Sleep, Day 12: Facebook and Fridge Graph

February 20, 2009 at 6:30 pm 2 comments

I’m going to have to just give it up with this sleep goal.  It’s a great idea in theory, but I just keep blowing it.  I’m doing fine on everything else, granted. I’m walking a ton and staying true to my ADF diet plan, so I’m not too worried about it.  I just keep screwing up the sleep thing.  Meh.

Part of my issue is Facebook.  Now that Facebook has become such a hit with people of my actual age, I’m finding more and more excuses to hang out there while I’m walking.  It’s led to me putting off journal entries, because I’ve been so busy talking to people, knocking off rival bosses in Mafia Wars, setting up playlists in iLike, etc. that before I know it, the time is up and I’ve not typed anything.

But more than that, I inevitably end up ‘chatting’ with someone and the conversation is too compelling to give up…which means I end up online well past when I should be, and goodbye Sleep Goal.  I really ought to have more self-control by now, but I think I’m just so in the habit at this point that it’s hard to stop.

I did make Facebook work for me, though.  I found a Facebook App that works in cooperation with a website called Fridge Graph.  As far as I can tell, all it is is a weight-tracking site, but the graph it produces can be made to appear on your Facebook profile.

I set mine up with a goal of hitting 140 by mid-July.  I knew this was kind of silly, since it would mean I’d lose 100 pounds in less than 35 weeks.  That’s an average of just under 3 pounds a week, twice what is normally recommended.  But a goal was requested, so I put that in.

The graph created a line and then showed each weigh-in I’ve done since starting this adventure, so I can see how my actual weight loss tracks against the goal line.  Here’s how mine comes out:

Fridge Graph

Fridge Graph

Neat, huh? 🙂  Check out how my weight line is staying right with — and is even UNDER — my goal line.  That floored me.

Entry filed under: Failures, Sleep. Tags: , , , , , , .

Sleep, Day 11: The Cult of Personality Sleep, Day 13: New Clothes!

2 Comments

  • 1. Melalvai  |  March 2, 2009 at 10:12 am

    I couldn’t see your fridge graph, either on facebook or at that link.

  • 2. Jennifer  |  March 2, 2009 at 9:08 pm

    Bah. I guess that makes sense. It’s password protected, but it should be visible on Facebook if you’re logged in. Huh.


Recent Posts

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Check it out!

  • 9,474 people are watching me!

