ADF/WW: Day 13

December 20, 2008 at 7:44 pm 5 comments

Uuuuuuuunnng.  Social situations are the WORST!  I mean, I scheduled this thing specifically so I could be flexible in the case of social situations, but even so I can only go so far with it.   Last night was the big meal, but I forgot that today was the big brunch, AND it’s Susie’s birthday!  We had promised to take her to Chuck E. Cheese’s!

Score one for poor planning.  Not, I guess, that there was much I could do about this.  I couldn’t fast on Thursday after having fasted on Wednesday.  I guess maybe I could have fasted yesterday and just ordered steamed vegetables at the restaurant, but naturally I didn’t think of THAT until today.  Meh.

I was good, though.  I hated it the whole day, but I was good.   I sat out of brunch this morning, which wasn’t that hard since I wasn’t feeling that great anyway.  I spent the time relaxing on the sofa, reading my JUDD book (or trying to, anyway… it’s kind of dry).   When we got home I had one of those Health Blends from Green Giant for 3 points.  Then I ordered the salad bar at Chuck E. Cheese’s and ate carrots, cherry tomatoes and orange wedges while everyone else ate pizza and birthday cookie. :/  It wasn’t THAT bad, but it wasn’t fun.

Fasting through the weekdays is not that hard anymore.   Like I wrote before… Mom had said that at a certain point, she came to almost look forward to fasting days, just because she didn’t have to fret over what she would eat that day.   I’m at that point too, if only because my fasting day food regimen is fairly simple and easy to stick to now.  These Health Blends are warm, and since I eat at least one that contains beans, I don’t tend to get so hungry I want to snap at people anymore.  They are substantial enough to keep me satisfied, and I’m good.  If anything, it’s my EATING days that give me trouble.

But this social stuff is going to kill me.  I need to figure something out.  This coming week is another issue, because Christmas Eve falls on a Wednesday, and that’s the night of the traditional meat fondue.  I will not make myself popular with Andy’s family by sitting out, and yet Thursday is no better.   We’re supposed to have everyone HERE for Christmas dinner Thursday night.  I can’t shuffle it around enough to make it work without having to go two fasting days in a row to get back on track, which I can’t (and won’t) do.

Ultimately, I’m going to have to skip a fasting day.  Or at least amend one, anyway.  I think I’ll just have to fast for most of Wednesday and do the meal that night and try as hard as I can not to go crazy with it.   Normally I eat about…five or six chunks of meat, salad, bread, fruit cocktail, whatever.  I’ll just try to limit myself when I see what Greg and Maureen are serving, I guess.  Then I’ll resume on Thursday like nothing happened.

The eating Days problem is getting frustrating.  I need to plan my meals.   That much I gather.. But I’m at a loss as to where to start, somehow.  I shouldn’t be; just get a cookbook and go, right?  But which cookbook?   The gourmet/health food ones I have don’t have much in them that either looks appealing or doesn’t include a lot of weird ingredients I’d have to travel to a specialty store to locate.  Moreover, I’m still suffering from food phobia (moreso after last night’s salad debacle).

I wish I had the money to hire a Nutritionist. 😉  Here, Mr. Nutritionist Man.. I want to eat healthy on my Up days.  Here is what I like, but I am open to trying new things.  Please plan my meals for me.  Thank you.   I even went so far as to look up local Nutritionists in my area, and all I got was a list of GNC stores, and some holistic people who promise to diagnose you within an inch of your life or something.  Bah.

I need to quit whining and just start going through cookbooks.  That’s all there is to it.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

ADF/WW: Day 12 ADF/WW: Day 14

5 Comments

  • 1. Amanda  |  December 20, 2008 at 9:00 pm

    Have you tried looking at the Flat Belly Diet? I am impressed with how it is set up. The idea is to eat 4 small meals throughout the day and each meal is 400 calories. You could up this of course because 1600 might be too small. You could do 5 meals a day maybe? Anyway, I like it because you can swap any meal for another.

    I thought the food was good with normal ingredients and varying degrees of difficulty to make. Next time you’re in a book store, you should peruse it and let me know what you think! 🙂

  • 2. melalvai  |  December 20, 2008 at 9:06 pm

    Nell decided she wants to cook one meal a week. I welcomed this enthusiastically. After 2 weeks of this, she was trying to figure out what to cook the next week. She said “Mom, I don’t know how you do this every night.”

    It was one of the nicest things she has ever said to me.

    Anyway that reminded me of your dilemma. Figuring out meals is such a chore.

  • 3. melalvai  |  December 21, 2008 at 7:21 pm

    Another thought–if you can make it through the holidays without completely giving up, that is a success, even if you weren’t able to stick to your plan 100%. After this, the rest of the year will be a cakewalk (a healthy fat free cake that is) and you will be a seasoned holiday dieter next holiday season.

  • 4. Pangie  |  December 21, 2008 at 9:27 pm

    I was thinking the same thing as Mel’s second comment. 🙂

  • 5. Jennifer  |  December 22, 2008 at 4:01 pm

    Well, I think the hardest day of all will be Friday. After three days of freedom, going back to fasting will probably be tough.

    Given that, I think I’d better fast for most of Wednesday. Have one of my veggie things early, and then eat nothing else until dinner.


Recent Posts

Check it out!

  • 9,469 people are watching me!

