ADF/WW: Day 2

December 9, 2008 at 4:03 pm 6 comments

Last night was sort of a tough night for me.   I caught a cold last week that developed into a sore throat and cough on Sunday.  By yesterday I had no voice at all, and it hurt to even try and talk.

This made it easier to ‘fast’ yesterday.  Since I was tracking points, I know that at the end of the day, I had eaten only 5 points worth of anything: a banana (2), a cup of juice (2), and a cup of broth (1).   I didn’t really want anything else.  I just wanted to sleep.

Andy knew I’d had a rough day.  When you have four children and you can’t talk, life can be a bit of a challenge.  My kids are good kids, fortunately, and they actually found my lack of voice to be rather novel and fun.   We developed a system where I would clap when I wanted their attention, and then I’d attempt to convey what I wanted or needed in charades fashion.  If that didn’t work, I’d try to whisper it or type a message to them that Zack or Noah would then read.    Even so, though, it was a long, stressful day.

So he decided to do something nice for me.  He took Noah to a Cub Scouts event, and on the way home he stopped to get me a Smoothie from QuickTrip.   This is kind of his go-to gesture of affection, as opposed to getting me flowers or something like that. He knows I love those things, and it just went right past him that I couldn’t enjoy it because last night was not an Eating Day.

When he presented it to me, he realized his error immediately and felt bad.  I, meanwhile, went through such a moment of internal conflict that I was dismayed with myself afterward.  After completing 21 days of self-inflicted diet regimen, I would have hoped that being presented with such a temptation would affect me less, but instead my brain desperately leaped around for some way to justify drinking it. It wasn’t even, I don’t think, the fact that it tastes so good — although admittedly that didn’t help — but rather just the fact that Andy had tried to do something nice and I couldn’t accept it.

So my brain lashed around, “Maybe I could just skip something tomorrow and make up for it that way.” “Maybe I could just eat it.  I’m counting points now, and I certainly have plenty of points left.”   In the end, I was good.  Andy understood, of course.  He felt bad for putting me in that position, but this wasn’t much comfort; it made me feel worse.

Fortunately, a little Nyquil knocked me right out shortly thereafter and kept me firmly asleep until nearly 9:00 a.m. this morning.

Today, however, has not been much better. In fact, I’m ticked off at my favorite bakery, Great Harvest Bread.  For the past two months, I’ve made Great Harvest my first stop when I drop my kids off for their weekly music lessons.  Tuesday is always Dakota Bread day, and the loaves come out around 10:00 am.  I hit the bakery around 10:30, and I consistently purchase at least a loaf of Dakota, as well as a round of cookies for the kids.

Today, when I arrived, the Dakota hadn’t even gone in the oven.  They asked me to come back in an hour and a half or so.  Yeah, right.  I have to be HOME by noon so that Noah can be online for his LiveLesson on time.   So… no sale for them, no Dakota bread for me.   Meh.  I could go tomorrow, but darnit…  this is a small bakery, and they know me by name.  Was it asking so much that they’d throw in a Dakota loaf knowing I’d be by?  If I had a regular like that, I’d do it.

I went to Shop-n-Save and bought myself some Brownberry Farm Oatnut bread instead.  So there, GHB.   Brownberry Farms cares enough to have what I want stocked when I ask for it.  Sort of.  It’s not quite the same thing, but it’s the next best, I suppose.

I also invested in some rice mixes and couscous.  I want to try some grain dishes besides macaroni and cheese and Uncle Ben’s.  I’ll probably be the only person in the house who will touch them with a ten-foot-pole, and I’ll get griped at for spending the money.   But maybe I can justify it on the grounds that every other day I’m barely costing the family anything to feed.

I’ve spent 23 of my 30 points so far today.  We’ve not had dinner yet, but I’m not concerned.  I figured I’d be way over by now, and given that I’m fasting tomorrow, it’ll be good if I go over tonight by at least a percentage of my daily allowance.

Entry filed under: ADF, Successes, Weight Watchers. Tags: , , , , .

Round 2, Day 1: ADF + WW ADF/WW: Day 3

6 Comments

  • 1. Feaelin  |  December 9, 2008 at 7:11 pm

    Good work, Noah and Zack! Always good to have help when you’re down.

    mmm. Couscous.

  • 2. Jennifer  |  December 9, 2008 at 7:37 pm

    I wanted to follow-up with the Smoothie thing.

    The Smoothie was obviously rock solid after spending the night in the freezer. I experienced a flash of inspiration when I got it out today and I got out the Smoothie Maker Andy got me a couple of years ago for Christmas. Once I got it out of the cup and into the machine, I broke it up some and blended it.

    It was actually BETTER that way. It was soft and there wasn’t the inch of syrup in the bottom that happens when you get it fresh. Andy tried it with his leftover smoothie and agreed. We need to do that more often. 😉

  • 3. melalvai  |  December 9, 2008 at 8:37 pm

    I have noticed a substantial increase in our grocery bill lately. That would be due to our teenage daughter. So yeah, one person not eating half the time could make a serious dent in the grocery bill, and justify the expense of some nice grains.

    Rice is the cheapest form of calorie. I looked it up once. Potatoes are pretty cheap too, but still like 100X more expensive per calorie than rice. Everything else is thousands of times more expensive per calorie than rice.

  • 4. Jennifer  |  December 9, 2008 at 9:56 pm

    Rice! It’s what’s for dinner!

    Because we can’t afford anything else! 🙂

  • 5. Amanda  |  December 9, 2008 at 10:04 pm

    Wow, congrats on bypassing the smoothie. I am glad that it worked out better anyway to eat it the next day! 🙂

    Sorry about being sick. I hope you feel better soon. But I have to say, if there is one thing I learned through college, it was drilled in my head was never to whisper especially when you have a poor throat anyway. Forcing yourself to talk is going to do less damage than whispering.:S But hope all that goes away soon!

  • 6. Jennifer  |  December 9, 2008 at 10:34 pm

    Well, fortunately actually whispering actually hurt more than trying to talk, so I just tried to avoid doing either unless there was no other way to convey what I needed to my kids.

    Today I am back to ‘sort of weird squeaky voice’. Hopefully tomorrow will be back to normal.


Recent Posts

Check it out!

  • 9,469 people are watching me!

