Round 1, Day 12: ADF

November 28, 2008 at 9:30 pm 2 comments

I’m writing this at the end of the day, rather than the beginning.  As it happens, this turned out to be MY year to prepare the turkey, so I’ve been busy almost since sun-up.  It was a good day, though.  In lots of ways.

This may seem rather random, but last week I helped Pangie write an essay for a contest that would help her win a Tofurkey.  Pangie is Vegan, and the contest was offered by PETA2, which is apparently the Gen-Y branch of PETA.  The idea was to write a blog entry explaining why she would not be eating Turkey for Thanksgiving, and then post it publically for all her friends to see.

The irony, of course, is that I am not Vegan. I’m not even Vegetarian.  This may be why she didn’t win; even for the sake of the contest, I couldn’t bring myself to suggest she write a complete vilification of traditional Thanksgiving.  Not that it affected me anyway; it was just a blog entry.  But still.

Still, given this it was a little ironic to me that preparing the Turkey was my responsibility this year.  It’s not really a tough job, and it’s surprisingly hard to screw it up (National Lampoon ‘Christmas Vacation’ notwithstanding).  You just rinse off the turkey, pat it dry, smear oil over it and salt and pepper it, and then stuff it with stuffing.  No big deal.

But I found a couple of feathers stuck to ours and pulled them, which made me think back to the essay.  I was also uncomfortably aware of severed blood vessels and connective tissue and the amputated neckbone, for some reason.  I was also heartily disturbed by the palm-sized chunks of fat I pulled out of the tail region.  I’ve prepared the turkey probably five or six times in the past, and roasted chickens for dinner at home besides… Not to mention the countless frogs, fetal pigs, starfish, roundworms, pigeons, perch, sheep’s eyes, cats, mice, turtles and and mink I’ve dissected through the years as part of my Biology Education profession… and suddenly THIS year found me preparing a perfectly good turkey with a sense of distaste.  Ew.

I ate a vegetarian Thanksgiving.  I really did.  I didn’t actually set out to do this or decide to do this in any concrete terms; our Thanksgiving food is always set out buffet-style, since we have so many people to accommodate at the table and space is therefore at a premium.  The turkey platter was too large to fit on the same table as everything else, so I initially resolved to eat the side dishes I wanted and go back for the meat later… But then I was so full (and my distaste didn’t help) that I never got around to it.

Guess I owe Pangie a Tofurkey. :/

I did eat plenty today, though.  We also took the kids to Meramec State Park and hiked a little, but it wasn’t enough to work off even a tenth of what I ate.  I will be very interested to see if I actually lose weight this week.

Entry filed under: ADF, Successes.

Round 1, Day 11: ADF Round 1, Day 13: ADF

2 Comments

  • 1. Pangie  |  December 1, 2008 at 12:10 pm

    *wipes away a single tear* I’m so proud of you!!! I can’t wait for you to try 21 days as a vegetarian and see what you think then. 😉

    Also, you shouldn’t feel too bad about the Tofurky thing. I did get to have some last week Sunday at the FMVeg Thanksgiving potluck, so it’s not like I was completely Tofurkyless. Besides, you wrote a fabulous essay! I think they just didn’t pick us because we weren’t political enough.

  • 2. Jennifer  |  December 1, 2008 at 12:14 pm

    *chuckle* I feel like we’re in a scene from ‘Bringing up Father’, or something. 😉

    I will attempt vegetarianism in January, I think. We’ll see what happens then.


Recent Posts

November 2008
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Check it out!

  • 9,469 people are watching me!

