Sleep, Day 4: My First Failure!

February 12, 2009 at 7:41 am 3 comments

Yep, I blew it last night.  I was working on my room last night, and Ed called to distract me.  This was very much appreciated, since apparently the DVD player in my room has finally, after ten years, decided it no longer wants to work.  This meant I couldn’t listen to my Agatha Christie novel without going into one of the boys’ rooms to retrieve a CD Player, so I was trying to make do with the television instead, and was finding it to be more hurtful than helpful.

The only downside, of course, to talking on the phone as opposed to chatting online is that there is no clock immediately before you at all times the way there is on the computer.  So Ed and I were cheerfully entertaining each other with stories about our respective children and all, and before I knew it it was midnight.  I mean, I’d glanced at the clock and realized a couple of times that we were getting close to my Turn Back Into A Pumpkin Time, but when the time actually came, I was oblivious.

Oh well.  I knew all along that this would be a particularly difficult challenge for me, so  the question now is whether I want to restart or just learn a lesson and soldier on.  As dumb as it sounds, the only reason I can think of for not starting over is the fact that this means my 21-day cycles won’t match up with my weigh-ins anymore. 😉   As minor as that is, the part of me that suffers from a touch of OCD minds it, so…

I think I’m going to just continue on from here and not allow myself to officially ‘stop’ until I’ve actually done this for 21 days straight (which means counting up to 25), but I’ll still start my next 21-day cycle as scheduled unless I screw up again and really throw off my goal.  That means that for four days, I’ll be working on two goals at once, but considering the goal in question, I don’t think that that’s going to hurt anything.

By the way, we went to Target yesterday to pick up some things, and I found myself eyeing a green shirt with some flowers printed on it.   It’s part of their Mossimo line, which trends toward the urban chic look and normally isn’t really my thing.  But  in this case there was something overtly ‘botanical’ about the design, so it appealed to me anyway.

Only problem?  The only — and I do mean only — shirt they had left was a 16/18.  I’ve never really understood the sizing system Target uses, since most other clothing manufacturers swing the 2-size range up one increment.  Things are 10-12, 14-16, 18-20.  Trying to determine whether something fits at Target when it goes 16-18, 20-22, 22-24 just leaves me confused as to what to expect.

I decided to take a chance on it, bought it, brought it home and put it on.  Lo and behold, it fits!  And not in the semi-tight, showing-off-my-chest way, but rather it fits like it’s supposed to.  Now, whether it will continue to do so once it’s been laundered once or twice, I couldn’t say; box store brands typically shrink up quite a lot.  But for the MOMENT, at least, I am extremely proud.  I might just have kicked the 20-something sizes!

Well, off to clean s’more, and hopefully walk.

Entry filed under: Failures, Sleep. Tags: , , , , .

Sleep, Day 3: Calculated Decisions Sleep, Day 5: Disrupted Schedules

3 Comments

  • 1. Pangie  |  February 12, 2009 at 8:26 am

    The nice thing about losing weight is that when things shrink, you can just set them aside and know you’ll be able to come back to them eventually. 🙂

  • 2. Michelle  |  February 15, 2009 at 8:09 pm

    I was reading this one thinking, please tell me she tried it on, please tell me she tried it on! Hooray!!!!! I knew it would fit.

  • 3. Jennifer  |  February 16, 2009 at 7:01 pm

    😀

    I do intend to take you up on that shopping offer sometime soon. In fact, I’m going to NEED to. My Size 20 jeans, the ones I could barely fit into before, are starting to become too loose. :/


Recent Posts

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Check it out!

  • 9,469 people are watching me!

