Exercise, Day 15: 10% down, 10% to go. WWYD?

January 12, 2009 at 4:24 pm 3 comments

Okay.. so.  I have achieved my first big WW milestone.  I have lost 10% of what I weighed in November.  24.5 pounds, so we’ll round up and say 25.  Just for the sake of perspective, I started looking around online for things that weigh about 25 pounds.  Here’s a list of things I am not carrying around anymore:

  • A typical male Shiba Inu (like Griffin)
  • Three gallon jugs of milk.
  • 5 standard bags of sugar.
  • 15 round boxes of salt
  • 12 1/2 dozen extra large eggs

It occurs to me at this point that perhaps conveying this weight in terms of food is probably a bad idea, especially since it’s a Down Day here. 😉  So let’s move on.

My next goal, apparently, is to lose 10% again. 😉  This means I now need to lose 22 pounds, which will put me at roughly 198.  As I said in my Weight Check post, the most important thing to me now is to get rid of that forerunning ‘2’ in my weight.  It’s kind of like the perceived difference between being age 19 and being age 20.  The perceived difference between being able to say I weigh 198 and being able to say I weigh 200 is somehow huge.  So.  198 it is.

And really, from there the next goal would be to lose 19.8 pounds, which would be shooting for just below 180.  That was a goal point already!  😉  So it works.

Okay, here’s a problem I’m facing:

For the first time since my big braggadocio moment in November, I am facing another Bunco night.  As proud as I was of myself for surviving Bunco night back then, I resolved then that asking myself to make the same sacrifice again was asking too much, and so I wouldn’t do it the next time.  After all, that was the whole point of doing the ADF thing only MWF; so that social engagements wouldn’t be an issue.

So… simple, right? Just switch Saturday with Friday and all will be well. But no… see.. Saturday, as it happens, I have a wedding to attend.  And it will be a full-blown affair with a big dinner reception and the whole nine yards.   I can’t just not eat there.  I mean, okay..I COULD.. but gah..how much torture can I put myself through?

As if this isn’t complication enough, I also have made plans with Wendy to meet up at the mall on Monday and then come back here for lunch. It’s Presidents’ day, so the kids don’t have classes scheduled.   When we made these plans, I failed to take into account the whole weekend’s plans and just decided I would fast on Sunday and eat Monday.  Sort of pre-empt the social engagement thing, see?

But if I decide to eat Thursday, and eat Friday, AND eat Saturday, and then fast Sunday… what I’m effectively doing is reliving Christmas.  I just don’t want to do that.  I’ve hit my 10%, I’d really like to stay below it.  I probably will, but somehow the idea of three Up days in a row just bothers me.

Here’s what I’m thinking:

I could just.. you know..put on my big girl panties and deal with Bunco.  It’s a ladies’ night thing, and if anyone asks I can just explain about the wedding.  Most of the girls who come are church pals and stuff, so they’ll understand.   Then I’ll eat on Saturday like normal, then have a Down-Day on Sunday like I planned.  Eat Monday, Eat Tuesday, then everything will be back on schedule.

I guess the one upshot of doing this is that my Monday weigh-in will probably look really low, since I’ll be weighing in after a Down Day.  On the other hand, it sort of disrupts the whole Pangie Test thing, since the week will not be 100% ‘typical’.   Oh well… I’ll just continue as if it doesn’t matter, because it’s just a ‘let’s see what happens’ thing anyway.   Assuming it’s not discouraging, I can always do it again on a week that isn’t wrought with all of these social obligations.

Entry filed under: Exercise, Successes. Tags: , , , , .

Weigh In: Week 2 Daily Weigh-In, Day 2

3 Comments

  • 1. melalvai  |  January 12, 2009 at 6:25 pm

    That’s a tough one. I guess I’d vote for reliving Bunco torture.

  • 2. Wendy  |  January 12, 2009 at 7:36 pm

    We can change our date if it makes it easier!! YEAH on the goal!! 🙂

  • 3. Jennifer  |  January 13, 2009 at 5:35 pm

    Nah… The wedding/Bunco configuration was a bigger wrench in the works than lunch with you. 🙂 Monday should be fine.

    Did we decide on a time to meet? Morning works best for me, just because of cranky toddlers and naptime, but it occurred to me today that I don’t have a time marked down.


Recent Posts

Check it out!

  • 9,469 people are watching me!

