Sleep, Day 9: Second Fail!

February 17, 2009 at 4:43 pm 2 comments

I knew this would be tough.  I didn’t quite expect it to be this tough, but then again, there’s been sort of unrelated things going on lately.   Of course, when AREN’T there unrelated things going on?

So…we extend again.   Now I’m going to chug my way through this through Day …what? 30?  Either way, I’m not going to worry too much about it.  I am already starting to feel tired around 11:00 now, and under the circumstances, the clear-headed acuity sleep affords is probably the best thing for me.

Clothing is becoming a problem now.  Before, the size 20 jeans fit me, and that was very exciting and all, but I could still wear the 22 jeans when those were in the laundry.  Now anything above a 20 is too loose to wear.  That’s a happy thing, but frankly I don’t own that many Size 20 pairs of pants these days.  I’m effectively alternating between two pairs of jeans and just sort of overusing belts when I need to wear someting more dressy.

This was obviously the goal, so I am not complaining.  But even the size 20s are now loose right out of the dryer.  Not unwearable-loose, just loose.  I am thrilled, of course, but also aware that this means I can’t go much longer without buying new clothes.  *I* certainly don’t mind shopping for new clothes, but I have a feeling Andy won’t be too thrilled with the added expense right now. 😉

Oh well.. I can just justify it on the grounds that I haven’t been costing him as much to feed, right?  Except that he’d probably argue that my $5.00/box quinoa is costing plenty, thank you very much.  I guess I can’t argue with that.  Meh.

Entry filed under: Failures, Sleep. Tags: , , , .

Sleep, Day 8: Goodbye Weekend! Sleep, Day 10: Why are people playing tennis on our Rollerblading court?

2 Comments

  • 1. melalvai  |  February 22, 2009 at 12:52 pm

    That’s a tough one. On the one hand it seems absolutely logical that you should be rewarded with new clothes for losing all this weight. On the other hand, if you continue to be this successful, you won’t wear it very long before it is too big again and you are needing new clothes. So you could take the attitude that you are going to look pretty frumpy wearing clothes that are too big for you, until you pick a stopping point and say “This is the size I want to be for a good long while.”

    That approach seems reasonable too but it is a big potential motivation killer. Who wants to go around looking frumpy when you should be looking better than you have in a long time?

    Maybe a compromise. You can get by with a small wardrobe right now, because you can wear the same few items over and over, getting as much wear out of them before you are too small. Spring is coming which means garage sales, maybe some good finds in your current size and in your prospective sizes.

    Once you hit your target weight it’ll be fun to build up your wardrobe. It might take a couple of each season before you feel like you have adequate clothes for most occasions!

  • 2. Michelle  |  February 22, 2009 at 5:47 pm

    Clearance racks, thrift stores, Wal-Mart and Target. I think I went through 3 complete wardrobes. You’re right, you won’t have those clothes for long so don’t worry about being in love with them, just make sure they fit well now or are just snug enough that you’ll still wear them.
    This actually makes it very hard to pay more than $20 for any piece of clothing because you figure out how little it actually takes to dress yourself and how paying more just isn’t worth it. And you only buy as much as you need, which allowed us to buy this house with no closet space. I don’t need it.


Recent Posts

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Check it out!

  • 9,474 people are watching me!

