Sleep, Day 15: Emotional Impact

February 23, 2009 at 10:08 pm 3 comments

Emotions are funny things…

I’m going through an emotional time right now, the details of which I’ll spare my faithful readers as they actually don’t have anything to do with anything we talk about here.   Suffice it to say, though, that it’s having an effect on my regimen.

The interesting (?) thing is that it’s not the effect one would normally expect.   I think it’s safe to call this ‘depression’, because I am definitely NOT happy… but most of the time when you hear about depression affecting someone’s eating habits, the idea is usually that they eat too much and blow their diet and all.   I mean, I was struggling with that awhile back myself, but this is different.

Instead, I have no appetite.  I feel a big knot in my stomach and eating is the last thing I want to do.   I guess for the purposes of losing weight, this might be sort of a good thing, but when I’m doing ADF as it is, I worry that I’m not eating enough on the Up Days to offset the calorie restriction on the Down Days.   I could really throw myself into a crash if I’m not careful.

I hope this passes soon. 😦

Entry filed under: Failures, Sleep. Tags: , , , .

Weight Check, Week 2 Sleep, Day 16: Clothes are good, Steps are VERY BAD

3 Comments

  • 1. Melalvai  |  March 2, 2009 at 10:03 am

    Sometimes stress makes me eat more, sometimes less. Generally it’s situational. If I’m trying to eat healthy, I react to stress by eating more junk. If I should be eating a normal amount, I react to stress by eating less. The actual reaction is one of rebellion. I rebel by refusing to take care of myself.

    The knots in my stomach tend to push me toward not eating. Under less stressful situation that don’t result in nausea or loss of appetite, candy is on the menu.

  • 2. Jennifer  |  March 2, 2009 at 9:13 pm

    Yeah… when I was feeling bummed before, it definitely had me running to food for comfort. Maybe it’s just an issue of degrees?

    In fact, that makes a lot of sense, if you put it up against the research Dr. Johnson cited in his book. To hear him tell it, you’d think that if humans could just train themselves to eat, like, once a week and make use of a high-nutrient, low-calorie diet, we would all look like we’re twenty until we’re well into our 90s. I don’t know that I actually BUY that, but he had pictures of rats at 1000 days of age; the calorie-restricted rats looked beautiful, the normal-diet rats looked old and decrepit.

    So, if the body really is worn out from the effort of digesting and processing intake, it COULD be hypothesized that food ceases to be a sensory comfort and begins to become too much of a hassle to bother with when stress levels reach a certain point.

    Wow, I sound like a bio major.

  • 3. Michelle  |  March 3, 2009 at 1:27 pm

    When I’m truly DEPRESSED, like clinically or close to it, which I can only think of two times in my life that happened, my appetite disappears. The breakup with my high school/early college boyfriend (which you should recall), and my first job in Saint Louis which involved sales, are the only two things that took away my appetite.


Recent Posts

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Check it out!

  • 9,474 people are watching me!

