ADF/WW: Day 9

December 16, 2008 at 2:26 pm 11 comments

This was bound to come up eventually.  Warning: may be TMI.

I’m not sure what is the most tactful way to say this, so I’m just going to say it: my period came today.   This is good, actually, as much as ‘that time of the month’ represents extra hassle and such.  I wasn’t sure when to expect it, as my cycle has been a little crazy since Luke was born and I put on the extra weight.  Counting back, though, I’m on the 28th day, and that’s always a good sign.

This was good in another way.   If I remember correctly, women on Weight Watchers were advised to expect a slowdown in weight loss around the end of their menstrual cycles, and then a slightly more dramatic drop than usual after the cycle started again.   Ideally, this means my next weigh-in may be even more satisfying than this past one was.  Maybe even the Bathroom Scale will say I’m under 230.  Could it be?

I will say that I didn’t especially NOTICE my usual PMS symptoms.  That was sort of nice.

I’m still looking for a healthy mexican recipe for tonight.   If I’m going to make Andy eat whole grains, it’d better at least be a flavor he likes, right?  I have yellow rice and whole grain tortillas, and I’m thinking chicken Enchiladas.  Anyone have any suggestions?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

ADF/WW: Day 8 ADF/WW: Day 10

11 Comments

  • 1. melalvai  |  December 16, 2008 at 4:52 pm

    Although I don’t have actual periods anymore, I still have one ovary and I have if anything a more regular cycle than before. In addition to the mood swings and breast swelling, I’ve noticed a weight increase right around then too. I think it’s more noticeable to me because I don’t have the one really obvious sign, so I’m always on the lookout for the less obvious ones.

    Otherwise how would I know whether it’s PMS or I’m crazy? 😀

  • 2. Jennifer  |  December 16, 2008 at 5:56 pm

    It’s always nice to have independent confirmation on that sort of thing. Of course, now I’m expecting the weight loss, and I’ll be bummed if it doesn’t happen. But everything’s been going pretty well until now, so I won’t worry.

  • 3. melalvai  |  December 16, 2008 at 6:26 pm

    Just for the record, Feaelin announced he’ll abstain from “weighing in” on this one.

  • 4. Jennifer  |  December 16, 2008 at 8:06 pm

    The terrible pun aside, we’ll forgive him for that.

  • 5. Amanda  |  December 17, 2008 at 11:05 am

    So what does WW say if you have your period for 6 weeks straight? Maybe I have to wait until my cycle restarts and then BAM! All my hardwork will pay off! 🙂

  • 6. Jennifer  |  December 17, 2008 at 1:42 pm

    Couldn’t say. But gosh, I feel bad for you if that’s your situation. I hate this time of the month. >_<

  • 7. melalvai  |  December 17, 2008 at 5:26 pm

    Why do you have your period 6 wks straight? I had some of those when I got off the Depo shot.

    It sucked.

  • 8. Jennifer  |  December 17, 2008 at 6:01 pm

    Ugh, Depo. Depo is evil.

  • 9. 21daystome  |  December 17, 2008 at 6:16 pm

    My last shot of Depo was in June. So it COULD be from that but that seems awhile ago, doesn’t it? Who knows.

  • 10. melalvai  |  December 17, 2008 at 7:56 pm

    I had about 6 months of month long periods. A period for 30+ days followed by 5-6 weeks of nothing, then another loooooong period. The doctor didn’t seem too concerned, but it was awful enough that it sealed Feaelin’s decision to get snipped, so I wouldn’t have to endure any more of this hormonal contraceptive b.s.

    Depo is evil. I gained 30 pounds in about a year.

  • 11. Jennifer  |  December 18, 2008 at 9:45 am

    Yeah.. it was on Depo that I went from a size 10 to a size 16.

    Never again.


Recent Posts

Check it out!

  • 9,469 people are watching me!

