Round 1, Day 14: ADF

November 30, 2008 at 10:45 pm 1 comment

Two weeks down, one to go.

One of the questions I’ve debated is what to do for my next 21-day stint.  Should I just continue to do ADF, or stop ADF and do something else?  Or should I continue ADF AND do something else?  I can’t quite decide yet, and I’ll need to decide soon as I’m coming up on Day 21 in a week here.

I figure I’ll let the scale decide for me.  If I’m having enough success with this that I want to continue, I’ll continue.  Otherwise, I’ll drop it in favor of something else.  Right now, of course, as I type this with a tummy so full of food I’m uncomfortable, continuing doesn’t sound half bad.  But we’ll see how I feel tomorrow when this is not the case. 😉

At any rate, one alternative I’ve kicked around is going Vegetarian for 21 days.  I was able to eat a Vegetarian Thanksgiving, after all. 😉  While I am not a someone who is politically inclined toward vegetarianism, the approach intrigues me from a dietary perspective.  I do not think, however, that I could go all the way to Vegan, as I think I would miss eggs and milk products too much.   Ovo-Lacto-Vegetarianism doesn’t sound half bad to me, though. At the very least, it sounds interesting.

Unfortunately, I’m not sure that the coming 21-day stint would be the best time to give that one a whirl.  We spend Christmas with Andy’s family, and they always do fondue on Christmas Eve.  By this I do not mean cheese-and-bread or chocolate-and-fruit-or-whatever, but rather chunks of beef deep-fried in oil.  It’s not the healthiest Christmas Eve dinner around, and basically the chunks of meat are the entire meal.  Traditionally, the hosting family might serve a light salad and perhaps some crescent rolls, but that’s it.  Not exactly much to make up the difference if I chose to abstain from the meat part.

But we’ll see.  Maybe I should alternate: a dietary 21-day trial, and then a physical 21-day trial.   The Wii Fit would love to see me again, I’m sure, and I do have two exercise machines in the basement who would also appreciate some attention.  I am still intrigued by the Walkstation idea, too; I wonder if I could rig up a way to work online while walking.  It seems like it’d be worth a shot, at least.

Anyway, we finished off tonight with a trip to Steak-n-Shake.  I had a taco salad in one of those deep-fried heart-attack-inducing taco shells, and a vanilla shake with caramel.  I do not know why I did this, other than just because A) I wanted to, and B) I’m sort of taunting the scale.  If I can get away with this on top of Thanksgiving and STILL lose weight, I will have to concede some kind of victory to ADF once and for all.

Entry filed under: ADF, Successes.

Round 1, Day 13: ADF Round 1, Day 15: ADF

1 Comment

  • 1. Pangie  |  December 1, 2008 at 12:15 pm

    I’d love to see you go veg for a cycle! I’d be more than happy to share some recipes with you.

    I think it is a good idea to alternate between dietary and exercising cycles. I’m trying to do something similar.


Recent Posts

November 2008
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Check it out!

  • 9,474 people are watching me!

