ADF/WW: Day 12

December 19, 2008 at 6:35 pm 2 comments

Today we’re going to talk about that wonderful dietary situation that can singlehandedly undo a whole lot of good.

I refer, of course, to eating out.

In my family, Thanksgiving is the bigger ‘family’ holiday.  Because of this, my mother demands our attendance at Thanksgiving and graciously does not bat an eye as we travel off to spend Christmas with our husbands’ families.  She can afford to be maganimous in any case, as all three of us live in town, and even if we’re traveling hither and yon on the actual holiday, we can (and do) always just schedule a different day to get together and pretend it’s Christmas.  That way, we get the best of all worlds, I guess.

This year, we scheduled this pseudo-celebration for today and tomorrow.  In my family, we open ‘family’ gifts on Christmas Eve, and ‘Santa’ gifts on Christmas morning, so even now it’s a two-shot affair.  The evening portion took place tonight, and included, as has also become tradition, a dinner out at a local O’Charley’s (the food isn’t great, but when you have eleven grandchildren under the age of 9, that Kids Eat Free thing gets VERY appealing), paid for by my mother as part of her Christmas gift to us.

When we do this, we go all out.  We order appetizers, salad or soup courses, and whatever we want on the menu.  Prime Rib, Shrimp, whatever.   It’s usually a BIG meal, and usually I’m right in there, enjoying myself thoroughly.  Given this, I swapped Friday for Saturday again, so I ate today and intend to fast tomorrow.

Even so, I didn’t want to go hog wild.  I limited myself to 1 and a half appetizer portions, just because there were two things I wanted to try.  I did eat two rolls, but I ordered a salad they were offering as a seasonal special.  It was an Apple Crunch Salad, and it looked really good on the menu.  I did order it sans bleu cheese crumbles, though, since I’ve never been a fan of bleu cheese.

When it arrived, it looked great… but the orange-cranberry vinaigrette left something to be desired.  Truthfully, I should have minded the fact that the idea of orange and cranberry together just didn’t appeal to me as a flavor combination, traditionally festive though it might be.  I’ve just been so fortunate with my Dole Autumn Harvest blends that I guess I figured I would probably enjoy it even if it didn’t sound that great.  (I mean, to be fair: pumpkin spice vinaigrette doesn’t sound that good to me either, but it turns out that it tastes great to me, so..)

In the end, I picked at my salad for most of the evening.  I didn’t especially mind.  The apples were good, the pecans were good, the grilled chicken chunks were good, and I did my best to eat as much salady parts as I could.  I probably ate about 3/4ths of it, all told.

Then I came home and tried to tally up my points.  It’s not easy, since the nutrition information available on O’Charley’s website is hard to navigate and didn’t include the seasonal salad I’d ordered.  I used another salad that sounded similar,just to have something to go by.

Holy moly…21 points!?  That was for the salad alone, completely ignoring the other stuff I ate.  When I tallied in two rolls and 1.5 servings of appetizer, it came to over 32 points.  That’s two points more than an ENTIRE DAY’S WORTH OF POINTS FOR ME.  Yikes!

I’m fine, even by WW standards.. I had about a third of my points for the day allocated to dinner, and I’ve barely touched my Weekly Flex Points allowance this week. The caloriefest just pretty much ate that up.  Going by strict WW standards, I now have 37 points to work with tomorrow.  I don’t foresee that being a problem, but man… just THINK about that…  I had what I would have considered to be a fairly ‘light’ meal there.   In past years, I’d have gotten grilled shrimp with rice pilaf, a side salad AND I’d have had rolls and appetizers according to appetite.   If I consumed 31 points’ worth of food just eating what I ate, how much did I eat before?!  A whole week’s worth?

It is an eye-opener.  And not a very happy one.

I will admit here, by the way, that I stepped on the bathroom scale today just because I was curious.  I try not to give into the temptation to do this, since it stands to be potentially disheartening, but it said I weighed 229.  This was on an eating day, after I’d eaten breakfast, so that was a really nice thing to see.

Entry filed under: ADF, Successes, Weight Watchers. Tags: , , , , .

ADF/WW: Day 11 ADF/WW: Day 13

2 Comments

  • 1. melalvai  |  December 20, 2008 at 9:24 pm

    245 to 229 is excellent progress.

  • 2. Pangie  |  December 21, 2008 at 1:02 am

    Woo! I can’t wait to see what Monday brings. 🙂

    And yes, eating out is pretty much evil. I really don’t understand why there aren’t more healthy restaurants popping up. Though I guess you go where the money is, and the majority of the US population enjoys the taste of the fattening food. :-/


Recent Posts

Check it out!

  • 9,469 people are watching me!

