Exercise, Day 5: Ouch.

January 2, 2009 at 9:14 am 6 comments

All right, I’m here… but I think my legs are becoming less enthusiastic about this plan now.  I noticed it more yesterday than today, but my calves are sore and gripey, and they are not happy with me for dragging their pitful selves out of bed and down here first thing in the morning.

Thing is, though.. I really TRIED to sleep in today.  Usually the kids are up and attacking us in our bed by 7:00, but last night I actually got them into bed at a decent hour, and apparently the after-effects of having stayed up until midnight on New Year’s Eve finally kicked in.  They didn’t wake up until closer to 8:30 today.  So I could have slept in… I tried to sleep in.  But once I woke up, I was awake and there was nothing I could do about it.

As much as my calves ache right now, I find myself feeling restless if I try to just sit.  I don’t know if my body has just craved exercise for so long that it can’t get enough of it now or what, but apparently my brain is deciding now that if I’m doing computer work, I’m supposed to be walking.  Yesterday I walked a good two hours in the morning, then came BACK DOWN HERE and walked again in the evening.  Why, I don’t know… I wasn’t actively trying to prove anything.  I mean, I would really like to lose weight this week, but there’s no point in losing weight if you’re dead, so…

Of course, what I’m doing is not what anyone might call ‘strenuous’ either.  Walking at 2.0 mph on a 2% incline isn’t exactly aerobic.  I’m sure my heart rate goes up some, but it’s not as if I even break a sweat while doing this.  I guess I’ll be fine.

The best thing about working out on fasting days, I’ve discovered, is that if I do work in a two hour walk, by the time I’m done it’s almost lunchtime and I can start thinking about my next little veggie meal.

Today is not a fasting day, though. I swapped things out to accommodate New Years’, so I’m eating today and fasting tomorrow.  Right now I have about three cups’ worth of whole grain, homemade Chex Mix upstairs just calling my name, and I’m actively debating what to do about that.  I don’t know how many points are in there, but I’m betting it’s something like 12.  The actual recipe claims that 1/2 cup of the stuff is about two points, but this is assuming that A) you’ve mixed in assorted mixed nuts and cheese crackers, which I have not, and B) that you used butter as the fat source, and I did not.  Not that swapping out Peanut oil for butter will necessarily affect the caloric content; it just might impact the fat grams.

Decisions, decisions.  This is why Eating days/Up days/On Days are so darned stressful.  So much easier to just be able to say, “Well, no.. I can’t have that.  I’m not eating today.”  Michelle says, “I sometimes think if I could just quit food cold turkey, it’d be easier.”  Yeah, no joke.  An alcoholic who HAS to drink a martini every day just to stay alive is going to struggle every day.

I am also, by the way, suffering from that peculiar sore throat that has been plaguing me all winter.  For me to suffer from colds and whatnot at this time of year is hardly unusual, but this does seem to be more than I’d normally expect.  The kids are coughing and complaining more than usual too, so I don’t know if I can lay the blame for this on the extra stress I’m placing on my body by dieting and exercising, or if it’s just a bad year for this sort of thing.    At least it’s nothing debilitating, I guess.  A sore throat in the morning, a runny nose.  That’s about it.

My plan today is to eat a light breakfast (I had a banana before coming down here.  When I’m done I’ll decide if I need more.) and soup for lunch.  Dinner will be this apricot chicken recipe Pangie gave me.   It’s nice, as I keep saying, to have my meals planned like that.  It takes some of the stress out of it, and reduces my temptation to overindulge.  If I do that, though, I think I could get away with eating some Chex Mix without feeling too guilty.  For heaven’s sake, I’m burning something like 600 calories just walking these days, so I ought to be able to enjoy something extra, right?

OH!  One last thing!  I found a couple of ADF/JUDD blogs.  The one I’ve added to my links list at left is the blog kept by a woman who has been doing ADF for about a year now.  She has gone from something like 155 down to 110 or so, so it took her about a year to get down 40 pounds.  That’s sort of good to know, because I’d expected my weight loss to slow the closer I get to my goal, but I had no idea how much to expect.  Having her experience to refer to helps.

Anyway, following links from her blog, there’s another diet approach out there that I found amusing.  The guy calls it his ‘Fast 5’ diet, and basically all you do is wait until 5:00 pm to eat anything.  From 5-10 pm you can eat whatever you want, but after 10pm you have to stop and go to bed. 😉   Since most of us are awake 10-12 hours a day, I guess it’s like ADF, just all in one day rather than over the course of two days.   I have zero desire to try this, as somehow it strikes me as being even MORE Fad Diety than ADF , but it was interesting to read the eBook about it.

Entry filed under: ADF, Exercise, Successes, Weight Watchers. Tags: , , , , .

Exercise, Day 4: This is not my New Years’ Resolution Exercise, Day 6: Walking Late

6 Comments

  • 1. Melalvai  |  January 2, 2009 at 9:37 am

    That Fast 5 diet sounds like Ramadan. During September, they can’t eat when the sun is in the sky. That means you have to get up before sunrise for breakfast!

    What I think sounds attractive about those kinds of diets (Fast 5 or ADF or JUDD) is that they eliminate the tedious calorie counting and simplify dieting.

  • 2. Pangie  |  January 2, 2009 at 9:45 am

    I’m definitely with Mel in that I don’t like calorie counting. What’s weird though is that I get really hung up on all the *other* numbers involved with food. How’s my Iron intake? Did I get enough phosphorus today? So I end up tracking calories anyway when I enter my foods to check these numbers.

  • 3. Pangie  |  January 2, 2009 at 10:18 am

    Oh, and: Credit where it’s due! The Apricot Chicken recipe came from Mandee. I just typed it up and calculated the nutrients in it. 🙂

  • 4. Jennifer  |  January 2, 2009 at 3:14 pm

    Yeah, come to think of it, it does.

    I wonder how Ramadan is handled by Muslims at different parts of the globe. Like, if a Muslim was at the South Pole during Ramadan, would he only be able to eat for two hours a day? At the North Pole, would a Muslim have to fast much at all?

    I don’t mean to sound glib about this. I’m genuinely curious. The point is obviously to fast out of reverence to Allah, but human nature being what it is, I wonder if they simply modify the ‘after sundown’ rule for those locales where it wouldn’t be ‘half the day’ or what.

  • 5. Feaelin  |  January 3, 2009 at 9:19 am

    It doesn’t take a great deal of walking to make a difference. Melalvai and I were/are doing about 30minutes/day, on a relatively flat sidewalk, and I could feel the difference. If you’re walking the whole time you’re coding/writing, I could see that becoming a big difference.

    Is the table height right for ergonomic concerns? I’d make sure of that if you’re going to be doing this regularly.

  • 6. Jennifer  |  January 3, 2009 at 12:53 pm

    It’s about as high as a desk would be while seated. At any rate, I don’t feel uncomfortable at all in the neck/shoulder/back region. It’s only my legs.

    I’m actually looking forward to Andy’s return to school. 😉 I resent having to share the treadmill now.


Recent Posts

Check it out!

  • 9,474 people are watching me!

