I really like the idea of Pangie’s treadmill table, actually. I may have to make one of those myself.

  • 3. Melalvai  |  November 26, 2008 at 9:25 am

    I’m going to speak blasphemy here but–I don’t think biking is the exercise of choice for everyone. Such as moms with several small children. Of course the only examples I know of will probably involve biking.

    For most people fitness will involve, among other things, losing fat, but our culture (not you or me or anyone specifically) has this misplaced obsession with weight, when other metrics are more appropriate. I don’t mean to be picking on you, I’m just using your blog to spout off. 😉

  • 4. Jennifer  |  December 1, 2008 at 11:01 am

    Nah, I understand what you mean — and meant. The problem is probably just that weight is the easiest scale by which to measure success (no pun intended) because it is a numerical value and one rather easily obtained.

    The ‘several small children’ problem is frustrating. Because we homeschool, too, I have put myself in an even more problematic position because I have all four of them all day long. This is bad, because gym childcare rooms are generally set up to entertain babies and toddlers, as most NORMAL people have children older than that in school all day. Putting Zack or Noah in such an environment would be problematic for all involved, even if the childcare were free.

    I’m told that Gold’s Gym near us has put in a childcare room that is a little better. It’s rumored to be like a TumbleDrum — a playground with crawling tunnels and such. I approve of this, but I’m not sure whether it would take long before Z and N got bored with that too.

    Ultimately, I think my formal exercise will probably have to wait until Zack is old enough to stay home alone. :/

  • 5. 21daystome  |  December 4, 2008 at 10:18 am

    I get your problem. I find it hard to squeeze in formal exercising and I don’t have four children and ten gazillion projects to handle. I often keep imagining what my life would be like if I added a baby into the mix and my head just spins. 🙂 You have that x4 and plus some because, like you said, you have them all day long.

    Some thoughts.. are there exercises that you could do with the children? What about just running with them? Or playing outside – something like soccer?I know it’s not a formal exercise like going to the gym, but I’d say it’s better! 🙂 You get to spend Q-time with them too.

    Most gyms have better childcare for older children in the summer. Some even have it for afternoon/evening hours during the school year when children would be home if they went to a public/private school.

    Or what about Andy? Could he watch the kids for an hour while you do some exercising for you?

    Just some thoughts. Best of luck.

  • 6. Jennifer  |  December 4, 2008 at 10:28 am

    We already do that, insofar as it’s possible. Anything along those lines depends on the weather, the availability of time, who needs a nap, etc.

    Andy would watch the kids while I went, but that would leave me going alone, and from past experience I know that that means I won’t go. I tried that with Curves, and though the people there were nice and I didn’t mind the exercises at all, I still had to drag myself out to it every time because I felt conspicuous and uncomfortable going by myself. Going with Andy to Club Fitness was MUCH better, but then we had to make use of the childcare, which became an issue in and of itself. So.

    The solution is really to make use of in-home exercise methods, and I do have two exercise machines and a number of exercise videos. That’s something I can work on over my next 21 day period, I think.

  • 7. 21daystome  |  December 4, 2008 at 10:28 am

    An additional thought. Do you have a ‘gym class’ in homeschooling? If not, why not include it? You’d be teaching your children good habits as well as get a chance to work out, too! 🙂


Recent Posts

November 2008
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Check it out!

  • 9,469 people are watching me!

