Exercise, Day 3: Let’s Hear It For the Boy!

December 31, 2008 at 9:42 am 6 comments

Andy is my hero.  Yesterday, when the treadmill blew up, he came right down here, took it apart and tried to fix it.  The electric motor was completely shot, so he did everything from checking for replacement parts online to trying to remove enough material to make it into a manual.  No dice.  He then went out to drive to our usual repair places to see if anyone in town could fix it.  He came away empty handed from that too, and finally decided that A) we needed a treadmill (or at least I do), and B) repairing the Vitamaster 820 was going to cost over $100 anyway, so we might as well just bite the bullet and get a new one anyway.

So he came home with the Gold’s Gym entry-level treadmill and assembled it for me last night.  It is beautiful!  So quiet, such a pretty display that actually tells me how long I’ve been walking, calories burned, distance…  It automatically adjusts for elevation and speed, and — best of all — my Terrible Table fits it like it was made for it.  All good!

Did I mention that my Terrible Table is not so terrible anymore? Andy also came through for me there.  He went through the scrap wood he had in the garage and fashioned crossbars for either side and a skirtboard for the front.  Now it’s a lot more stable, and (as I said) it fits perfectly on the treadmill.

I hopped on yesterday and did my last 45 minutes, so I came away with a full 1.5 hours of walking.  I’m up to about 43 minutes today already, so this is working out just fine. 🙂

I have finally located my Alternate-Day Diet book!  My MOM has it!   She’s going to drop it off for me today so I can finally read it and review it here.   I’ve also ordered (as mentioned in a comment previously) a book called “Eating By The Book”, which is a nutrition guide based on Biblical principles.  It has fairly good reviews, so hopefully it’ll be a good read.

I have already reached the point where my legs gripe if I’m on the computer and not walking.  I sat down with the laptop at the kitchen table yesterday and was amused by how weird it felt to be sitting and still while working.  Maybe eventually I’ll develop an office like Dr. Daugirgas or that other guy who developed a desk with a built-in treadmill in the floor.  The desk moves up and down depending on whether he’s walking or sitting.  It’s neat.

My ADF schedule will be amended this week.  We’re having people over tonight to celebrate New Years’ Eve, so I’m eating today, fasting tomorrow, eating on Friday, fasting on Saturday.  I love the fact that I have that two-day eating day built in so I can manipulate my week like this without totally throwing off my whole schedule. That really makes this work for me.

I have noticed, by the way, that I have actually begun to PREFER my fasting days to my eating days.  This largely can be blamed on my preoccupation with nutrition, since deciding what to eat on eating days is still a major consideration and the relief of not having to worry about that on the Fasting Days is significant.  I wake up on fasting day mornings and think, “Do I eat today?” and I actually feel relieved when I realize the answer is ‘no’.  That means my diet is set, I know what I’ll be eating and when, and everything is simple.

With that in mind, I am shooting for a fairly regular regimen on eating days as well.  I’ve definitely adopted the habit of eating my whole-grain raisin bran or blueberry granola with skim milk first thing in the morning. (On fasting days, I eat a banana.)  For lunch, I have a sandwich on whole grain bread, maybe an apple or something.  Dinner is, then, the big stress point.  But having two of my three meals accounted for helps.

I am still using Weight Watchers to track my intake.  Going by points alone, I don’t come out at 10% above, but as Michelle points out, WW’s points allowance is based on a minimal number of calories because the intent is to restrict your intake in order to lose weight.  So yesterday I think my final point total was like, 37, nine points above goal.  That was about where I was falling last week too, but now I have all of these ‘Activity Points’ to use if I want to, thanks to the walking.  I don’t know how those fit in yet, as they aren’t being applied to my dietary intake at all yet.  Maybe they kick in when I use up the weekly bonus points?

I mean, not that it matters.  I’m just curious, because this part of things is not well explained unless you go looking for it (and I obviously haven’t yet).  But still, it’s reassuring to have those extra points sitting there, I guess.  Sort of saying, “You know those nine extra points you ate? Don’t sweat them.  We’ve got them covered.”

Entry filed under: ADF, Exercise, Successes. Tags: , , , , , , .

Exercise, Day 2: Treadmill Woes Exercise, Day 4: This is not my New Years’ Resolution

6 Comments

  • 1. Jennifer  |  December 31, 2008 at 11:33 am

    Lame as it is to comment to my own post, I just wanted to add:

    I walked for two hours. Then Andy came down and kicked me off so he could walk. 😉

    One of Us. One of Us. 😉

  • 2. Melalvai  |  December 31, 2008 at 3:30 pm

    Is the eliptical set up next to the treadmill so both could be used at the same time? Iain & I keep saying we need 2 treadmills side by side so we can continue our nightly walks even on cold days.

  • 3. Pangie  |  December 31, 2008 at 4:02 pm

    One of us… One of us! We accept him! We accept him!

    Mel: That’s a good idea!

  • 4. Jennifer  |  December 31, 2008 at 5:01 pm

    Yes, they are! However, Andy says he hates the elliptical and wishes we’d just bought a treadmill back when we got it. I can’t remember now what our logic was when we bought it. I know it was shortly after our stint at the gym, though, so maybe I suggested it because I used to like using the ellipticals at the gym.

    Either way, working out together is going to have to wait until I’m ‘fit’ enough to do the elliptical while he does the treadmill. 😉

  • 5. Feaelin  |  January 3, 2009 at 9:10 am

    How much did the new treadmill run? (argh. pardon the pun)

    It kinda seems like WW’s technique hides (which may be a good thing) what really goes on: You have X number of calories to spend per day, more if you exercise. Seems like it “hides” the budget from you.

    That said, I know what a PITA it is to calculate calories (although there are tricks…keeping stuff you’ve calculated ‘fore so you don’t have to twice, etc.).

  • 6. Jennifer  |  January 3, 2009 at 1:01 pm

    Yeah… WW’s system has a ‘Favorites’ option so you can just drag-and-drop foods you eat often. That’s a big help. There’s also a list of foods you can search through to find popular brands or at least find foods similar to what you ate for the purposes of counting points. That helps too.

    The treadmill cost $389, I think. It was the better quality of the two treadmills Wal-Mart had to offer, but the only real difference that I can see is that it has an automatic incline motor, as opposed to one you work manually before you step on. It also, by virtue of this, has preset ‘programs’ you can select that vary inclination and whatnot as you walk. So far I’m not really using any of this, though. I consistently walk 2.0 mph at a 2% incline.


Recent Posts

Check it out!

  • 9,474 people are watching me!

