ADF/WW: Day 3

December 10, 2008 at 10:15 pm 4 comments

I feel good today.  I could get used to this.

Last night’s dinner was an exercise in good nutrition.  I served pork chops prepared via Bag-n-Season, fresh sauteed green beans, a salad and some of the whole grain rice blend prepared up into a pilaf.  I used olive oil wherever oil of any kind was requested.  The salad I served was an Autumn Harvest package deal that Dole has out this time of year.  I absolutely love it, and not least not the least reason for this being that it includes pumpkin seeds and craisins to sprinkle over the top.  The pumpkin vinaigrette is really good, too!

Anyway, I was pretty sure my family would eat the pork chops and dismiss everything else.  I let the kids choose between the green beans and the salad, as I knew they would divide down party lines.  Surprisingly, while Noah can usually be depended upon to eat rice and Zack cannot, last night Zack devoured his rice and Noah said he ‘didn’t like the black stuff in it’.  Noah is my fussy eater. :/

Andy surprised me by going back for seconds on the rice.  :O

Since I was loathe to let any of it go to waste, I took rather generous portions of green beans, salad and rice, and decided to come back for the pork chop later.    Then, just like at Thanksgiving, I was too full to bother with the pork chop when ‘later’ came around, so I ended up going vegetarian for dinner again.  Heh!

And today I feel good.  I am not entirely sure this isn’t psychosomatic, since I feel like I gave my body the a good infusion of nutritious foods last night and I figure I OUGHT to feel good today.  But who cares?

I also tried something else for the first time today.  Inspired by Pangie’s ‘terrible table’, I dragged out a piece of shelving we had in the garage and rested it on the arm rails of my treadmill.  I put my laptop on it and attempted to work while walking at a slowish pace.   This wasn’t easy, since there was nothing holding the shelf — and, by extension, my laptop — in place besides the force of my hands, but I did find that after a little while, I was so intent on what I was working on that I didn’t really notice that I was walking anymore.  In fact, stopping and getting off left me feeling a little weird, like I was getting off of a boat after a long time on the water.

I didn’t do it for long, granted.  I figure if I’m going to do something like that, I ought to do it on eating days, so I’m not taxing my body when it’s already enduring stress.   But apparently 20 minutes of ‘leisure walking’ counts as one Activity Point in Weight Watchers.  Interesting.   All of the literature I’ve found on this ‘Walkstation’ idea advises to walk at a slow pace, if only because it’s hard to type and move one’s mouse effectively at higher speeds.. but I’d guess if someone actually did this for an entire workday, it’d add up in a hurry.

I bought myself the materials for a Terrible Table tonight.  Two 8-foot pine 2x2s cut in half, one MDF shelf board coated in white.  Pangie used L-brackets; I’ll probably just screw right through the top of the shelf board and just make sure to use pilot holes so I don’t splinter the wood.  Then I can make a walking goal for my next 21-day run.

I’m still wondering when I should stop this ADF stuff.  As many have said, it’s not the sort of thing one can really do for a long, long time.  On the other hand, it’s nice to be successful and I’m not sure I can trust myself to ‘be good’ if I stop yet.  Yesterday I actually WAS pretty good, and I still went over my points for the day.  Granted, I more or less MADE myself do that, because to not would be really bad, but still…it’s not like it was hard to do. 😉

On one hand, I think ADF is good because it allows you to see that feeling hungry isn’t the end of the world.  It has helped me put hunger in perspective.  Yes, it’s not fun, but it’s not killing me either.  Moreover, I guess, I’ve started to appreciate the hunger pangs, because they remind me that I’m working hard, and doing something important.

However, I don’t think I could ever go so far as to call ADF a habit, 21-day logic notwithstanding.  I realize that that’s sort of the actual point of the 21-day thing: to either break or correct a habit.  The whole up-down thing with ADF defeats the whole point, really.   If I want to make an actual lifestyle change, then, the WW thing I’m doing now is probably the more beneficial ‘habit’ of the two…  Although I have to say I still find journalling to be really annoying.  Even though I can eat whatever I want, it’s such a hassle to sit down and remember to record it.

I do want to make exercise an actual habit, so I probably will work in the walking thing next.  My concern there is that if I continue with ADF, I don’t know that I can logically exercise each day.  It seems like that could be dangerous.   I will have to do some JUDD research and see what they say about that.

Wow, I am chatty today.

Entry filed under: ADF, Successes, Weight Watchers. Tags: , , , , , , .

ADF/WW: Day 2 ADF/WW: Day 4

4 Comments

  • 1. Pangie  |  December 10, 2008 at 10:32 pm

    OK, I HAVE to try that salad mix.

    My little pseudo-vegetarian… I’m so proud!

    And your very own Terrible Table ™!

    I’m just so proud of you today. 😉

  • 2. Amanda  |  December 11, 2008 at 7:48 am

    That salad sounds delicious. 🙂 I crave salads like nobody’s business and pumpkin seeds are one of my favorite additions to pretty much anything. So, yes, that salads sounds perfect. 🙂 I’ll probably try it tonight!

    Kudos to you! You’re really making a lot of lifestyle changes that will be healthy for everyone.:) YEY!

  • 3. melalvai  |  December 11, 2008 at 9:50 pm

    Maybe a modification on the AFD thing, like on fast days you have a fairly strict regimen and on feast days it’s not a free for all.

    I really like the idea of building splurges into a diet plan, because then you aren’t giving up your favorite fattening foods which just makes them forbidden fruit aka downfall. It’s so much easier to say “No, I can’t have XYZ now but I can have it at 2:00, or on Tuesday” than it is to say you can’t have it at all. When Tuesday rolls around, often as not you just don’t want it so badly, and sometimes you’ll have it anyway, just cause you promised yourself you would, and sometimes you’ll refrain even though you promised yourself that treat. And sometimes you’ll scarf it up and it’ll be more delicious than you ever remember it being.

  • 4. Jennifer  |  December 12, 2008 at 12:13 am

    I have to agree with you there. At the end of the day on fasting days, sometimes all I can think about is all of the delicious food I want to eat when I wake up. Then I wake up and I could pretty much take or leave it.

    I think that forbidden fruit thing is probably one of ADF’s bigger boons.


Recent Posts

Check it out!

  • 9,474 people are watching me!

