Round 1, Day 18: ADF

December 4, 2008 at 11:43 am 5 comments

I want chinese food today.  I wonder if I can talk Andy into it.

I did mention that my Mom is doing this ADF thing too, and has been doing it off and on for several years.  Her latest go with it is closing down its second month, and she has lost 16 pounds so far.   When she started, she weighed about 190 or maybe right at 200, so that means she’s down to 174-184.  You can really tell when you look at her, too; her face is much thinner.  I’m not sure about the rest of her, given that it’s winter and we’re wearing bulky clothes, and the fact that she’s just Mom to me no matter how fat or thin she is, but her face definitely looks different.

Mom has a friend has struggled with her weight for a long time.  I don’t know how heavy she was or whether she was heavier than I am, but when she was in her 40s , she decided to lose weight and succeeded in losing a LOT of weight over a fairly short period of time.  She looked really good, but she apparently had to deal with one of the perils of weight loss when it was all said and done: her skin didn’t ‘snap back’ as she lost.  She ended up undergoing surgery to correct some of this.

This worries me a little.  I’ve given birth four times, and my stomach is an utter disgrace  of flabby skin and wilted stretch marks just from that.  Whether it would have tightened up better if I hadn’t been overweight, I don’t know, but between the stretch marks and the extra skin there, it’s a good thing I have no aspirations to ever wear a bikini again.  I’ll be happy to wear ANY bathing suit without feeling foolish.

But given that, I wonder whether losing weight will find me in a similar situation to my Mom’s friend.  What causes that, exactly?  Does it depend on your age?  How much weight you lose?  How quickly you lose it?   Is there any solution that doesn’t involve surgery?

This probably sounds like I’m trying to talk myself out of losing weight, but that’s actually not what I’m driving at.  I’m viewing the weight loss as inevitable and just trying to prepare myself for what to expect from it, good and bad.  A friend of mine who lost weight fairly recently looks really good to me, but has admitting to feeling like a ‘bag of skin’, so I assume there’s some flabbiness there that I just don’t see.  I’m wondering just how far this goes.

So far, incidentally, I do not feel spacey today.   It’s only 11 am, though, so that may change.

I’ve decided that someone needs to set up a nutrition symposium for me to attend.  One that features a ton of really healthy foods that you can walk around and sample, and then take the recipes for them if you like them. 😉  Any takers?

Entry filed under: ADF, Successes. Tags: , , .

Round 1, Day 17: ADF Round 1, Day 19: ADF

5 Comments

  • 1. Pangie  |  December 4, 2008 at 11:48 am

    I would SO go to the symposium with you!

  • 2. Pangie  |  December 5, 2008 at 1:58 am

    There. Now get off my back. 😉

  • 3. Feaelin  |  December 5, 2008 at 8:07 am

    Scouting around on the web, it appears that the “loose skin” effect has a few possible causes:

    Losing fat too quickly, especially with diet plans that involve weight loss without exercise (some variants of low-carb were commented on specifically). There is also some discuss that one might have the issue during “in-between stages” where you’re still reducing your fat-to-muscle ratio.

    The theme seems to be “fat loss without muscle replacement” as the underlying cause of loose skin. I suspect even if one reached that point, adding muscle building exercises eventually remove the effect.

    Hm. As I think through this, I realize ‘loose skin’ is a misnomer. What’s actually going on is that: A person diets heavily and loses XX pounds of fat; reaches their “ideal” weight. But: the fat-to-muscle ratio is still wrong; so the “loose skin” is actually fat that needs to be replaced with muscle. Skin itself isn’t that thick, and is very adaptable (don’t forget the thing about it being replaced continually).

    I guess this lends the question about measuring one’s muscle/fat ratio. One could use the navy calculator (there are many implementations of this on the web, here is one: http://www.bmi-calculator.net/body-fat-calculator/ ), or perhaps the ever-classic “pinch-test” with the caliper.

  • 4. Jennifer  |  December 5, 2008 at 10:06 am

    Pangie: it doesn’t look too bad, actually.

    Fe: I guess this lends some validity to my plan to do something physical (or at least add in something physical) for the next 21 days.

  • 5. Pangie  |  December 5, 2008 at 12:09 pm

    It would take video, which I don’t have, to show the true terribleness of it. Wow, terribleness is a word? I don’t think I knew that.


Recent Posts

Check it out!

  • 9,469 people are watching me!

