Round 1, Day 16: ADF

December 2, 2008 at 2:02 pm 3 comments

Bring on the holidays!  If there was ever a time that posed a threat to any weight-loss plan, it is now.

Tonight is Advent by Candlelight at our church.  I am not entirely sure why we keep going to it, to be honest.  It’s more of a tradition than a pleasure at this point.   I mean, i n theory, it’s a neat idea: women in the church agree to ‘host a table’.  They are given a round, 8-person table to decorate as beautifully as possible, using their fanciest dishware and tablecloths and flatware and candleholders and centerpieces, and they then invite seven of their closest friends to come join them at it during the evening.  Each hostess provides beverages and desserts, and a small gift for each person who sits at their table.  The evening is spent admiring everyone’s beautifully decorated tables, and then sitting through a program put together by the Ladies’ Aid or Mary-Martha or whatever.   The program usually involves a couple of readings, a collective hymn-sing, and some kind of keynote speaker.

The tables and whatnot are actually very nice.  I enjoy walking around, chatting, and admiring everyone’s beautiful table settings.  I also would hate to disappoint my mother, who is a table host every year and who always knocks herself out to provide wonderful desserts and all.   The program, though, tends to leave a little to be desired; if I were British, I would call it ‘twee’.  The readings are sort of sappy, the speakers rarely have anything truly inspired to say, and some of it is just plain boring.

The worst part is that my mother, our matriarch, has a high tendency toward irreverence, so our table (which usually consists of my sisters and me and some friends of ours) spends the entire night trying desperately not to laugh or snicker loudly enough that someone else will hear us and know the Hugo girls are making fun of the proceedings again.  Last year, I thought poor Sarah was going to literally explode from trying not to laugh.

Either way, though, I seem to spend the entire evening eating as much Turtle-flavored Chex Mix as I can get my hands on, both to kill boredom and to hold myself over until it’s finally over and we can have our Dessert time.  Nutritionally as well as mentally, Advent by Candlelight tends to be a bad night for me.

Today is an Eating Day, so I guess I’m welcome to snarf down six bags of Turtle-flavored Chex Mix if I want to, but to be perfectly honest: I don’t really WANT to.   This is not a situation where I’m eating because I enjoy what’s in front of me so much as eating because I’m BORED.  I love caramel and toffee, and I love Chex Mix, but I am not, as it happens, a huge fan of Chocolate, and so much of the charm of this particular flavor of Chex Mix is utterly lost on me.  I eat the toffee-covered chex and enjoy it, and then grudgingly pick out and eat the chocolate-covered bits just because they’re there and it’s better than nothing.

So I’m debating a goal for myself for tonight.  I am going to make it my goal not to eat anything with chocolate on it.  I know my Mom’s choices for dessert tonight are cheesecake and apple pie.  I’m not going to make any plans as to which I’ll take now, because if I decide I want the cheesecake, I’m entitled to it.  But I AM going to focus on eating stuff because I like it and not because it’s there and I happen to be bored.

Entry filed under: ADF, Successes.

Round 1, Day 15: ADF Round 1, Day 17: ADF

3 Comments

  • 1. Pangie  |  December 3, 2008 at 2:07 pm

    All hail the snooty bread! I realize your post had nothing to do with it, but that was the day I finally got to try it.

  • 2. Feaelin  |  December 3, 2008 at 2:39 pm

    So why do you go, exactly? 🙂

  • 3. Pangie  |  December 3, 2008 at 2:41 pm

    Haha, I was wondering the same thing as Fe. 😉


Recent Posts

Check it out!

  • 9,474 people are watching me!

