Lent, Day 1: Rollerblades!

February 25, 2009 at 10:29 pm 1 comment

Well, today was Ash Wednesday, and I was a good girl and made my Chicken Soup for church like I promised.  It wasn’t really as bad as it could have been.  It’s kind of funny that the ADF Objectors say that this approach to dieting ‘doesn’t teach eating control’, presumably because you can eat whatever you want on the Up Days.  Anyone who said that never had to prepare a meal for a family of six on an empty stomach.

In any case, in spite of yesterday’s accident, I went ahead and bit the bullet today and got out my rollerblades.  They were hanging in the garage and were suffering from a serious case of dust-coat, but somehow they hadn’t suffered anything worse as a result of eight or nine years of neglect.  I put them on and took Phoenix on a spin up the road a bit, ala Cesar Milan.

It was a lot of fun.  As sore as my arms and legs were, it was almost as much fun as I remembered, even.  The only downfall (not literally) was that I have forgotten how to stop when going down an incline.  Back in the day, we considered it a fail if you had to resort to aiming yourself for the nearest patch of grass to stop yourself, but I failed right and left today.  In fact, I think I completely forgot that I even had brake pads on the backs of my skates. 😉 

Still, I count it a successful day.  Tomorrow I’ll be sore in all new places, I’m sure, but it was a good experience.  Unfortunately, tomorrow it’s supposed to rain.  Bleh.

Oh, BTW.. I didn’t eat meat today.  So far so good.  It’s nice to check that ‘Success’ box again 😉

Entry filed under: Successes, Vegetarian. Tags: , , , .

Sleep, Day 16: Clothes are good, Steps are VERY BAD Lent, Day 2: So far, So good.

1 Comment

  • 1. Michelle  |  March 3, 2009 at 1:34 pm

    Oo, oo! Have you seen joesgoals.com? Good for habits and so satisfying to track successes.


Recent Posts

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Check it out!

  • 9,469 people are watching me!

