ADF/WW: Day 7

December 14, 2008 at 1:22 pm 6 comments

Okay… just a bit of advice?  If you fast on Saturday, DO NOT skip breakfast on Sunday on the assumption that the Fellowship Hour at church will supply you with something to eat.  We stayed up late last night to watch a movie, and therefore woke up late this morning.  I had to play handbells at the 9:30 service, so we ran out in a rush, I didn’t eat anything, and when I was able to take a minute to run down and see what was available in the Church Basement, everything was gone.  By the end of the service, I was feeling downright wobbly.

Never again.  I know fasting is a spiritual experience for some people, but I need more of a run-up to a spiritual fast than that.

Mom and I had a nice talk last night.  We don’t get to just sit and talk very often these days, so it was sort of a nice treat to be able to just sit for an hour and chat about things.  The fact that she’s my mentor in this ADF business makes it all the nicer.  Turns out we have the same goal: to reach about 150 pounds.  Really, I should probably shoot for 140, since she’s at least three inches taller than I am and the weight ratio would then be about the same.  But either way, we’ve decided that when we succeed in accomplishing this, we will call People magazine or something and invite them to come interview us for their ‘I Lost A Lot of Weight’ issue. 😉

‘Course, Mom only has about 40 pounds to go to reach that target, whereas I have about 90.  Yeesh.

Today has actually not gone well at all.  I didn’t plan well for today, so I’ve eaten mostly junk because it’s what was here and readily available.  I’ve been good and I’ve written it all down, but this is where journalling becomes diet control in and of itself.  I haven’t been able to check off any fruit/vegetable servings or anything so far, and that kind of bugs me.   Is Caramel Corn considered to be  ‘whole grain’? 😉

To make matters worse, today is the Sunday School program, which means a cookie party afterward.  If I’m going to get anything truly nutritious into myself today, I’m going to have to more or less fast through that party so I’ll have an appetite for dinner.  Problem is, I have no clear plans for dinner, so I guess I should think of something.   I have a salad mix, I have broccoli and zucchini and — of course — eggplant that need to be eaten.  I have more whole grain ric mix..  Question is whether r not I can convince my family to eat it again.

Maybe I should shoot for some kind of enchiladas.  We have the chicken.  I could pick up some beans or something.  Oh wait!  Andy won’t be here for dinner!  He has a Football Banquet tonight.  Well, that helps a lot!

I think I’ll run by Radio Shack and see if I can get a anti-static bracelent before I head to the program today.  I want to do more treadmill work, but I want to get the bracelet first.

Entry filed under: ADF, Successes, Weight Watchers. Tags: , , , .

ADF/WW: Day 6 Sidenote: Setbacks

6 Comments

  • 1. mediamaggie  |  December 14, 2008 at 2:36 pm

    Good luck!! Looks like you and I are pretty similar with our WW goals/journey. You’ve gotta worry about YOU and what you eat, because it’s your body – not everyone else’s. I’m not sure who all you normally cook for, but by putting your health (and everyone else’s!) first you are doing what’s right for everyone!! Unhealthy eating will catch up with everyone else too. Sounds like your mom is a big support to you as well – that’s great. Keep up the god work!!

  • 2. Pangie  |  December 14, 2008 at 4:43 pm

    Why is a related article “Sarah Palin’s 17-year-old daughter pregnant”?

  • 3. melalvai  |  December 14, 2008 at 5:50 pm

    Caramel corn, french fries and ketchup, we got yer gen-u-ine vegetarian meal right here!

    Blame it on the weather. It gets into your head, when there’s a storm coming. It’s hard to do anything.

  • 4. Pangie  |  December 14, 2008 at 6:58 pm

    Yeah, and it’s even harder to do anything once the storm arrives. 🙂

  • 5. Jennifer  |  December 14, 2008 at 7:11 pm

    Well, now they’re telling us that the storm’s going to blow on past without leaving any sort of calling card. That’s annoying.

    I ended up making Eggplant Parmisan, just to get this Eggplant out of my fridge. It wasn’t half bad, although clearly not a nutritional boon by any means. Deep fried eggplant in olive oil is still deep fried. I ate one, let the kids have as much as they wanted, and offered them rice and steamed vegetables. Rice is gone, veggies are still sitting there. Of course.

    But at least I can now check off some of those Fruit/Veg marks on my WW list.

  • 6. Feaelin  |  December 16, 2008 at 6:02 pm

    Aii! Eggplant!

    Er, I mean…

    It is a great thing its something both you and your mom is doing, it makes it more of a doable thing, I’d say.


Recent Posts

Check it out!

  • 9,469 people are watching me!

