Round 1, Day 21: ADF

December 7, 2008 at 2:08 pm 5 comments

Happy Day 21, all!  I have officially succeeded in completing my first 21-day run!  Go me!

Rewarding myself has been interesting.   I thought I would reward myself with a trip to Hallmark this morning.   Hallmark always offers these funky seasonal things at a discount if you buy three or more cards, and normally I don’t think they’re anything to write home about.  This year, though, they have a gingerbread house that features light-up gumdrops and plays The Dance of the Sugarplum Fairies.  It’s really cute, and cost about $20, so I bought it for myself.

Andy arched a brow at me when I brought it out of the store and declared I’d hate it within a week.  Our kids are typical kids, and tire much more slowly of pushing buttons and playing repetitive music than either Andy or I.   He told me  I can consider it my gift from Grandma Dorothy.  I guess she sent a check last week for us for Christmas.  I told him to congratulate his grandmother on her intuitive knowledge of my tastes. 🙂  So I guess that’s not really my reward so much as a Christmas present now.  Ooookay.

So, I purchased the O’Reilly book on ActionScript.  I’ve been wanting it for a long time anyway.  I did not tell Andy about it, so hopefully he won’t turn it into a Christmas present from his parent or something.

Oh!  Someone is playing Dance of the Sugarplum Fairies!  Hm.  Oh…there it goes again.   And again.  Great.

Tomorrow is my weigh-in.   Whatever the results, let it be known that my clothing is already fitting better.  I have slacks that were starting to look ‘high-water’ that are not now.  And I have two sweaters that had shrunk some in the laundry and had been relegated to the ‘Clothing I cannot really trust to fit me anymore’ section of my closet.  I tried them on, and while they’re not exactly LOOSE yet, they do fit me now.  That was a nice feeling.

My task today is to learn this Weight Watchers’ Momentum Plan and figure out what, if any, nutrition tracking is done with it.   I did find a set of ‘food goals’ on the site last night that I meant to look at more closely today.  Maybe this is what they meant.

The other thing I want to do is sit down and sketch out a meal plan.   I may get Zack and Noah to help me with this, as they’ve both studied Nutrition at one time or another, and may enjoy the challenge of planning meals that fit into the Food Pyramid.  Good family project, educational, etc.  Should be good.

I should get to cleaning now.  My Family room is a mess, and I need to get dinner ready before I head off to practice for my Lessons and Carols performance tonight. Whee.

Entry filed under: ADF, Successes. Tags: , , , .

Round 1, Day 20: ADF Round 1: ADF (RESULTS)

5 Comments

  • 1. Pangie  |  December 7, 2008 at 2:50 pm

    That sounds like a great plan involving Z and N in this!

    I am so flipping excited to hear the results tomorrow! 😀

  • 2. Michelle  |  December 7, 2008 at 8:06 pm

    Part of the nutrition of WW is that you learn how to keep yourself full when you are at a bare minimum of calories. Fiber and veggies and healthy oils do that so you start to make sure you get plenty of those things. I don’t know that the ADF plan lends itself to this exploratory kind of nutrition. I haven’t been for a while to see the new plan, but when I was doing it they called them Good Health Guidelines.

  • 3. melalvai  |  December 7, 2008 at 8:07 pm

    Da, dadada da da da da dum…
    What, you don’t let Andy read this?
    Maybe I’m reading too much into this but I’m a little worried that Andy hasn’t bought into this project 100%. Our support, and the kids’ support, is beans compared to what he can offer you.

    Just my 2 cents!

  • 4. Jennifer  |  December 8, 2008 at 8:32 am

    Andy doesn’t read much unless he has to, honestly. But if I were blogging about Sports or something, he probably would. 😉

    Andy has actually been pretty supportive. Did I give the impression he wasn’t? I didn’t mean to, if so. On fasting days, he’s stepped up to make dinner for the kids so that I wouldn’t have to be around food cooking, which has been a big help.

    ‘Course, he’s not as good about doing the dishes when he does this, so in the end it’s not so much a help. But he does try. 🙂

    Andy’s issue with rewards isn’t about not supporting me. It’s about money. It’s our ongoing battle. He’s fine with me rewarding myself, provided the reward doesn’t cost anything.

  • 5. Melalvai  |  December 8, 2008 at 1:54 pm

    Whew, that’s a relief.
    Money can be the source of many battles, and is of course the root of all evil. 🙂


Recent Posts

Check it out!

  • 9,474 people are watching me!

