ADF/WW: Day 5

December 12, 2008 at 2:28 pm 6 comments

Before I say anything else, I want to congratulate Pangie for reaching her 21-day goal!  She went for a goal that was a bit more conventional in the sense that she worked on actually forming a good habit.  She resolved to do some bike riding (either actual bike riding or stationary bike riding, depending on the weather) every day for 21 days.  As of today, she has reached that goal!  Congratulations, Pangie!

I’m especially indebted to Pangie because she was the first person I spoke to about this whole 21-day idea, and she was so enthusiastic about it that she really gave me the encouragement I needed to do more than just talk about it.   She’s been my most faithful reader, sometimes even griping at me if I haven’t posted yet, and my most ardent cheerleader.  It seems only fitting to take a moment today and thank her, wholeheartedly, for doing that for me.

Love you, Pangie. 🙂  Thank you for all you do!

I also owe debts of gratitude to other friends, but I’ll thank them when they hit THEIR 21 day goals, where applicable. 😉

In honor of Pangie’s accomplishment, I had planned to concentrate on exercise in general today, but before I do that I want to report this:

Today I got up and found my favorite jeans, freshly laundred and waiting for me.  These jeans are ones I consider to be ‘trustworthy’ as I thus far I have never put them on and had them not fit me, no matter how fat I was.   However, it should be noted that normally they’re a little snug when I first put them on, and then they loosen up after I’ve walked around some.

This morning they weren’t snug.  At all.  YES!!

Okay, so.  Exercise.

I have determined that the reasons why I don’t exercise come down to the following:

1.  It doesn’t feel good, and

2.  It’s boring.

I am, obviously, setting aside the other objections against exercising, which basically amount to ‘I don’t have the money for a gym these days’, and ‘it’s tough to exercise when you have four kids who require supervision’, but considering we do have two perfectly good exercise machines in the basement, these excuses are sort of moot.

So really, the ‘doesn’t feel good’ and ‘boring’ arguments are the only arguments that apply.   Sadly, these are compelling reasons not to exercise, at least where genuine motivation is concerned, especially the ‘doesn’t feel good’ part.   It’s hard enough to do something good for yourself when doing it DOESN’T feel masochistic in practice.  When exercise leaves you aching, tired, sweating, and all too aware of how out of shape you are because you could only go for X minutes without feeling like you’d rather die than continue, it’s not exactly easy to stay motivated to do it.

Obviously, I’m not saying these are good reasons not to exercise, or that people shouldn’t exercise unless it feels good and interests them.  I’m just saying that for me, personally, the reality is that the physical discomfort and boredome inherent with exercising at my current state of fitness are difficult to overcome, motivation-wise.

Difficult, but not impossible.

Andy and I put together my Terrible Table last night (and I think it is, if possible, even MORE terrible than Pangie’s.  I have to bungee the thing to the armrails of my treadmill just to keep it from wobbling), and I set it up.  Once my laptop is charged up today, I’m going to go down and walk for awhile and see if it holds up.

This should handle the boredom issue.  I can kill an amazing amount of time working online, and if I can walk while doing it I think I’ll be on my way to overcoming my current issues with exercise.

Pangie reports that her legs feel like they’re itching to exercise now that she’s been biking every day for 21 days.   I figure that eventually, that sort of thing makes exercise feel so good that boredom is less of a concern.  That would be very nice.

I am trying to learn about the JUDD Diet (Johnson Upday-Downday Diet), since it seems to be the only ‘formal’ diet that runs in similar fashion to the ADF I’ve been doing already.  In true point of fact, from what I gather what I do is actually more JUDD than it is ADF.  ADF implies a flat-out fast every other day, whereas what JUDD advises between 20% and 50% reduction in caloric intake on ‘Down Days’, and while my intake is a little lower than this, if I’m taking in 5 ‘points’ worth, then it does come out closer to 20%.

Dr. Johnson appeared on the Mike and Juliet show not too long ago, promoting his book called ‘The Alternate Day Diet’.  The conversation was annoyingly similar to ones I have had on the subject: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8_lS-B2jzr4

I have not determined what, if any, exercise Dr. Johnson recommends.  It doesn’t sound like there is much of an exercise component involved. Apparently there’s another diet called the QOD diet, but I’m not sure what QOD stands for.

Entry filed under: ADF, Successes, Weight Watchers. Tags: , , , , , , .

ADF/WW: Day 4 ADF/WW: Day 6

6 Comments

  • 1. melalvai  |  December 12, 2008 at 8:14 pm

    It appears to be a mix of latin and medical-ese. Quaqua is latin for “every” and the od stands for “other day”.

    I’d like to pretend my PhD in Biology taught me that, but actually I googled it just now.

  • 2. Jennifer  |  December 12, 2008 at 11:11 pm

    Yeah.. I’ve seen it attributed to Spanish too, but that was a layman’s interpretation. I got the QOD and JUDD books from Amazon (Viva la Super-Saver Shipping!).

    Kind of a funny side note: the guy who wrote the QOD book is a nephrologist who is an editor at HGCN.com. I looked him up, trying to get a read on his credentials, and came across this:

    http://www.treadmill-desk.com/2007/06/hdcn-movie.html

    The world is circular. 😉

  • 3. Pangie  |  December 13, 2008 at 8:50 am

    You rock, Jen! Thank you for all the praise; that just made my day.

    I’m happy to have helped get this 21-day ball rolling! You’ve really started a great thing in our circle of friends.

    That is so awesome about your jeans! That is such a great feeling. There’s a pair I am very excited to get back into, so I am looking forward to the same feeling.

    After our hour of Unoing last night, I think you may be past problem number 2! And, static shocks aside, it didn’t sound like it felt /bad/, so at least you’re not going negative in problem number 1. Eventually it will start to feel good, I promise.

    I don’t know if your Terrible Table ™ is possibly more terrible than mine. Has yours tipped over onto you while using it yet? 😉

    It does sound like JUDD would be a better fit for you than ADF. Keep us posted on that, especially what he has to say about exercise!

  • 4. Jennifer  |  December 13, 2008 at 10:14 am

    No, it hasn’t… but remember, mine has to be bungee-corded to the treadmill to keep from wobbling.

    It will be interesting to see how the approaches differ. The QOD vs the JUDD vs. ADF vs. Intermittent Fasting. Right now there are a hundred different terms for this, but what I’m doing right now is clearly more along the lines of JUDD than true ADF. I have never actually gone an entire day without eating ANYTHING. I’ve always followed my Mom’s model, of eating a banana, drinking juice, and having carrots or fat-free popcorn if I needed them.

  • 5. Jeff  |  December 13, 2008 at 11:22 am

    Hey, great blog! It’s encouraging seeing people really trying to stay focused on healthy living.

    My wife has run into some of the same roadblocks but we have just one child at this point.

    What she is doing sneaking in her own exercise while also doing fun kids home exercise as well.

    It’s cool because you can have sort of a craft time in which you make the materials necessary for the exercise and then perform the exercise.

    It could be sock bowling, ball bouncing or a number of other kids exercises that work on gross motor skills and really to just get their heart rates up for 20 minutes.

    Keep up the good work!

  • 6. Jennifer  |  December 13, 2008 at 11:44 am

    Well, thanks Jeff! I looked at your site briefly. It looks interesting!


Recent Posts

Check it out!

  • 9,469 people are watching me!

