Sleep, Day 16: Clothes are good, Steps are VERY BAD

February 24, 2009 at 10:12 pm

I think I’ve officially kicked my second Terrible Two.

So I’ve ditched the Size 20s.   Now I think I’ve officially moved from 2XL to XL.  I’ve had a few shirts and things that were XL (including the one I won during the Trivia Night) that sort of fit.  Now they fit for real.  They’re comfortable and loose.

This means I have just one Terrible Two to go now, and I have a feeling I might hit it this week.  That would be so nice…  Of the three of them, the 200+ weights are by far the most troubling to me.  Somehow 200 sounds so much heavier than even 199.  That threshold is important, and I can’t wait to get below it.

Previous efforts to lose weight have seen me get to about 170 and then hit a wall.  My Fridge Graph shows such a steady decline this time, though, that I feel like I might just beat that too.  Here’s hoping.  Originally I just wanted to shop in the Normal People Clothes, but now I find myself wanting to be at a level below the XL or L.  An M would be nice.  An S would be fantastic. 😉

I guess this is how it goes.  It’s almost addicting, in a way.  You get a little successful with this sort of thing, and suddenly you’re eyeing Body Sculpting classes and longing for the next size down.

In other news, I had a very unhappy experience today.   It was reasonably nice — not warm, but clear and not too windy — and the older three asked if they could go outside.   I went ahead and told them to go.  Then Luke asked to go outside too (in true 2-year-old fashion) and even brought me his ‘Co-coat’ and asked me to put it on him.  I didn’t want to go out with him, but I decided I hadn’t really spent enough time with him anyway, so maybe it would be a good idea.

So I was leading him down the steps, holding his hand, and when I stepped on the one about seven from the bottom, the support beneath it gave way and I went down like a rock.  I completely scraped up my right arm, and the nails that were ostensibly holding the step in place scraped up my right leg.  My left arm was still holding Luke’s hand, so he pitched forward and scraped his forehead on the step in front of us.

FORTUNATELY, Luke didn’t fall aside from that.  And I landed with my feet on the ground, so it wasn’t as bad as it could have been.  My worst injury is on my upper right arm, where I hit the step in front of me.   I have a feeling I’m going to be sore tomorrow.  :/

When the dust had cleared and I figured out that I wasn’t dead and neither was Luke, and there didn’t seem to be serious injuries on either side, my reaction was to be resentful.   Had this happened, you know, in NOVEMBER, I could kind of understand.. But I’ve lost nearly 50 pounds!  I didn’t deserve this!  😉

Ah, well..  Could have been worse, I guess.

Entry filed under: Failures, Sleep. Tags: , , .

Sleep, Day 15: Emotional Impact Lent, Day 1: Rollerblades!


Recent Posts

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Check it out!

  • 9,469 people are watching me!

