Exercise+, Day 21: DONE!

February 8, 2009 at 11:43 pm 1 comment

Success!   As of this writing I have officially completed this round!  The ‘Winter Birthday Party’ today ended around 8:30, and I actually got down here by 9:00 to walk.  In the last part of this round, that’s surprisingly early for me, so I’m finished and it’s only 11:00.  I figure I’ll write this entry and then head up to bed and get a jump on next week’s goal of getting to bed by 11:30. 😉

I have had some culinary adventures today.  For one thing, Pangie has been talking forever about Almond Butter (as opposed to Peanut Butter).  Apparently it’s a common alternative to peanut butter for those kids with peanut allergies.   Only problem is, it’s very expensive; we bought a jar of it at the higher-end grocery store here and it cost about $10 for a smallish jar.

Given the cost, the question of making your own nut butters at home has been raised.  I think that I assumed that you’d need some kind of special grinder to make the nut butter smooth enough to spread, as my food processor would probably only make really tiny chunks.  I was mistaken!  Yesterday I was getting parts of the food processor out of the dishwasher, and I happened to have a bag of pecan chunks I’d been using in something else sitting out on the counter.  I decided to just give it a try and see how it turned out, so I loaded up the food processor with the internal blade and dumped in what was left in the bag.

It took probably a minute or two on high, but the pecan butter began forming along the sides and building up.   When it looked like everything in there had been incorporated, I opened it up and tried a little.  It was at least as creamy as the Almond Butter had been, although it didn’t spread very well.  I hadn’t added any additional oil, which is probably why.

Today I made a second batch and this time added about a tablespoon and a half of peanut oil.  I also added about two tablespoons of brown sugar and a half teaspoon of vanilla to give it a ‘praline’ flavor.   It was WONDERFUL.   Probably not something anyone ought to eat, like, every DAY or anything, but it sure tasted good.

I’ve been trying to find information on nuts and nut butters just to figure out how one type compares to another.  The best I’ve found so far is information on individual nuts and what their various groups brag they can do for you.  Almonds seem to be universally acknowledged as the Health Nut of Choice, but Pecans  and Peanuts aren’t too shabby either, though it sounds like commercial roasting tends to undo a lot of the potential good that either might otherwise provide.   I guess this is an argument against commercially prepared peanut butter, but not against peanuts themselves.

But anyway… that was fun, doing that.

The other thing I tried today was an ‘instant Hummus’ I found in the health food section of SnS.  Michelle swears by Hummus, and I know the three female teachers that comprise Andy’s team at school are also huge fans of it.  It seems to be the fashionable veggie dip of choice these days, which I guess is understandable given its highish fiber content and such.  It’s just expensive, and so far I’m not entirely won over on the flavor.

The hummus I bought was, as I said, a kind of ‘instant’ hummus that came in a box.  You just add water and stir.  There was no additional flavoring to it (I’ve seen commercially prepared hummus that is ‘roasted garlic and parmesan’ or ‘sun-dried tomato’ flavored, etc.), so it’s pretty bland, and getting all the lumps out before it set up was a serious challenge.  I’m not sure I’d get it again.

But I’ll give it as much of a shot as can reasonably be expected, all the same. 😉

Tomorrow’s my weigh-in.  I’m going to admit right here and now that I have been uncommonly ‘bad’ this week.  I’ve been good on my Down Days and I’ve done my exercise, but during the Up Days, I didn’t even bother to journal.  I just let myself go and ate whatever I felt like eating.  I kind of made myself adhere to some guidelines: I ate Kashi for breakfast, had a salad at lunchtime, ate whole grain whatevers whenever possible, etc.  But aside from that I did whatever suited me and refused to feel bad about it.

I didn’t, like, consume an entire bag of chips or anything, so I think I probably expect to simply not lose this week.  And I’m okay with that; I feel ready to go back on a reasonable regimen now, and that alone makes it worth it to me that I took the break.

Entry filed under: Exercise, Successes. Tags: , , , .

Exercise+, Day 20: Nearly There Weight Check!

1 Comment

  • 1. melalvai  |  February 9, 2009 at 4:16 pm

    Congratulations on succeeding this cycle, and on the weight loss despite being bad! I wonder if your weight loss will slow down to the 1-2 pound pace. Maybe when there’s a surplus of fat, the body is less reluctant to make use of it, but as you become more trim, your body starts to say “whoa now, let’s keep some in the bank” and tries to siphon off the more energetically expensive muscle.

    I’m sure there are experts out there who know.

    Home made nut butter is delicious. I haven’t made any in ages.

    I adore hummus. Restaurant freshly made is the best, but I happily eat grocery store hummus too. The downside is I fart. Really stinky farts too.


Recent Posts

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Check it out!

  • 9,469 people are watching me!

