Round 1, Day 20: ADF

December 6, 2008 at 9:47 am 7 comments

As Angie pointed out, technically I am DONE now.  Yesterday was my last official fasting day, and I got through it!  All that’s left is the usual weekend eating days, which means I can already count the first round a success!

However, I refuse to do so until Monday morning’s weigh-in, so you’ll have to put up with reading about it for the full 21 days regardless. 😉

As an interesting side note, when I set up this blog I had a hard time finding a name for it that wasn’t already taken.  21days, 21-days, twentyonedays, twenty-onedays, twenty-one-days, etc.  I actually really like the name I ended up with, so I don’t mind.  But yesterday I got to wondering what was on all of those other journals.  Is this concept really so popular that all of those variants are being used by people doing something similar?  So I sat down and started running through them all to see what the other blogs with those names actually contained.

Would you believe, most of them came up empty?  I put the name in and WordPress asked me if I wanted to start a blog by that name.  What gives?

However, I did find that 21Days.wordpress.com is apparently the same sort of journal.    It’s entitled ‘The 21 Experiement’ and was begun as a diet journal someone set up in August of 2006.  That person blogged for about 5 days and then quit.  I wonder what happened there?

I then did a Google search for “21 days” and “blog” and came up with http://twentyonedayhabit.blogspot.com/.   It’s an active 21-day Habit blog by a woman who started out running as a 21-day habit and has continued since then.  I’ve only skimmed a few entries, but it sounds interesting.

All told, though, it would appear that there aren’t many blogs like this out there.  That surprises me.

Pangie talked to me this morning about my next 21-day run.  I’ve obviously been tossing around a bit as to what to do come Monday when I should do something new.  My inclination was to do some sort of physical habit next — exercise daily either using the Wii Fit, as Feaelin is doing, or using the treadmill and elliptical machine that are collecting dust in the basement right now.   This seemed like a pretty good plan, but Pangie suggested that since I plan to continue doing the ADF thing for awhile longer, it might be a better idea to do 21 days of food journalling instead, so that I can more easily track my nutrition.

Ironically, back in the earliest days of this whole thing, that was my first idea for Round 2.   Weight Watchers, back in the days of Amy, was successful for me if only because it made me so aware of what I was eating.  Points tracking aside, just the whole idea that if I eat this, I’ll have to write it down and own up to it was enough to make me improve my eating habits.  My biggest problem with eating has always been that I tend to do it so mindlessly, after all.

So I think this is a good idea too.  I am, as it happens, already a member of Weight Watchers online, so I have journalling tools at my disposal already.  Presumably WW has now ditched its two-plan system and melded them together into a single ‘Momentum Plan’ that claims to combine the convenience of Points with the nutrition focus of the Core program.   So far, I’m not seeing much of a difference, but I only skimmed the site briefly today.  Either way, at least it’s a convenient way to journal.

And if that doesn’t do it for me, I can always try out Sparkpeople again. 😉

For now, I’m off to eat some eggs for breakfast. 🙂

Entry filed under: ADF, Successes. Tags: , , .

Round 1, Day 19: ADF Round 1, Day 21: ADF

7 Comments

  • 1. Pangie  |  December 6, 2008 at 10:25 am

    I feel so influential! 🙂

    Congrats on making it through all your fasting days. I hope you made it through this weekend! 😉

    Also, did you see the second “possibly related” post? 😉

  • 2. Feaelin  |  December 6, 2008 at 7:34 pm

    “Possibly related” seems to be very strange…

  • 3. Jennifer  |  December 6, 2008 at 10:06 pm

    I agree. I don’t know if the ’21-day-Habit was a post that Mr. Scottcavasos80 wrote and then deleted or what.

    I tried using the WordPress.com search for “21 Days” and “habit”, but I came up with occasional posts and that’s it. Our own 21-day blogs didn’t even come up.

  • 4. melalvai  |  December 6, 2008 at 10:10 pm

    “The 21-Day Habit Experiment” is a place holder, not a real blog.
    Feaelin should look at twentyonedayhabit.blogspot.com (see link in the post). She is cute.

  • 5. Jennifer  |  December 6, 2008 at 11:03 pm

    Actually, I think ‘Placeholder’ is the name he’s given his blog.

    She’s not as cute as you are, Rachel.

  • 6. Pangie  |  December 6, 2008 at 11:14 pm

    But then really, who is? 😉

  • 7. Amanda  |  December 7, 2008 at 12:43 am

    CONGRATS! 🙂 I am eager to hear about your next weigh in. Best of luck.

    I like your new 21 day cycle, too. I am pretty sure my next 21 day cycle will be related to food but that’s still a few weeks away. Best of luck with that one, too. 🙂


Recent Posts

Check it out!

  • 9,469 people are watching me!

