Exercise, Day 13: I’m Doing Science (And I’m Still Alive)

January 10, 2009 at 6:40 pm 5 comments

Walking late again today.  The boys’ school semester ends on Tuesday night at midnight, when apparently all of their 1st semester lessons will lock up never to be unlocked again, and so we’re doing the mad dash to the end here.  In the last two days we’ve done three Home Life projects in a row, two of which included cooking, so I’ve been really busy today.

However, here I am, a-walkin’.  I’m actually an hour in at this point, and I’m trying to make myself walk a full 100 minutes before I take a break.  Only problem is that I’m really thirsty and, like a doofus, I didn’t remember to bring a glass of ice water down with me.  You’d think I hadn’t been doing this for nearly two weeks.  Yeesh.

Maybe I’ll just send one of the boys up to get me one.

Anyway… Pangie is asking me to do an experiment with (I assume) next week.  I’m thinking I’ll go ahead and take her up on it, actually.  She just wants me to take a week and actually weigh every day, just to see how much my weight fluctuates day to day, and whether it truly is lowest after Down Days as opposed to after Up Days.  The worry here is that I will find the day-to-day thing discouraging, as a dieter’s weight does fluctuate quite a bit over the course of a week… But the truth is, I have not been a good WW-ite.  I have broken down and checked my weight during the midweek nearly every week for the past month or so, and frankly I’ve only occasionally come away pleased when I do that.  More often than not, the weight I see is higher than I want, and I then spend the next three or four days, whatever’s left of that week, overthinking and stressing over the upcoming weight check.   That being the case, finding out exactly what the pattern is day to day might actually be reassuring.  If I’m going to cheat anyway, I might as well find out whether it’s worth freaking out over or not.

I made the Beef Stew With Winter Root Vegetables from the Bob Greene Best Life Diet Cookbook today.  It was truly an exercise in exploring new territory, as I can safely say I have never ever prepared a turnip, a parsnip or a rutabega for anything before.   I was surprised to find that all three were coated in a generous shell of parafin wax.  Made peeling them kind of messy, but I guess I understand why they would be coated like that.  Probably keeps them fresher.

Anyway, the stew itself turned out rather odd.  The recipe called for red wine, and I think the one I chose was too sweet.  Moreover, fresh rosemary has a scent to it that is oddly remniscient of nutmeg, so on the whole the stew smelled like…  pie.  And I don’t know about you, but the idea of pie-flavored beef stew isn’t terribly appetizing to ME.

Tastewise, it wasn’t too bad.  When things are stewed the flavors get sort of muddled together anyway, and the root vegetables mostly could have been potatoes for all the flavor they had.  There was a faint taste of something ‘a little different’ though, and I couldn’t quite decide whether it was bad-different or whether I was just reacting to the pie smell. 😉  Kind of hard to know.

At any rate, I didn’t make my family eat any.  I knew going in that this would be an experiment, and they’ve dealt with enough from me this week, I think, that I didn’t think it was quite fair to force this on them too.  Instead, we made homemade pizza for dinner tonight.  Whole wheat crusts made with olive oil, granted, but pizza nonetheless… with lots of cheese and pepperoni.  I’m apparently switching sides more completely than I thought, though, because one piece was more than enough for me.  Bleh.

I’ve moved my walking speed up to 2.5 mph now, and nudged the elevation up to 3.5%.  2.5 is pretty doable, really… I still find 3.0 mph to be too fast for comfortable typing, but maybe if I can nudge up to it gradually I might be able to get there.  Walking at speeds greater than 3.0 MPH presumably earns one more Activity Points on WW, although considering I currently have something like 43 activity points racked up for the week and I’ve barely touched my weekly points, I’m not sure that’s really all that high a priority.

I am noticing subtle changes in my body, by the way. I don’t think they’re changes anyone who isn’t me would notice, especially given that it’s winter and most of me is covered with bulky warm clothes most of the time… But I am noticing muscle definition in my calves that wasn’t there before, for example.   My belly isn’t as big as it was, either; I notice that because like most women who have birthed children, my tummy tends to sag.  The sagginess isn’t nearly as bad now as it was, though, and that’s seriously saying something.  I will never get to the point where I can pull off a bikini, but if this keeps up I might be able to wear a one-piece suit without demanding that any and all cameras be removed to outside a 2-mile radius.

This is where I should have taken Michelle’s advice and done measurements when I started.  It never was that I didn’t want to, actually; it’s just that I have no idea where my cloth tape measure is, and I’m not exactly sure how to do it. 😉  I remember the trainer taking my measurements at the gym that one time, but I failed to take note. 😉  Oh well.  If I find my cloth tape I’ll look online and see what I can find out.

Whew.  150 minutes today.  2.5 hours.  Have I ever mentioned how much I love my Terrible Table? 🙂  Pangie is a genius!

Entry filed under: ADF, Exercise, Weight Watchers.

Exercise, Day 12: Walking Late Again Exercise, Day 14: It’s in the Jeans…

5 Comments

  • 1. Pangie  |  January 11, 2009 at 4:56 pm

    I am, aren’t I? 😉

    I’m so happy to hear it’s working so much for you! 😀

    And than you for doing the test for me. I am very interested to hear how it comes out!

  • 2. melalvai  |  January 11, 2009 at 7:40 pm

    What I have noticed about weighing in every day is that you discover a range of weights with a high and a low. My range, when I’m not being careful about food, is about 5 pounds. When you first start weighing in you discover your high. Maybe it is your Day 1 weight but it could easily be your Day 5 weight. You also discover your low. If you are losing weight, you hit new lows every few days. In between you go up, but rarely hit your high.

    The nice thing about the Wii is that you can look at your graph and see that, while you are up slightly from yesterday, you are down from two days ago, and in lower than you were the rest of the week. Then you expand the graph and see this lovely spread of dots neatly scattered around an imaginary downward sloping line. That is really beautiful, much better than a series of dots connected by a line.

    Anyway, I hope the daily weighing thing doesn’t discourage you! I look forward to hearing the results. If you do weigh more after eating days than after fasting days, remember it’s water retention because of salt intake, not fat. Did you do that phys lab where you had to pee in a beaker?

  • 3. Feaelin  |  January 11, 2009 at 7:41 pm

    Daily weighing gives you a fair bit of up and down, but then you’re able to see trending data if you do it long enough. A piece of software I used to use wanted daily recordings, but the weight it considered for calculations was based on trending calculation across the last twenty weigh ins. That’s right…no real data until after twenty days. Interestingly close to a 21 day cycle. 🙂

  • 4. Jennifer  |  January 12, 2009 at 12:12 am

    I seem to recall that one, yes. Dr. Tomasi seemed to do that one just to see our reactions to the instructions, I think. 😉 I’ll be weighing in on both the scale and the Wii Fit, so hopefully I’ll be able to see my little scatterplot doing its downward trend at the end of the week.

    Ha.. 20 days. That makes me smile. 🙂

  • 5. Wendy  |  January 12, 2009 at 1:05 pm

    I took measurements when I was losing through a divorce, I did the natural waist, just above the belly button for most women, the hips and the butt, just do the widest point. Mid thigh, calf at the widest, upper arm, chest under the breast and your breast at the widest point without a bra.

    It was interesting to see how much it changed. Since you are already losing, it won’t matter, just note that you have already lost XX lbs when measuring, don’t forget to date it also. I was measuring about once a month.

    Typically you will lose one dress size for about every 10-12 lbs you lose.


Recent Posts

Check it out!

  • 9,474 people are watching me!

