Exercise+, Day 12: Workin’ It In the Eleventh Hour

January 30, 2009 at 11:54 pm 2 comments

Technically, I should probably say I failed today, since I’m finishing up and it’s nearly 1:00 a.m.  However, in my defense I technically DID get 120 minutes of ‘exercise’ in before midnight…  I finally made good on my threat to get up early and do some Wii Fit first thing.  I got in an hour’s worth of workout, but on the whole I wasn’t satisfied with it, so I’m still going to do at least 100 minutes on the treadmill.

I’m such a slave driver!  But I intend to backdate (or at least back-time) this entry, because it’ll bug me to see a day on the calendar that isn’t filled. 😉  Cheater, me.

I got exactly two things out of today’s experience with the Wii Fit.  They are:

1) As much as I want to like Yoga, I don’t.  At least, not yet.  I had resolved to do all of the different poses just once to try them, and quickly found that if any pose involved balancing on one foot for any reason, it was a lost cause.  I do fine with the Warrior Pose, the Sun Salutation, the Triangle, whatever.. But the Tree pose?  Forget it.

and

2)  I’ve discovered that I can touch my toes without straining.  WOOT!

The latter is pretty huge, actually; I am not particularly vain about my hands and fingernails, but I do like to dress up my toes.  I realize how dumb this is, especially given that it’s winter and NO ONE will see them, but I guess I figure I have long since not only resigned myself but also COMMITTED myself to the fact that I will never have long fingernails, so I at least owe it to my toes to be nice to THEM.  Pretty fingernails make typing a pain for me, but pretty toes just look pretty.  My one girly vice, I guess.

At any rate, at my heaviest I pretty much had to abandon my toes.  There was too much leg to work around, too much tummy to work around, and trying to reach my toes made me feel nauseated.  Now, I can reach my toes just fine again, without even straining.  That is a nice victory.

All told, though, it seems I haven’t lost my touch with the Wii Fit despite the fact that I’ve neglected it pretty badly in the last few months.  By far my favorite is still boxing, which makes me think that if I want to work out my upper body, I should look for some activity along those lines.  I don’t know how I would do at Tae Bo, but I think I should at least get some weighted bracelets and use them on the Wii Fit Boxing.  That would give me a little more of an arm workout than just moving the Wiimote and nunchuck in sync with the beat.

Tomorrow — or later today, whatever — is going to be really busy.  We have basketball camp in the morning, Zack’s basketball game at 10:30, and then Pinewood Derby at 1:00.   This is good because running around that much will keep me from having too much time to eat, and that’s always good on a weekend day.  The Wii Fit this morning had me at just over 210, which is pretty good considering it was the morning after an Up Day.  Even so, I’d really like to NOT gain four pounds back again over the next two days, so it would be good to keep my intake moderate.

I do have to confess, though: I’ve been slacking off more and more with the food journaling.  I have been very upset with myself for this, but I think I have decided to stop getting so worked up at myself and just relax.  Like I said, I sort of feel like I’ve split into two somehow, and part of me is very scoldy while the other part is still sulking.  With the kids, there comes a point in a situation like that when the thing to do is to back off and let things chill some, because once the situation has diffused both parties are generally a lot more rational and cooperative.  As insanely dumb as it is to do this with, you know, MYSELF, I do think on some level I needed a break.  And of all of the things I could give up in the name of break-taking, food journalling is the one aspect of my regimen I think I could give up briefly without derailing.

That said, though, even giving up that one thing has communicated to my brain that all bets are now off.  Today was a Down Day, and at several points today I found myself tempted by food and thinking, “I want that.  Can I have it?  Is it an Up Day? No… Oh, wait, I’m not doing that diet thing anymore, right?”  for a brief moment before my saner self snapped me to attention and reminded me that being temporarily excused from my food journal is not the same thing as permitting myself to eat normally on Down Days.   This made today harder, but as I’ve mentioned before now, I sort of like hard days.   I was good, and kept myself to 3/4 cup of cooked Quinoa and one Healthy Weight blend, a total of 5.5 points, or around 300-350 calories.   Tomorrow I will make sure I eat a solid breakfast and try to go easy on myself the rest of the day.

Oh, and so far I’m still not sick.  Luke, of all people, was sick this morning.. but he was over it by mid-afternoon, and seems to be fine now.  Everyone else seems to be fine too, so apparently we’re past that part.  YES!

Off to bed now.  I got in 113 minutes before I decided I was just too tired to go on.  Yes, I know that’s lame.. what’s seven minutes?  But you know, at 1:00 am, seven minutes is just seven minutes too long.  I’m tired.  Goodnight!

Entry filed under: Exercise, Successes. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Exercise+, Day 11: Sickness and Superbowl Exercise+, Day 13: …..Ow.

2 Comments

  • 1. run4change  |  January 31, 2009 at 9:57 am

    HAHAHAHA 🙂 Back dating. That is so like something that I would do.

  • 2. Jennifer  |  February 2, 2009 at 1:17 am

    Hey, we all gotta do what we gotta do, right?


Recent Posts

Check it out!

  • 9,474 people are watching me!

