ADF/WW: Day 18

December 25, 2008 at 11:04 am 2 comments

Christmas! Merry Christmas, everyone!

I gave myself an I-Day for Christmas.  A day of ‘indulgence’, as it were.  During one of our failed attempts to revive our enthusiasm for Weight Watchers in the interim years, my Mom came up with a modified approach that basically included being very good six days a week, but the giving oneself a day to ‘splurge’.  We called them Indulgence Days, or I-Days.

In hindsight, I think this was kind of a good idea, but given that it was only a half-hearted effort from the beginning, that WW run didn’t last very long.   Besides, the I-day was too flexible.  It  was too easy to screw up and say, “Oh..this will just be my I-Day, then.” and then eat like a pig the rest of the day.. and then be very good for a few days and screw up again and think, “Did I have an I-day yet this week?  Okay, THIS will be my I-Day.” and go from there.  Clearly, thinking back, we were not being good about journalling back then, or we would have known.  But either way, before long every day became I-Day. :/

But that is not the case here, fortunately.  We had brunch at G&M’s this morning, and then we’re hosting Christmas Dinner at our house, as previously mentioned.  Besides, today is a standard week Eating Day, so I have license to eat whatever I want, technically.  I just gave myself freedom from having to journal it.  I knew I wouldn’t have time, and some of the things we’d be having would be hard to calculate points for anyway.

I wasn’t very good.  I snacked on Pistachios.  I had a couple of cookies.  I kept myself to only one helping of Brunch Dish this year, which was an improvement over last, and I made the most of the fruit salad.  I also served fruit salad and my Harvest salad and crudites in addition to the ham, green bean casserole and potato dishes, so it was a VERY full table.  I could have done a lot better than I did, foodwise, but I still think I did ‘better’ than I used to do.  I ate only three cookies, for example, which is obviously three more than necessary, but easily four or five less than I would have eaten during previous years.

For Christmas, by the way, I received $100 from my parents.  I might actually invest in some kitchenware with that.  One of those electronic temperature probes that Alton Brown goes on about, for one thing.   I also received (although this is not food related, just awesomely cool) an Apple Wireless “Mighty Mouse”. 🙂  Merry Christmas to me!

Entry filed under: ADF, Successes, Weight Watchers. Tags: , , , .

ADF/WW: Day 17 ADF/WW: Day 19

2 Comments

  • 1. Pangie  |  December 26, 2008 at 12:04 pm

    I’d say it sounds like you did pretty well.

    Did you eat the ham? 😉

  • 2. Jennifer  |  December 27, 2008 at 10:05 am

    I did. Sorry, Pangie… no vegetarian Christmas this time around.

    But I didn’t eat very much of it — only a couple of bites. It helps that I’m not a huge fan of ham as a matter of course. I also forgot to grab some veggie dip when the crudite dish went by me, and since it’s one of those huge 5-section things it was too big to have on the table while we were eating. Thus, once it went away, it was too cumbersome to ask someone to pass it back to me. I ate my raw veggies plain. I guess there are worse things.

    I also found I didn’t care much for the green bean casserole. I am not sure why… if I made it badly or what. It looked and smelled right, but didn’t taste right. Odd. So I barely touched that.


Recent Posts

Check it out!

  • 9,469 people are watching me!

