Exercise, Day 8: Quinoa

January 5, 2009 at 11:02 am 7 comments

Okay, last night I tried quinoa for the first time.  This lovely little grain is apparently Gillian McKeith’s absolute favorite thing, because it seems like every week she’s pushing quinoa at the poor suckers (blokes?) she attacks on You Are What You Eat.  As tenuous as my affection for ‘Dr’ Gillian McKeith has become of late, quinoa blends rule the Organic/Health Food section at my local supermarket too, so I decided to try some last night.

It was REALLY good.  As I said yesterday, I was leery of the blend I bought because it bragged up its cilantro, which is normally not a plus for me.  Fortunately, the cilantro flavor was mild, and I had two helpings and could easily have eaten more.

So I looked up Quinoa to see what it was about it that made it such a darling of the Health Food circuit.  Here’s what they’re saying about it:

  • It’s apparently pronounced KEEN-wah, although ‘kwinn-OH-ah’ is becoming more acceptable these days.
  • Since the plant from which it comes is not technically a grass, botanically it cannot be considered a ‘cereal’.  It is therefore a ‘pseudocereal’, which describes any seed from non-grass plants that tends to be more grainlike than seedlike or nutlike.
  • It prefers to grow in areas of at least 9,000 feet above sea level.
  • The Incas of Peru regarded the Quinoa as a sacred food.
  • Jews consider Quinoa to be kosher, provided it has been prepared properly.
  • Nutritionally, Quinoa contains 12-18% protein, and it has a surprisingly high amount of lysine (which rice and wheat tend to lack).  Ergo: it is a source of ‘whole protein’, like soy.
  • Quinoa is also reportedly high in fiber, magnesium. phosphorus and iron.
  • Because Quinoa is not a grain, it is gluten-free, and therefore an alternative to wheat for those with Crohn’s or wheat sensitivities.

Sounds like it could be the next Nature’s Perfect Food, especially since Soy is coming under such fire for its estrogen-like compounds and the potential pitfalls it can cause because of them. I still love my edamame, though. 😉  I probably ought to try and develop a greater love of beans in general, to be honest.

Well, after my stellar week last week, I wonder if I will be able to sustain the walking regimen I started for myself then.   Andy obviously returned to school this week, which means my time is far less my own now.  Right now I have the kids down here playing with GeoTrax and painting with watercolors, so they’re staying pretty busy.  But whether such pursuits will keep them occupied all week remains to be seen.

Friday should be interesting too.  I’m taking the kids to the Daniel Boone Home to back up part of Zack’s Social Studies curriculum (which recently discussed Daniel Boone).  There’s a lot of walking involved there too, because they have an entire frontier village there now, comprised of actual frontier-age buildings they have transported in from various places around the country.  I wonder if I should just count that rather than treadmilling too.  I don’t think I have time to fit in both. :/

Fasting day today.  I’ve had a banana so far, and I’ve stocked up on my Health Blends again.  SnS jacked up the price from 10 for $10 to 6 for $10 this week, which ticks me off.  Law of supply and demand, I guess, but still annoying.  I was so tickled to be getting them for $1.00 each.  Oh well.

Back to the grind.

Entry filed under: Exercise, Successes. Tags: , , , , , .

Week 1 Weigh In Exercise, Day 9: New Books!

7 Comments

  • 1. Melalvai  |  January 5, 2009 at 11:53 am

    Do you have a pedometer? If you have to cut your treadmilling because you walked all over a museum, you’ll know at the end of the day if you actually walked more than normal, about the same or a little less by the step counts on the pedometer.

  • 2. 21daystome  |  January 5, 2009 at 1:21 pm

    In response to Mel’s comment.. again.. I highly recommend the Nike plus as a pedometer. http://nikeplus.nike.com/nikeplus/?locale=en_us I think you’d really dig the stats it gives you.

  • 3. Jennifer  |  January 5, 2009 at 2:34 pm

    I have so many pedometers I’ve bought through the years, and I have NO IDEA where any of them are now. Fortunately, they’re pretty cheap, so if I have to break down and buy one, it’s probably not going to cost too terribly much.

    ‘Course I wrote this before checking the price of the Nike Plus, and wow… As wonderful as it sounds, I don’t think I’ll be swinging that this time of year. :/

  • 4. Feaelin  |  January 5, 2009 at 6:45 pm

    Where is the actual content on that site? I couldn’t actually find the product, or a feature list buried in all the flash.

    I suspect pedometers are like any other technology…you can get the basic function for nothing, but they’ll value-add you into spending millions on a tiny piece of circuitry…;)

  • 5. Jennifer  |  January 6, 2009 at 9:16 am

    Heh. You can see the features list there, but I went to eBay and Google to get an idea of price.

    It sounds like a ‘basic’ (?) model runs about $30, but can cost as much as $50+. Quite an investment, even as nice as it sounds like it is.

  • 6. Amanda  |  January 6, 2009 at 9:46 am

    I didn’t know there was anything more than the ‘basic’. Mine was $29.99 and yes, it’s a bit spendy but I have used it so much that it’s been entirely worth it to me. It might not fit what you want, though. I just liked it because it was such a good trainer device. Once the sidewalks are clear enough, I’ll hit the roads again with it. 🙂

  • 7. Pangie  |  January 6, 2009 at 3:21 pm

    Amanda: So, we can go jogging in June? 😉


Recent Posts

Check it out!

  • 9,474 people are watching me!

