Sleep, Day 10: Why are people playing tennis on our Rollerblading court?

February 18, 2009 at 6:08 pm 4 comments

Okay, so I did fine last night.  Go me.

I am now finding that I actually look forward to walking.  I’m not sure that I’m quite ready yet to make it something I just decide to go out and do out of doors purely for the sake of getting some exercise, as that still strikes me as potentially pretty boring.  But other forms of exercise are starting to appeal to me now, and that’s sort of new.

For example, I found myself in the garage today, giving my rollerblades more than a cursory glance as I got something out of the van.

How ridiculous would that look, I wonder?  A 35-year-old woman on rollerblades?   I mean, it’s as valid a form of exercise as anything else, I suppose, but I think I’d look more than a little silly.   Yet I still remember those warmish spring nights, racing around campus and feeling like I could fly on them.  I used to be able to go forward, backward, fast, slow.  I could stop without having to hit the grass.

Those were good times.  Why does it sometimes feel like my brain got to age 21 and just sort of stopped while my body went on?  I mean, I’m sure I’m more grounded now than I was then, and with the kids and all my priorities are different, but whatever happened to putting away childish things?  Why haven’t I reached the point where such things don’t even appeal to me now, because I’m too grown up, too mature?

There’s also sort of a sheepish issue for me in that while I have, in fact, lost a lot of weight, I am not exactly going to be featured on any Swimsuit Issues anytime soon.  I don’t mean to undermine my own accomplishment here; a loss of nearly 40 pounds is pretty considerable.  But it’s not as if I could throw on a spandex suit and my iPod and rollerblade down in old Main.  My age completely notwithstanding, my morphology is not quite Rollerblade Presentable yet.  I’m still wearing Size 20 jeans, for heaven’s sake.

So I guess I just feel like I’ve lost perspective on how pudgy I am.   I can obviously tell a big difference in the way my clothing fits, and now the only thing interrupting my view of my feet is my chest. (Which isn’t to say my tummy is FLAT or anything, just that it’s not in the way.)  I can feel the contours of my skeleton in places I couldn’t before, I have cheekbones again, and my wedding ring once again MOVES on my finger.    But I’m still weighing in at over 200, and I haven’t achieved the goal of shopping in the Normal Sizes yet.

Fortunately, it’s still REALLY cold out.  There have been a few agonizingly beautiful days here, but mostly it’s just cold and wind and dead grass and bare trees, with occasional bouts of snow and rain and bleh.  Thus, it’s not as if bike-riding or rollerblades are really in the cards anyway.  I guess I’ll just keep plugging and see where I am in March.

Entry filed under: Sleep, Successes. Tags: , , , , .

Sleep, Day 9: Second Fail! Sleep, Day 11: The Cult of Personality

4 Comments

  • 1. Michelle  |  February 22, 2009 at 5:54 pm

    I HAVE BEEN DYING TO GET SKATES AND GO! And there’s a rink near us now that I have been wanting to go to, and they even have over 18 or 21 nights, I forget which. And you don’t have to wear spandex. I’m holding out for spring, too, but now I’ll be motivated to actually find skates that fit and come drag you out of the house. If Cesar Milan can rollerblade, so can you.

  • 2. Jennifer  |  February 23, 2009 at 10:15 am

    This is a good point. I have to admit, the idea of rolling around the neighborhood with the dogs is pretty fun. 😉 They’d probably love it.

    I am intrigued by the idea of over-21 nights at a roller rink. 😉 Clearly, I need to investigate this issue further. When it gets warmer, we should go!

  • 3. 21daystome  |  February 24, 2009 at 10:37 am

    There’s an over 21 night at our roller rink, too. I remember being excited to finally get to go when I was 21 because they played oldies music instead of whatever techno-beebopping music these kids listen to nowadays. 😉 You should definitely try it.

    “Why haven’t I reached the point where such things don’t even appeal to me now, because I’m too grown up, too mature?”

    Why should you? Enjoy what you enjoy!

  • 4. melalvai  |  February 24, 2009 at 6:33 pm

    The only times I feel too grown up for fun things are when I’m tired. That happens a lot more frequently when you become a mom. I always said it was a good thing we had Nell when I was 21, because she’ll go to college when I’m 40. I should have plenty of energy still! Actually that’s kind of already happened, she’s independent enough that I no longer feel the weight of the world is on my shoulders…and it wasn’t quite the carefree lark I thought it would be.


Recent Posts

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Check it out!

  • 9,474 people are watching me!

