Round 1, Day 19: ADF

December 5, 2008 at 10:45 am 3 comments

Score one for the blog.  Today I woke up for the first time and actually felt loathe to face the day.  It’s a fasting day, and as I was lying there in bed, I thought, “Wow.. I SO do not want to deal with fasting today…”  and for a moment I actually considered not bothering.

But then I thought… aieee!  I would have to mark down my first failure in the blog! No no no.. Cannot do that.  Okay, guess I’ll be good.

So here I sit, with a cup of juice.  Whatever keeps me going is good, right?  And I only have two days left to count my first 21-day success, too, so it’d be a really stupid time to screw up.

Here’s a pretty dilemma:

I’m supposed to go to ANOTHER Advent by Candlelight event tonight.  This time the hostess is my sister, Kate, and it’s being held at another church in our district.  Traditionally, the entertainment at this event tends to be much better than that to be found at my own church (probably because the church’s congregation is, on average, much younger than ours), but the usual pitfalls apply.  It’s a dessert-and-coffee-or-hot-chocolate night, with petit fours and feminine bowls of snacks.

I’ve known all week that this would be a concern.  Even Kate lamented the situation on Tuesday night at the other ABC event, since she realized suddenly that neither Mom nor I would be eating on Friday.   She seemed hurt, which is exactly what I’ve been determined to avoid with my swappable Fasting Fridays..  Problem is, I cannot convince myself that it’s worth swapping out and fasting tomorrow instead of today because the event isn’t actually a MEAL.  All it is is dessert and coffee, and the actual activity of the evening isn’t eating; it’s the program.  I guess it’s like Bunco, in my mind; it would be one thing if it were a dinner event or we were getting together specifically to eat, but since we’re not…

But on the other hand, I don’t want to hurt Kate’s feelings.  I specifically planned this out so that I wouldn’t have to make things socially awkward for myself or anyone else.  I’m not sure what to do.  Maybe I’ll talk to Mom and see what she plans to do.

I have also, incidentally, found this article on the ‘loose skin’ phenomenon I mentioned yesterday.  I’m not going to worry about it too much right now, since it’s hardly an issue yet.. But it’s good to know it’s not surgery-or-nothing.

Entry filed under: ADF, Successes. Tags: , , .

Round 1, Day 18: ADF Round 1, Day 20: ADF

3 Comments

  • 1. Pangie  |  December 5, 2008 at 11:28 am

    I haven’t read the article yet, but that’s good that you found it. You should share it with your bag-of-skin friend, too, if you haven’t yet.

    I think I would do whatever your mom does for tonight. It’ll be nice for both of you to have the support system. Then once this fast is over (either today or tomorrow) you can pretty much label the cycle as a success!

  • 2. Jennifer  |  December 5, 2008 at 2:42 pm

    That’s true! I wonder if it counts as 21 days if it’s only a struggle for 19 of them? 😉

    I’ll count it, since I plan to continue on Monday.

    Also: solution found. I am not feeling well, so I have politely declined to go.

  • 3. melalvai  |  December 5, 2008 at 9:44 pm

    I’m happy the blog helped, and glad you found a solution.
    If the dilemma were to continue, I would point out that, if I’ve picked up correctly on the dynamics of you & Kate, you cannot avoid offending her regularly throughout your life, so perhaps that should not be a strong factor in any of your decisions.


Recent Posts

Check it out!

  • 9,469 people are watching me!

