Exercise+, Day 2: Lost, One Mojo

January 20, 2009 at 9:56 pm 2 comments

This cycle is not starting out so well.  I’m feeling discouraged tonight.

And I don’t really have any reason to, to be honest.  I walked 180 minutes total today, and the boys are done with school.  I worked some more on my business stuff.   All told, I’m doing everything I said I would.

But I think I do know why I feel like this.  I didn’t journal my food today.  Or yesterday, to be honest.   Yesterday I was just too busy to keep careful track, and by the time I did have the computer in front of me, I was tired and kind of in a ‘to heck with it’ mood.  It didn’t help that I didn’t eat particularly healthily either; not that that really ought to matter that much, as I didn’t go completely insane or anything, but frankly it’s still no fun copping to that…  Heck, if I can persuade myself there’s no need, then why bother?

And today, I think I was still riding on the same attitude.  Again, I didn’t do badly today at all — better than yesterday, I know that much — but I still didn’t journal and I think just the sense of having failed myself in that one small way is having this big effect on my motivation.  I’m just not able to take the same amount of pride in what I’m doing if I’m screwing up part of it, I guess.

So… tonight I am going to go back and backjournal everything I can remember.  And then I’m going to resolve to stay on top of that from now on.   It’s kind of lame and silly, but I think I’ll feel better doing that than I would just saying, “I’ll just be sure to journal from now on.”   The person in me that wants to have OCD just wants all the gaps filled in, I guess.

I want to get my hair cut and highlighted again soon.  It’s expensive, but I feel SO MUCH BETTER when I do it.  There’s just something about feeling like you have cute hair.  It’s almost better than cute clothes! (Not much better, but almost!)  Kate has given me the number of a girl who works out of her house, and Kate says she’s fabulous.   Maybe I’ll call her tomorrow.

That sweater I mentioned a few weeks ago?  I got it out of the closet today and looked at it.  It’s marked 18/20.  It’s also wool, so I can’t say for sure it hasn’t shrunk, but I figure if I could hit 14/16, it’d look cute on me again. 😉  Maybe next Fall.

I also updated my So Far.. page tonight, and realized that this 21-day run will take me into February.  I have averaged 10 pounds per 21-day run so far, and the next 10% mark for me will fall at 198, and the goal was to hit it by March 17th.  16 pounds in seven weeks? That actually seems pretty doable right now.  I mean, I know I should expect my weight loss to slow down here, but so far it’s going down fairly reliably.  Of course, that’s probably because I’ve been adding in exercise and whatnot, so unless I want to get to the point where I’m exercising for six or seven hours a day, I can probably still expect a slowdown here soon.  Still, it’d be awfully nice if it stayed this way for awhile longer. 😉

Tomorrow’s a fasting day.  I’m sort of looking forward to it.

Entry filed under: Exercise, Successes, Work/School. Tags: , , , , , , .

Exercise+, Day 1: Lame Labels Exercise+, Day 3: Chasing my Motivation

2 Comments

  • 1. melalvai  |  January 21, 2009 at 6:54 pm

    I’m curious if you’ve factored failures into your 21-day cycle. You’ve had 3 successful cycles so far. If you hit one where things just don’t work out on one front or another, do you need us to point out to you (possibly with a hammer) “Hey, you had # successes” or “This cycle wasn’t a complete washout, you kept up with A, B, C, F, and H habits even if you dropped the ball on D and G.”? And there’s always the re-start, if you’re at say Day 5 and things go Chernobyl in your life.

    I’m not saying I don’t believe in you or setting you up for failure…just want you to be prepared…good luck with the mojo! 😀 Nell’s code phrase “I need motivation” means “I need candy to get me through this homework” but that doesn’t really help you so much.

  • 2. Jennifer  |  January 24, 2009 at 1:47 am

    Failures are just something the jury remains out on, because I really have not, thus far, had to deal with them. I’m glad of that, because maintaining that record becomes an end unto itself…as evidenced by my stoic determination to walk tonight even though I absolutely positively did NOT want to.

    Reading back through this week, I am clearly DEPRESSED about something. Exactly what, though, I don’t know. I don’t go through this sort of thing enough to have a good strategy in place for dealing with it, and I’ve sure not come up with a strategy for it within the realm of my 21-day plan.

    Basically, I think, if I fail, I start over. The whole idea is to create a habit by doing something 21 times in a row, after all, so failing should require that I go back to the beginning and start over. And maybe, just maybe, I’m due for a break… but I’m not sure I like that idea, because how, exactly, would a break help me? I don’t know. :/


Recent Posts

Check it out!

  • 9,474 people are watching me!

