Exercise, Day 10: Noteworthy things

January 28, 2009 at 11:20 pm 5 comments

So I’m walking late again, but I have my excuses all lined up.  Last night the heavens delivered, a day late, all of the snow promised earier, so we had ANOTHER snow day today.  Main difference between and yesterday, of course, is that today there was actually snow.   A snow day with snow is a nice thing.

As per tradition, we bundled up the kids and hustled them off to my parents’ house to meet up with friends and family so we could sled down their front hill.  It’s perfect for sledding — steep enough and long enough to make sledding fast and fun, but without being so steep or so long that the Upward Trudge is agonizing.  As an added bonus Mom and Dad’s house offers the fun features of a microwave (and thus the potential for hot chocolate) and an outdoor firepit (which enables us to stay out and play longer).  It’s really awesome, except that it snows here so rarely that we don’t often get to make use of it.

So…we sledded for FOUR HOURS today.  Anna and her family joined us, so did Christine and her family.  It was a blast!

And the best part?  Today was a Down Day… I didn’t eat anything for breakfast, had about three baby carrots for lunch, and then the Weight Management Health Blend for dinner.  The whole day, I consumed only 3 points, according to Weight Watchers.

This wasn’t intentional, but I’d been thinking about doing it, actually.  Or something along those lines.  I wanted to take a Down Day and make it as hard on myself as possible, if only to shake myself up some.  That probably sounds terrible, but I kind of have the sense that the Down Day regimen I’ve developed has somehow gotten to be too easy.   I know I keep going back and forth on that as I analyze my way around this whole thing, but I do know that psychologically, some of my fortitude is derived from the sense that I’m doing something that’s hard.  When it ceases to BE hard, I think it’s easy for me to get compacent about it, and that’s not good.    Walking for 120 minutes at 2.0 mph on a 5% incline is definitely more of a workout than walking for 60 minutes on a 3% incline, but that’s still not enough of a monumental sacrifice to count, somehow.

But making baked potato soup (quite possibly the yummiest soup In. The. Known. Universe.) for my family on a day when my total food consumption has consisted of three or four baby carrots?  THAT is hard.  THAT is a monumental sacrifice.   Granted, even on an Up Day, I don’t think I should be eating that soup; it’s made of potatoes, milk, cheese, sour cream, ham and chives.  Comfort food to be sure, but wow…it’s all starch and saturated fat!  But that’s why it’s so unbelievably yummy, and it smells as good as it tastes.  So I did it to shake myself out of complacency.  I think it worked.

The other good thing about sledding today is that I’m noticing now that going up steep inclines doesn’t leave me winded anymore.  I was already noticing this on the stairs; I can carry one of the kids up, or a basket of laundry — a chore that previously would have left me winded — and it actually kind of feels good.  It’s like my legs say, “Stairs!  Hey, you know what? We can totally do these!  Let us show you!” and up we go.  It’s amazing how much difference just 30 pounds and a little exercise makes.

I was actually kind of put out yesterday, because I put on a pair of pants expecting them to be too big for me, and they weren’t.  I mean, to be fair:  I was able to get them on and fastened before, when I was 30 pounds heavier.  But it was like the other pair I mentioned, where I’d put them on and they’d be snug to start with, and then loosen up after some time spent walking around.  Now they just aren’t snug to start with.  They’re fine.  They’re even probably a little loose; I can pinch up about two inches of waistband on them, they’re just not falling off of me or anything.  So it’s not that I haven’t made progress.  I have.  I was just sort of hoping to victoriously ditch the jeans entirely, and was bummed when I realized that I can’t justify that yet.

My hydration this week has been terrible.  I really need to get that Camelback bottle…or whatever I’m going to get.

Oh, and I should mention this:  Luke was unusually lethargic and snuggly yesterday.  He didn’t have any fever or any symptoms, but he asked us to hold him and then would just lay on us quietly.  That just really isn’t his MO usually, so we were pretty sure he was coming down with something.

Today I noticed he had a peculiar odor.  At first I thought that perhaps a diaper change had not been as thorough as it ought to have been, but then I realized that the odor was coming from his skin, not his rear end.  There didn’t seem to be anything I could do to make it go away, either.  When we got to Mom’s house, he was starting to feel warm, and so I put him down for a nap.  He did eventually develop a fever of around 101 F, but otherwise he was mostly okay.  He ate well, slept fine, etc.

When we got home that night, Susanna came skipping up to me, cheerfully babbling about the day spent sledding, and for just a second I caught a whiff of that same strange odor… except that this time it was coming from her.   She was fine, though; completely herself, no signs of illness at all.   An hour later, she suddenly flared up with a fever and started throwing up.  As of this writing, she’s thrown up at least five times, and her stomach keeps rebelling despite the fact that it’s completely empty.  Poor Susie…   I have a feeling I’ll be up late with her tonight, but that means I could easily get it too.

If I do, I hope it hits on Friday. :/  That’s my next Down Day.

Entry filed under: Exercise, Successes. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Exercise, Day 9: Forever Young Exercise+, Day 11: Sickness and Superbowl

5 Comments

  • 1. melalvai  |  January 29, 2009 at 7:36 am

    I wonder if adding some strength-building exercise would help get you through this or maybe the next plateau. (Yes, Springfield is on a big plateau. I never noticed either; I was just told it is.) Muscle tissue burns more calories than fat even at rest. Of course it’s not like walking that you can do with your laptop, but it doesn’t require as much time either. The wii has those strength exercises.

  • 2. Jennifer  |  January 29, 2009 at 6:54 pm

    I think you’re right… I really need to make good on my threat to get more Wii Fit into my regimen, but so far the week has been so crazy that there hasn’t been time. :/

    What I need to do is get to bed at a decent hour and then get up and do it early.

  • 3. Amanda  |  January 30, 2009 at 7:00 pm

    Kids smell bad when they’re sick?? This is something I did not know.

  • 4. melalvai  |  January 30, 2009 at 9:11 pm

    Sometimes

  • 5. Jennifer  |  January 31, 2009 at 12:40 am

    Yeah…it’s not an every-illness thing, but some infections create an odor. I’ve heard various theories as to why, but it’s still weird when it happens.


Recent Posts

Check it out!

  • 9,469 people are watching me!

