Round 1, Day 11: ADF

November 27, 2008 at 10:55 pm

Most of the US is celebrating Thanksgiving today, as the day is always supposed to fall on the third Thursday in November.  This is, in fact, one reason why I was pleased with my plan to fast MWF and eat on Tuesdays and Thursdays: it meant I could participate in Thanksgiving without mixing around my eating schedule too much.  However, owing to the demands of family tradition, we are apparently not going to be celebrating with the rest of the country; the weather promises to be fairly nice today, but potentially slightly less nice tomorrow, so the guys have decided to hold the annual Thanksgiving Cutthroat Classic today instead of tomorrow.  As a result, we have moved the big meal to Friday.

Bleh.

This isn’t the end of the world; I did resolve to accommodate such things.  I’ll eat today and tomorrow, and take Saturday off instead.  We’ll spend that day packing and travelling, so it’s probably a good day for fasting anyway.  I’m just ‘Bleh’ing about it on principle.  Mice and men and all of that.
I’m finding that in general, my feelings about fasting days rate as: not fun, but not as bad as you’d think, either.  Though I spent yesterday cleaning and travelling, usually a good fasting scenario grumpiness aside,  I was still dreading last night.  We planned to leave here around 5:30 pm, which meant we’d need to get dinner on the road.  I’m not a huge fan of McDonald’s, but sitting in a van with five people all chowing down on hamburgers and french fries while one’s stomach goes nuts is not exactly my idea of a good time.  I had the presence of mind to bring my second banana with me, and I asked for a cup of ice water, so it was okay.. but I do have to admit that McDonald’s food never smelled quite as good to me as it did last night.

Arriving at the cabin was not much of a relief.  My family is big on playing games, and pretty much from the first moment possible, we’re gathering around some convenient horizontal surface to break out the Uno cards, or Skip-Bo, or Pinochle or Hearts or Rage or Rummikub or Dalmuti or whatever.  With games nearly always come bowls of snacks, which represents the one food sin to which I am particularly prone.  I can take or leave candy, don’t much care for chocolate, and so-so on fried foods.. But a bowl of Chee-tos is my undoing, and don’t even get me started on Chex Mix made the old fashioned (read: twice the butter and three times the salt) way.  Just give me the bowl and get out of my way.

But there’s something to be said for stubborn pride.  I got my German out and refused to give in, reminding myself every five minutes that all of it would be there the next day too, and the next day I could eat whatever I wanted.  I do have to say that this, if nothing else, is the peculiar charm of this approach to diet maintenance.  I can endure anything for one day, if I know the next day I won’t have to deal with it.

So I survived, and today I am indulging.  I figure this week is probably an ideal test of this diet, since between the snack-laden surroundings in which I find myself and the traditional gluttony that accompanies Thanksgiving I probably WILL consume two days’ worth of food in one day.  If I get to Monday and find I’ve lost weight after all, I will have to concede that it WORKS, at least.

Entry filed under: ADF, Successes.

Round 1, Day 10: ADF Round 1, Day 12: ADF


Recent Posts

November 2008
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Check it out!

  • 9,474 people are watching me!

