Exercise+, Day 11: Sickness and Superbowl

January 29, 2009 at 11:56 pm 3 comments

Wow! I made it down here to walk before 10:00!  Go me!

And, I am pleased to report, though this weird illness has claimed four of my six family members to date, both Noah and I are going strong.   As of this writing, I don’t have any symptoms at all, and I’m hoping it stays that way.  Noah is also surprisingly healthy considering he shares a room with Luke.  Granted, Luke sleeps below him on the bunk beds they share, but still.  I would have expected Noah to come down with this before either Susanna or Zack, and yet he’s fine.  I seem to recall Noah getting sick more or less by himself awhile back, so maybe he’s just had this already.

Me?  I blame my uber-healthy habits. 😉  Inside me there are complete Quinoa proteins shaking their spears and rarring at any invaders.  Just try to infect me!  I dare you!  My leukocytes are ready for you!  They have been armed with spinach and red bell peppers and celery and broccoli and quinoa and whole-grain wild rice!  So there!

Of course, just watch…tomorrow I’ll wake up and run for the bathroom. 😉  That would be about right.  And don’t think for an instant that Andy will stay home from work to help out if I do.  No sir.   So God, please do not let this happen to me tomorrow.  If it must happen, let it happen Saturday.  That would be just fine.

I have another Social Obligation coming up, but it doesn’t sound like it will be too bad.   The Superbowl is this Sunday, and as usual we find ourselves juggling the question of where to go and what to do with the kids while we’re there.  There are probably sitters to be bought at a price, but frankly it’s just so much easier to just stay home.  We had offered to let Anna and Jason come over to watch at our house, since Andy has a big-screen TV, but they’ve decided now to stay home instead.  They invited us to THEIR house, but by the time we asked I’d extended the invitation to Yvonne and Peter to come over with their girls as well, so we couldn’t really say yes. 😉  Ah, merry mixups!

But anyway… the point is, I won’t have a big party to attend on Sunday, and that’s good.   That’ll make it easier NOT to snack.  At this point, I don’t even know for sure whether Yvonne and Peter are coming over, so it may even be that we we either go to Anna and Jason’s house, or we just stay home alone.  Either way, I think I’ll do better than we would if we went to either a big thing, or had a ton of people over.   I think I’m mostly over the nervous eating thing now, but I noticed at the Trivia night that I’m starting to do the opposite: eat because I see other people eating.  Interesting shift, but still not good.

I also did a quick check online tonight because someone had commented that it was actually better to exercise at night than it is to exercise in the morning.  I had always heard the opposite, which is why I chastize myself when I put off walking until the end of the day.  A cursory glance around the Internet suggests that the time of day really isn’t all that important compared to whether or NOT you do it.  In other words, don’t not exercise just because you didn’t get it in at X time.

That said, it actually sounds like evening is a good time for it.   One article I found suggested that working out in the evening (3 hours on either side of 6:00 p.m.) takes advantage of the body’s comparative ‘looseness’ at that time of day, since our bodies reach their metabolic peak around 6:00 p.m. on an average day.  The idea here is that you won’t notice your fatigue as much because you’re already ‘warmed up’, and therefore you’re more likely to work out harder and longer than you would if you were doing it first thing in the morning when your body is still ‘cold’.   It isn’t so much the actual time of day that makes the difference, then, but rather our perception of how hard we’re working to accomplish the same amount of calorie burn.

Interesting stuff.  All the same, I do want to start getting to bed by 11:00 p.m. and then make it a goal to get up in the morning and do either the Yoga or Strength exercises (or both…whatever) on the Wii Fit.  That will give me a chance to give my upper body and — more importantly — my core muscles something of a workout in addition to the walking.

Entry filed under: Exercise, Successes. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Exercise, Day 10: Noteworthy things Exercise+, Day 12: Workin’ It In the Eleventh Hour

3 Comments

  • 1. melalvai  |  January 30, 2009 at 5:16 pm

    That is interesting about time of day and exercise. I would have thought it doesn’t matter when you exercise, a calorie burned in the morning or the night is still a calorie burned. It reminds me of what Dave Ramsey says about paying off debt: start with the smallest debt rather than the one with the highest interest, because you’ll get such a thrill out of paying off one debt it’ll give you motivation to pay off the next one.

    Psychology is powerful pstuff.

  • 2. Jennifer  |  January 31, 2009 at 12:54 am

    Yeah… no kidding. Ultimately as I look back through this entire journal, it just underscores right and left why fitness is largely an exercise in mind over matter. :/

  • 3. Michelle  |  February 4, 2009 at 1:20 pm

    I have tried exercising in the morning but it really doesn’t work because I’m too stiff. The dog walk is the best I will do, but we got to where we were walking 3 miles every morning with the dogs.
    The whole thing about doing exercise whenever it feels better is good because you will do more and work harder. Perception is everything, how big your bowl of food is, no matter how many calories, is what makes you feel full. You will only push yourself to a certain extent of discomfort, so if the exercise is less uncomfortable you’ll work a little harder and burn more calories.


Recent Posts

Check it out!

  • 9,474 people are watching me!

