Round 2, Day 1: ADF + WW

December 8, 2008 at 8:25 am 7 comments

I may have to find a new subject format.  If I keep adding things, it could get obnoxious in a hurry.

At any rate, so begins Round 2.  I have successfully completed Round 1 without any failures, which is good.  It adds ‘keep my record clean’ as an additional incentive to staying on my tasks here.

Okay, so this round we’re adding in Weight Watchers.  I’ve gone through as much of their literature as any reasonable person can stand to read. (I may have a lower ‘rah-rah-you-can-do-it!’ threshold than some thanks to too many Creative Memories meetings, though).   I still am not entirely clear how the Momentum Plan varies much from the Points plan of yore, but so be it.

My goal this 21 days will be to continue my ADF plan and simply journal honestly every day.  I’m not terribly concerned with budgeting my point allowance, frankly.  I would hope, in the first place, that my fasting days would more than make up for any capricious points-spending-sprees to which I might be prone, but even that aside: part of the charm of ‘eating days’ was not feeling ‘limited’.   Therefore, my goal is simply to track, not to curb.

As a side goal, I plan to start planning my meals ahead of time.  To that end, I have fashioned a meal planning chart similar to one I know I used in High School Home Ec at some point.  Strangely, I couldn’t find it online anywhere, so I made  my own.  Here’s a link to it, if anyone else wants to use it (or just see it):

One-Day Family Meal Planner

The Food Servings listed at the bottom are based on the USDA food pyramind.  A friend of mine said that she had heard that the Mediterannean Food Pyramid is supposed to be healthier, but I’d never heard that there was more than one until she said something. 🙂 I guess we’ll stick with this for now and see how it goes.

The USDA Food Pyramid

The USDA Food Pyramid

Entry filed under: ADF, Weight Watchers. Tags: , , .

Round 1: ADF (RESULTS) ADF/WW: Day 2

7 Comments

  • 1. Pangie  |  December 8, 2008 at 10:22 am

    Do you plan to share with us what your food distribution ends up as? If not, I recommend you do record it on here in private posts. 🙂

    Anyway, awesome work on round 1, and I know you’ll do just as well with round 2! 🙂

  • 2. 21daystome  |  December 8, 2008 at 11:11 am

    I thought they changes the USDA Food Pyramid a few years ago. The categories are vertical instead of horizontal and there are steps up the side of it. That’s about all I can recall. Do you just prefer the old style?

    Also, I’d be interested in the Mediterannean Food Pyramid! My diet is largely Mediterannean and I will be looking more into it when I start my next cycle which will involve planning healthy meals. 🙂

    Good luck on your new cycle! I find tracking what I eat so darn difficult. I found that it made me want to eat more prepacked food because that was easy to track. All the nutrition information is right on the box!! But making my own stuff (which I usually do) was so much more work. 😛 So kudos to you that you have been able to successfully do it in the past and again, good luck!

  • 3. melalvai  |  December 8, 2008 at 8:20 pm

    How does snootybread ™ rate?

  • 4. Pangie  |  December 9, 2008 at 9:49 am

    Mel brings up a very valid question. 🙂

  • 5. Feaelin  |  December 9, 2008 at 10:34 am

    It seems an essential question is ‘how fast is too fast’? Is there a credible source that answers that question?

  • 6. Feaelin  |  December 9, 2008 at 10:47 am

    Darnit, I posted that comment in the wrong place. Ignore, delete, something. 🙂

    Anyway…I took a look at the Mediterranean, and I get the impression that it is ‘more towards what humans need, but not what the crazy Americans would accept’.

  • 7. Jennifer  |  December 9, 2008 at 4:28 pm

    Yeah.. the idea of not having a meat dish every night is going to make it a non-option as far as Andy’s concerned. I can tell you that much right now. Chicken once a week, Red Meat once a MONTH? Yeah, right.

    However, I did invest in some rice dishes and such. Maybe I can guide him toward it gently. 😉


Recent Posts

Check it out!

  • 9,474 people are watching me!

