ADF/WW: Day 14

December 21, 2008 at 8:38 pm 2 comments

Two weeks down, one to go.   I have to admit, though, that I have stopped thinking of ADF as a 21-day experiment at this point.  I’m now pretty much mentally committed to it for the long haul, for good or ill.   If nothing else, it’s WORKING for me, and thus far I have not yet encountered any really convincing reason not to continue.

Of course, it’s easy to say that on an Eating Day. 😉

Still, I finished my week off in good-girl fashion.  I didn’t eat a lot of wonderful things in the morning, but I took the time to make a real meal for dinner.  I made enchiladas with poached chicken and whole-grain tortillas, served on a bed of saffron rice and smothered in a homemade enchilada sauce that turned out to be really good.  I made a BLT Caesar Salad for Andy and the kids, and steamed some broccoli for me.  The results were surprisingly good, AND we had a real, sit-down dinner and everything.  That’s something we just don’t do often enough.

So, at the end of the week I had a day in which I came in about 4 points short of my daily allowance, and 7 points short for the week.  It was more points than I’ve consumed in previous weeks, all told, (largely thanks to O’Charley’s), but I did okay.

Tomorrow’s my next weigh-in.  Here’s hoping for good news.  I sort of like that my weigh-ins fall after an eating day, to tell you the truth.  I feel like they’re more accurate, somehow, because they necessarily reflect the most I’d weigh at any given time.  I feel like after a fasting day, I’d weigh less… but maybe sometime I ought to test that theory.  See if I weigh more or less on Eating or NonEating mornings. Hmm…

I’m doing Science and I’m still alive. 😉 (Geek joke.)

Entry filed under: ADF, Failures, Weight Watchers. Tags: , , .

ADF/WW: Day 13 ADF/WW: Day 15

2 Comments

  • 1. melalvai  |  December 22, 2008 at 5:39 pm

    I love home science experiments.

    Try this one: double the amount of sodium you normally eat (probably around 7 g). Weigh yourself every day and watch the weight increase. Then back off to your normal amount and watch the weight decrease.

    I hope I can talk some of next semester’s students into trying that one out. They can do salt analyses of urine every day too, and see how they’ll reach equilibrium but never “catch up” to excrete all the excess sodium. At least according to the textbook that is how it should happen.

  • 2. Pangie  |  December 23, 2008 at 11:24 am

    I think the fact that you are so science-oriented is a big help to you in this. It’s all a big experiment, and you get to check the results every week. 😀


Recent Posts

Check it out!

  • 9,474 people are watching me!

