Sleep, Day 8: Goodbye Weekend!

February 16, 2009 at 7:57 pm 3 comments

I’m back to journalling as I walk, which is probably good.  In fact, at this point I’ve walked for a total of 148 minutes, and I’m still going.  I finally have TIME to do this again, and I figured I’d take advantage.  In other windows I’m chatting on Facebook, entering business names and information into Daylite, and filling out my Weight Watchers journal again.

So for the moment, at least, I’m back. 😉

I’ve consumed 7.5 points worth of food today, and I’m feeling good.   Of those points, 3.5 of them were steamed vegetables and a grapefruit. I also had a serving of quinoa and a high-fiber tortilla, and a slice of 2% lowfat cheese.  I’d say that’s not too bad, really.  The walking I’m doing right now APPEARS to cancel out the points I ate, too, at least according to Weight Watchers.

I am now effectively eating a salad a day on my Up Days.  I have discovered that there are three salad dressings I like well enough to eat that regularly.  One is an Asian Sesame dressing I found that somehow manages to come in at 40 calories per 2-tbsp serving.  There’s also T. Marzetti’s Strawberry Vinaigrette and their Basalmic Vinaigrette.   Both of those come in at about 3 points per serving;  I forget the actual stats.  But I find that salad dressing is one of those areas in which I always feel like trying something new is a serious gamble.  I think I just have very particular tastes with that sort of thing.  I am not a fan of bleu cheese, and I tend to avoid creamy dressings just as a matter of principle. (I like them but wow.. the fat content in those things!)  I do tend to like vinaigrettes, but not so much ‘Italian’ dressings.  Not sure why that is.

Oh!  I also found this today: http://walking.about.com/library/cal/uccalc1.htm

That doesn’t take incline into account, but it says I burned 730 calories, so I’m a fan. 😉  Anna tells me that the incline doesn’t necessarily affect your calorie burn anyway, but rather which muscles you happen to be working at the time.  The workout seems tougher, she says, because you’re using muscles you don’t use every day.  Hm.

Anyway….. I dumped all of the cakes last night, the snacks are mostly gone now, and our schedule will now return to normal.  I won’t have this oppressive threat of impending in-laws visit to keep me cleaning when I should be walking, etc.  And if I can keep up this 6:00 am waking time, I can get walking done first thing in the morning, which means I’m more likely to walk longer (at least in terms of ‘because walking won’t get in the way of getting to bed on time’).  Now I just need to set down a meal plan and we’ll be good to go.

So that will be my next magic trick.  I’ll finish this and do that next, so I can pick things up at the store during music lessons tomorrow.  Ciao all!

Entry filed under: Sleep, Successes. Tags: , , , , , .

Weight Check: Week 1 Sleep, Day 9: Second Fail!

3 Comments

  • 1. melalvai  |  February 16, 2009 at 8:42 pm

    Being bad for a bit sometimes is a good incentive for being good again. It makes it feel good to be good. If that makes sense. Glad you’re back on track. It doesn’t actually sound as if you got terribly far off track. That’s a good thing, that you reacted pretty strongly to being just a little bad!

  • 2. Michelle  |  February 22, 2009 at 5:42 pm

    I never count vegetable points. Never a one for all 70 pounds. I only count the oil I cook them in or the sauce I put on them or dip them in. And grapefruit is a laxative, at least it is for me. I count apples and bananas and the like, but never veggies.

  • 3. Michelle  |  February 22, 2009 at 5:43 pm

    Of course, corn and potatoes are not really “veggies” so they count because I treat them as carbs. Peas and carrots are on the edge.


Recent Posts

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Check it out!

  • 9,469 people are watching me!

