Round 1, Day 17: ADF

December 3, 2008 at 4:47 pm 8 comments

I like these little goals.  I made it through last night without mindlessly snacking.  Mom didn’t even limit her offerings to Chex Mix last night; she had M&Ms and stuff too.   I’m not a huge fan of chocolate, as I said, but I do like M&Ms.  I passed on them, though, mindful of my goal.  I ate toffee-covered corn chex, apple pie and cheesecake, but smallish pieces of both of the latter.  I was very good, relatively speaking.

I’m noticing something kind of interesting.  This isn’t the first time I’ve noticed this, but I can’t remember if I wrote about it and I’m too lazy to go back through the past posts and check.  Therefore, if this is redundant, I apologize.

I’m becoming a fussy eater now.  You would think that given the freedom to eat whatever I want, I would just eat anything and everything available on Feasting days.  That’s not actually happening, though.  Instead, I’m finding that I have begun to not want to eat ANYTHING at all. :/

I realize that this sounds terrible.  But I think it’s kind of a weird combination of things.  When I go in to eat, I look at what’s available and I find that most of what we have on hand are foods I like but aren’t terribly healthy for me, and foods I’m so-so about that are potentially better.   I get full much more quickly now than I ever did before, so the question of what to eat has become a much more serious consideration.  I find I don’t want to ‘waste’ eating on something I’m not really going to enjoy, but I also don’t want to ‘waste’ eating on something that isn’t good for me.  So in the end, whatever I eat, I feel I’m not eating the right things.  It’s very frustrating, and kind of makes eating days a hassle.

I suppose this could be either a very healthy sign or a very unhealthy sign.   Not that I think anorexia is a serious possibility, but I can’t not eat.   I suppose it’s good that eating is providing me with this particular dilemma, though, as I now feel driven to seek out food choices I like that will actually be good for me too, which is presumably part of the goal here.  The problem is, I’m not entirely sure how to go about that anymore.

I mean, bananas are good for me, and I could eat them every day.  But while this assures me I’ll get enough potassium, how do I know if I’m getting enough iron?  I could eat spinach and beef for that, but what about Vitamin B?  Is a Multivitamin enough, or what?

Here’s another pretty dilemma, which I imagine is inherent with ADF and another reason why proper nutrition is a concern for me:  I’m noticing that while the crankiness I feel on fasting days isn’t an issue on feasting days, I feel spacey on feasting days and sharper on fasting days.  I know that whenever I have to pull an all-nighter for any reason, I don’t notice the effects the next day, but rather the day after.  I think this must be the same idea.  On fasting days, the hunger pangs make me irritable, but the lack of nutrition doesn’t actually affect my brain and body until feasting days, which leaves me a little doofy.

Or maybe I just have an excuse now. 😉

But seriously… this concerns me.  It means that no matter what’s going on, I’m operating on reduced capacity.  The irritability I feel when I’m hungry also distracts me, so effectively I’m a little ‘off’ on both days, just for different reasons.  I’m not sure I like that.

That will probably end up being the dealbreaker down the line if it doesn’t change.  I don’t want to deal with that forever.  Today I feel pretty okay, as I said, so maybe it’s one of those things that either gradually gets better, or something I develop strategies to combat.  I guess we’ll see.

Entry filed under: ADF, Successes.

Round 1, Day 16: ADF Round 1, Day 18: ADF

8 Comments

  • 1. Feaelin  |  December 3, 2008 at 7:12 pm

    “I know that whenever I have to pull an all-nighter for any reason, I don’t notice the effects the next day, but rather the day after.”

    Yeah, the dreaded two day rule. Although these days, I now pay for it both days, usually in the form of a nasty tension headache.

    “I find I don’t want to ‘waste’ eating on something I’m not really going to enjoy, but I also don’t want to ‘waste’ eating on something that isn’t good for me.”

    Yeah, I experienced that effect during trying the Hacker’s Diet. Since you can only eat x amount, you tend to select only those things you like and are healthy (simultaneously).

    “So in the end, whatever I eat, I feel I’m not eating the right things. It’s very frustrating, and kind of makes eating days a hassle.”

    This is easier for me, I suspect, because Melalvai prefers (and therefore makes sure we stock) fresh fruit, salads, vegetables (on this one, we buy frozen bags, ‘cuz they’re crisper).

    Since I do not know about your family’s preferences I doubt I can suggest specifically but it seems to me one shouldn’t worry about various specific nutrients, but just have on hand a broad selection of fresh fruit, frozen vegetables and the like. I dunno. Melalvai might be able to make a better suggestion.

    “That will probably end up being the dealbreaker down the line if it doesn’t change. I don’t want to deal with that forever.”

    Yeah, I don’t see ADF as a thing someone should do continously. I probably won’t try it myself because of the very reasons you cite (school is enough of a challenge without hunger fuzzies). However, I could see it being a good lead-in for a controlled diet+exercise plan, since it definitely has gotten your body used to the idea that it has to rely on fat stores to offset the calorie deficit.

  • 2. melalvai  |  December 3, 2008 at 9:33 pm

    Feaelin, fresh fruits & veggies are the most expensive food you can buy, I think. It’s one thing for us to keep those on hand but families with more mouths, not so easy. A girl at work buys fresh fruit for her daughters only. She & her husband don’t eat that kind of treat.

    I don’t have any better suggestions though.

    Sometimes I will eat a dessert for a meal. At one of those swim team parties once I got a huge piece of chocolate cake and a plate of fries. This was at a barbecue place and everyone kept saying “Is that all you’re eating?” When I pointed at the huge slice of cake they were convinced that I wasn’t going hungry, but still couldn’t quite understand! Of course I don’t do it often, just enough to feel indulged and then I’m more than happy with salads and carrots and apples again.

  • 3. Jennifer  |  December 3, 2008 at 10:19 pm

    Michelle was teasing me earlier. I took this question to her, and said, “Am I just stuck or what?” She said, “No, you just need to find foods you like that are nutritionally good for you.”

    I said, “And don’t cost very much. And can be prepared in a few steps. And the ingredients for which can be found at Shop-n-Save.”

    She said, “Now you’re just being difficult. ;)”

    Welcome to the American Obesity Epidemic, I guess. It’s like that @doing I have: You can have it fast, cheap or good. Pick any two.

  • 4. Amanda  |  December 3, 2008 at 10:29 pm

    I am very fortunate that I have always had a natural liking to things that are good for me and tend to dislike things that are bad. This has changed considerably when I went to college and didn’t have a lot of time or money and forced myself to eat junky things that I didn’t like. It grew on me to some extent. Unlike you, I am a SUCKER for chocolate. But I feel miserable when I eat miserable and therefore usually eat healthy.

    I am not sure what the solution is to your problem. :S For me it’s finding the time to prepare decent meals.. like packing for work, or grocery shopping regularly.

    What kind of foods DO you like? I’d like to offer some good, quick recipes if I know what you like! 🙂

  • 5. Jennifer  |  December 4, 2008 at 11:06 am

    I think a part of my problem is that I’m not entirely sure what the answer to that question is. I was raised to eat what was put before me, and have always taken a certain pride in not being a ‘fussy eater’. I have had to deal with too many people who used their ‘fussy eater’ status as an excuse to be inconsiderate and even rude, and I disapprove of this heartily. I have never liked tomatoes, but if someone offers me a stuffed tomato, I will at least TRY it, if only to be polite. My husband, on the other hand, will flatly refuse in a tone that suggests the person ought to be ashamed of themselves for even thinking he would eat that. That never fails to piss me off, even when the person offering isn’t ME.

    So I’m conflicted about this for that reason too. It’s satisfying, I admit, to be the one saying, “I don’t like what you made for dinner, Andy, and I won’t eat it.” but only because it’s payback. Under any other circumstances, I would never dream of doing that. I am adverse to being fussy, then, but I’ve been so NOT-fussy for so long now that I don’t really know what I truly like…as opposed to what I will eat because it’s there.

    I do know what I don’t like, though. I guess that hasn’t changed. I do not like raw tomatoes or tomato sauces. Ketchup, Salsa and Tomato soup are fine, though. I cannot explain this. I do not like beans. I like shrimp unless it’s breaded. I do not like seafood of any other kind. I do not like cilantro (it tastes like soap to me). I cannot stand Aspartame. I do not like chocolate-flavored things, like cake or ice cream. I do not like ‘chili’ flavor, such as one finds in Chili and Taco sauces. Given the choice, I will always select Asian foods over Italian or Tex-Mex.

    Probably, I should just take some time to refresh myself on the subject of nutrition.

  • 6. Pangie  |  December 4, 2008 at 11:11 am

    I agree that little goals are awesome, and congrats on achieving it! 🙂

    I know what you mean about becoming fussy and therefore not eating. There have been days at work where my options for lunch are: Wendy’s, the same soup I had every day as far back as I can remember, or a can of corn. I end up with tea.

    I think if you decide to keep doing the ADF things, it wouldn’t be a bad idea to meet with someone if you can to discuss nutrients. Either a nutritionist/dietitian, or if you could get in touch with someone from the study your mom’s doing, that might be better. The only input I can offer here is juice. I don’t know how practical it is for you to make fresh juice, but even things like the V-8 Splash should give you a good variety of nutrients.

    Another good thing might be to get some things in bulk like rice and beans (get some varieties so it’s not just red beans and rice all the time!) and nuts. That way you’ll get some good protein that’s pretty simple. And bulk is generally cheaper. Also, Bolthouse Farm, my carrot brand of choice, makes 25 pound bags that work out to be a pretty good deal. 🙂

    We don’t have Shop-n-Save here, so I’m not sure if it’s more like Cash Wise or more like Cheep Foods. (Yes, Cheep.) Cash Wise is the cheap grocery store, which has good stuff in bulk. Cheep Foods (Seriously, what’s with that name?!) has stuff like dented cans, which would be good for canned veggies and beans and such.

    I’m not sure what to tell you on the delayed-day loopiness, other than maybe do more juice and maybe an additional banana or something on your fasting days?

    I’m generally not a big fan of vitamins, but in this specific dietary routine, it’s probably not a bad idea to do them with some regularity.

  • 7. Jennifer  |  December 4, 2008 at 11:18 am

    I think the stores you mention are more on the order of Aldi’s here. From low-end to high-end in terms of Grocery stores here, it goes: Stop-n-Shop, Aldi’s, Shop-n-Save, Schnucks, Dierberg’s. SNS is very much the mid-grade store, as it has a decent selection of a lot of foods, but lacks the finer things in life, like a florist/gift shop, a health-food section, and baggers. (They still have bags, but you bag the groceries yourself. Aldi’s and Stop-n-Shop don’t even provide bags unless you buy them.)

    We’re getting a Wal-Mart Supercenter now, so I gather SnS will be bagging soon just to stay competitive. Whee, Economy!

    SnS has started bringing in a full line of ‘organic’ foods, but they’re considerably more expensive than comparable ‘inorganic’ (?) foods.

  • 8. Pangie  |  December 4, 2008 at 11:54 am

    SnS sounds quite a bit like Cash Wise, bag-your-own and all. The Cash Wise brand organic stuff (they do something for pretty much all the organic stuff except fresh produce) is considerably cheaper than organic stuff elsewhere, but it’s still more than not organic stuff anywhere.


Recent Posts

Check it out!

  • 9,469 people are watching me!

