Exercise, Day 12: Walking Late Again

January 9, 2009 at 4:23 pm 3 comments

Just a note to everyone out there: if you go to the Daniel Boone Home historic site and you’re hoping to get some walking in because, you know, they have a whole village there, and because, you know, it’s a beautiful day and all, just let me assure you right now not to even bother.   The policies there have changed such that they only permit visitors to even walk into/around the Village as part of a private tour, and apparently during the winter they don’t have enough staff on hand to accommodate tours through the house AND the village.

That would have been a nice thing to have posted on, you know, their WEBSITE, but of course they didn’t bother to say anything.  I mean, we had to go anyway, as part of a Home Life project for Zack’s class, but I wouldn’t have counted on that for my exercise if I’d realized.

So… I am walking late today, and hoping to get in at least 90 minutes of walking before I need to step off and go do something else. :/

I will say, though, that my Down Days (I figure it’s high time I settle on a term for them) are once again manageable to the point of being downright preferable.  I feel hungry, but it’s not bad.  In fact, I once again find myself worrying that it doesn’t bother me ENOUGH, but at this point I think I’ll dispense with the fretting and just be glad of it.

In a lot of ways, this week has been a huge bolster to my self esteem, come to think of it.  I have a lot to be grateful for.  I lost four pounds at the week’s beginning, I have friends reassuring me that I’m cute even when I’m overweight (:D), and yesterday I found out that a bunch of my friends chipped in to get me a Mom’s Escape Day at a local spa!  FOUR HOURS of pampering, including a massage, hair styling, facial, make-up, and even flowers and lunch!   I’ve already thanked them via Thank-You card and LJ, but I still feel like I haven’t thanked them enough — especially Pangie, who spearheaded the whole thing, and Napthalia and Paxa, who helped her.   So, I will thank them here too.  THANK YOU!!!

I’m being scolded by Paxa for considering using the Spay Day as a weight-loss reward, as the idea was not to make me do something additional to ‘earn’ it.  It’s supposed to be just for me because I’m me and they love me, which I certainly understand and appreciate.  On the other hand, I’ve not exactly done the Spa thing very much, and I think I’d go in more confident if I could go in at a semi-reasonable weight.  Therefore, I have decided to use it either in early June or when I hit 180, whenever comes first.  That way, if I take until June, Andy will be home from school and I will have the weekdays to use if necessary without needing a sitter.  I figure if I hit 180 before that, I’ll  REALLY DESERVE to be able to hire a sitter and take a morning all to myself. 😉

Why 180?  Pangie and Melalvai asked me this, and I wasn’t entirely sure why I’d hit on that amount specifically.   I think, as I told them at the time, my logic was simply that at 180, I would be a size XL/L, which would mean I’d have realized at least one big part of my goal: to get away with shopping where NORMAL PEOPLE shop, rather than in the Women’s/Plus section.  Melalvai also pointed out that at 180 for people our height (as Pangie, Mel and I are all the same height), the Wii Fit transitions you from Obese to Overweight.  It seems all the more fitting a goal now that I realize that.

Wow… I’m almost done with my second week here.  That’s cool. 😉

Entry filed under: Exercise, Successes. Tags: , , , , , .

Exercise Day 11: First Impressions are Everything Exercise, Day 13: I’m Doing Science (And I’m Still Alive)

3 Comments

  • 1. Pangie  |  January 10, 2009 at 9:01 am

    It’s supposed to be just for me because I’m me and they love me, which I certainly understand

    And she’s so modest, too! 😉

  • 2. Jennifer  |  January 10, 2009 at 9:04 am

    *sheepish* Well, that’s what Paxa said, I mean. I promise I was not sitting around the house on Monday thinking, “I am such a great person. My friends should totally do something incredible for me just because I am THAT fabulous!” 😉

    Anyway, I meant that I understand that that’s the PURPOSE, not that I can understand why y’all love me. 😉

  • 3. melalvai  |  January 10, 2009 at 8:00 pm

    I’ve noticed it’s easy to write novels about bad times and rough days, yet difficult to find anything interesting to say about good days. Actually I noticed that about bike rides first. Getting lost, running out of food or water, crashing, getting caught in a thunderstorm, are fun to tell about. A pleasant, sunny 30 miles with good company is fun to do.

    So I’m glad you can make a good day interesting. Happy day!


Recent Posts

Check it out!

  • 9,474 people are watching me!

