Exercise, Day 2: Treadmill Woes

December 30, 2008 at 12:19 pm 6 comments

Today I came down here to find that my treadmill belt had somehow shifted all the way to the right on its running board.  This, in addition to the unpleasant odor the motor gives off once I’ve been walking awhile, does not bode well for this particular run.  Andy was able to sort out the belt, but he predicts that the motor will go out ‘pretty soon’.  The smell is definitely not a good sign.

The treadmill is a Vitamaster, I have since discovered.  A Vitamaster 820.  A search for this model on the Internet produced a link to an article that began with, “This antique treadmill….”

Sounds about right.

It did continue with considerable praise for its durability and quality ‘for the period’.  I feel like I need a sign on my treadmill that says, “Lincoln Walked Here” or something.

The quest for a nutrition guru to which to hitch my wagon continues.  Much as I have formerly praised “You Are What You Eat”, I went to look into Gillian McKeith’s books and discovered that her qualifications are highly questionable.  Her background is in television, with what sound to be junk degrees from holistic and herbal ‘universities’.  She holds a PhD, but not in Nutrition, and has had to cease and desist using the apellation ‘Dr. Gillian McKeith’ because it is misleading.

Between the hard facts and quotes cited from conversations and interviewers with her, I have lost faith in her.  She seems now to be just this side of nuts. :/  She probably has some good ideas, but I won’t feel good about what I’m doing unless I trust the source.   Today’s “You Are What You Eat” showed her being particularly nasty and rude to a suburban wife and mother of two who was clearly on the verge of tears throughout the whole thing, and I turned it off.  The show is losing its charm for me now.

OMG.. my treadmill is smoking! >_<

Well, that’s enough of THAT today.  45 minutes.  Not great, but my goal was 30 and I’m not going to complain.  What the heck am I going to do without a treadmill, though? 😦

*eyes her elliptical*  Maybe if I take the hand-bars off of the Elliptical, I can use that?  Man, and this is TOTALLY THE WRONG TIME OF YEAR to need a treadmill.

*cusswords*

Entry filed under: Exercise, Successes. Tags: , , , , .

Exercise, Day 1: Mixing it up. Exercise, Day 3: Let’s Hear It For the Boy!

6 Comments

  • 1. Michelle  |  December 31, 2008 at 12:09 am

    My doctor recommended “You Are What You Eat” by Walter Willett. He goes through the most recent research and points out what we do know and what isn’t really proven and gives a good overall view of nutrition. I also really like Kathleen Daelmans, both for her wonderful cookbooks and practical approach to thinking about weight loss. The books each have a section at the front with motivating advice.

  • 2. melalvai  |  December 31, 2008 at 7:37 am

    A manual treadmill is much cheaper, and has no motor to break down. A new one is <$300. Normally I’d say craigslist, but this time of year everyone’s vowing to use their new treadmills. I hope you can get something cheap that meets your needs!

    Don’t fall off the eliptical. 🙂

  • 3. Pangie  |  December 31, 2008 at 8:37 am

    Is falling off the elliptical an ever-present danger?

  • 4. Jennifer  |  December 31, 2008 at 9:01 am

    Well, it IS a much more pronounced movement than a treadmill. So much up and down and all of that.

    M: I’ll look into those. Turns out the library has it, so I may run out to get it today. I also just ordered a book called “Eating by the Book’ that is a biblically-based nutrition guide. It’s received fairly decent reviews, so maybe it will be good, too.

  • 5. Feaelin  |  January 3, 2009 at 9:06 am

    Check the local hospital/clinic.

    I saw a poster the other day that a nutritionist was giving group instruction for free at ours.

  • 6. Jennifer  |  January 3, 2009 at 1:02 pm

    That’s a great idea! There’s a health clinic just down the road from me, too. A ‘Medical Village’, whatever that is. Maybe they have something like that.


Recent Posts

Check it out!

  • 9,474 people are watching me!

