Sleep, Day 14: Switching Gears

February 22, 2009 at 8:36 pm 2 comments

Well, as I said…the sleep thing is a bust.  I’m keeping it in my title because I figure I owe it to myself to be consistent and admit to it. 😉  But only until Wednesday.  Wednesday begins Lent.

I promised Pangie that I would give vegetarianism (is that even a word?) a whirl for Lent, so… starting Wednesday I say goodbye to meat for 40 days.  The best part is that it will end on a Sunday (you know, Easter and all), so I’ll be back on track when it’s done. 😉  That’s kind of neat.

Only problem?  On Wednesday I’m supposed to prepare a chicken for the annual Little Lambs Lenten Soup And Salad supper.  We traditionally make a very yummy Chicken Soup with Rice, completely homemade, and I agreed to help out by preparing a pot.   I don’t actually mind that much, but it’s kind of ironic to have that on my plate on the same day that I’m giving up meat for over a month. 😉

That aside, I’m actually pretty happy about this plan.   I don’t think I could go so far as to go Vegan, as I know I’ve said before; I would miss eggs and milk products (read: cheese and ice cream) too much.  But I’m not a huge fan of meat to begin with, really.  In a way, I almost feel that this is defeating the point of giving something up, since you’re supposed to give up something you enjoy very much, since the act of depriving yourself will draw your attention to the sacrifice of Christ repeatedly throughout the season.   It’s not meant to be a pass to excuse yourself from something you didn’t really want to do that much to begin with.

But… I do like convenience, and I dislike putting people out, and so in that way it’s actually a good choice.

So…starting Wednesday, goodbye to flesh for me.

Entry filed under: Failures, Sleep. Tags: , , , .

Sleep, Day 13: New Clothes! Weight Check, Week 2

2 Comments

  • 1. Michelle  |  March 3, 2009 at 1:20 pm

    I want to know what you are eating to get enough complete protein and how satisfying it is. I don’t think I’ll ever do this completely, but I’d like to know there are protein alternatives since meat is expensive.

  • 2. Melalvai  |  March 3, 2009 at 2:15 pm

    We looked at this recently.
    Per gram, nuts and meat have a lot of protein.

    But per calorie, fish is way ahead of everything else, followed by chicken and then beef. Nuts have too much fat.

    Actually, per calorie, broccoli and spinach come out strong! But you have to eat a TON of it to get anything (calories or protein!)

    Beans are actually pathetic sources of protein which surprised me, I’d always been taught “Meat, fish and beans” corner of the pyramid.


Recent Posts

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Check it out!

  • 9,474 people are watching me!

