Week 1 Weigh In

January 5, 2009 at 9:00 am 8 comments

Okay…. drum roll please..

To recap:

Starting Weight Overall:  241 (Wii Fit), 245 (Bathroom Scale)

Last Week:  224 (Wii Fit), 226 (Bathroom Scale)

This Week: 220.5 (Wii Fit), 222 (Bathroom Scale)

Uh…..  I guess I didn’t need to worry about the weigh-in after all.  4 POUNDS!!!!?!  (Well, okay..the Wii Fit says 3.5, but STILL!)

I am blown away.  I had to step off of the bathroom scale, re-tare it, and step on again.  I did that at least twice, then went to do the Wii Fit because I was convinced the stupid thing must be broken.  But no… the Wii Fit concurred.  There’s been a significant loss here.

Wow.  And you know the best part?  If I lose two pounds this week, I’ll be at my 10% Goal!

I am going to walk like crazy this week, I swear.  And I guess I have renewed faith in Dr. Johnson’s claims that overeating on the Up Days doesn’t necessarily slow weight loss.  Not that this means I intend to pig out this week the way I did last week, but at least I don’t have to feel like such a failure about it if something comes up and I do.

Woot!

Entry filed under: Exercise, Successes. Tags: , , , , .

Exercise, Day 7: Sweating the Weigh-In Exercise, Day 8: Quinoa

8 Comments

  • 1. Pangie  |  January 5, 2009 at 9:16 am

    That is so awesome! It’s amazing what even a little bit of exercise will do for you.

  • 2. Pangie  |  January 5, 2009 at 9:16 am

    Not to imply that what you’re doing isn’t a lot. I meant more like *light* exercise. 🙂

  • 3. Jennifer  |  January 5, 2009 at 11:05 am

    *laugh* No, I don’t think I’m doing anything excessive. 😉 So no offense taken.

    According to my treadmill, though, I just worked off 554 calories by walking at 2.0 mph at 2%-3% incline. I’m wondering why this is so far off of what Fe’s research showed, and whether the incline makes that much of a difference.

  • 4. Melalvai  |  January 5, 2009 at 11:45 am

    The charts of X min of Y exercise burn Z calories are averages for all humans. Probably the charts he found don’t take into account incline, but maybe he found one that does.

    Even so, the treadmill estimate and the charts, whether in agreement or not, may yet be wildly inaccurate for an individual human.

    I’ve heard so many anecdotes and research that show that walking makes a substantial difference. Not only do you burn calories, but you build muscle. It doesn’t feel like it because we associate muscle building with sore muscles. If we’re not hurting, we must not be building muscle.

    Walking builds the most important muscles: heart, lungs, arterial, as well as improving core strength, and yes, some leg muscle. The improved fitness makes you more active in your daily life, so you go ahead and sweep tonight instead of leaving it for tomorrow (or in my case, next week), or put an item on its shelf instead of pushing it to the side of the counter.

    Stronger muscles burn more calories at rest. (Not that a heart muscle is ever at rest, but sometimes it beats slower than other times.)

    I just love that you saw such a pronounced effect. I will now add you to my collection of exercise-is-awesome stories. 😉

    I’m curious if you’ll start having charlie horses now. I had the worst muscle cramps at night, during the year or so that I was biking & losing weight. I increased my calcium and potassium like mad, stretched all the time, and it didn’t make any difference until the weight loss stopped.

  • 5. Jennifer  |  January 5, 2009 at 2:28 pm

    Ugh… Charlie horses. I used to get those something fierce when I was pregnant.

    However, that said… I’ve been consuming bananas like crazy lately, so I think my potassium is pretty high. I wish I could say the same for my calcium (since I detest milk), but I’ve been eating a lot more ‘leafy vegetables’ lately, so maybe I’m okay there too. Calcium is usually the dietary supplement that makes me nauseous when I take it in vitamin form, so I always struggle with that.

  • 6. 21daystome  |  January 5, 2009 at 2:36 pm

    Have you tried Viactiv calcium chews? They’re little bits of chocolate. Oh, but you don’t like chocolate much. They do have carmel-flavoured, too. They also have vanilla flavorguides. Whatever that is. It sounds like it’s a vanilla coating to make the pill easier to swallow?

    “The chocolate coating makes it go down easier..” ~Miracle Max

  • 7. 21daystome  |  January 5, 2009 at 2:37 pm

    Also, CONGRATS on the weight loss. That is just so awesome! 🙂 Over 20 pounds now no matter how you slice and dice it. Way to go!

  • 8. melalvai  |  January 5, 2009 at 6:03 pm

    Yeah, they were exactly like the charlie horses when I was pregnant. No amount of supplements or stretching prevented them then either.


Recent Posts

Check it out!

  • 9,469 people are watching me!

