Lent, Day 2: So far, So good.

February 26, 2009 at 11:57 pm 6 comments

Really, this was the first day of Lent that actually counted, since it was an Up Day.   It’s actually not that hard to stick to a vegetarian diet so far.  As it was, I was mostly sticking to cereal in the morning, a salad for lunch and then whatever we were having for dinner, so most of my day was vegetarian anyway.  Now I just have to skip the meat course at dinner.

In other news, get this:  ANDY has decided to take up ADF for Lent.   He actually started on Monday, and I think he did okay.  He tried to keep himself to eating microwave popcorn, but I think he found it wasn’t very satisfying.   The issue with Andy is that he’s such a fussy eater that there’s not a whole lot he can turn to now on those Down Days.   I was fortunate enough to come to this with a reasonable liking for healthy food.  I like fruit, I like salads, I like water.   Andy likes none of the above (unless the salad is dripping with ranch dressing); he’s a serious meat-and-potatoes guy.

So I don’t know how he’ll do.  I’m trying to be helpful without overdoing it, since I figure it could be too easy for me to become annoying about it.  The only downside I’m seeing right now is that we’re facing the issue I once predicted when musing about what would happen if Andy ever decided to give this a shot.  Before, I could just prepare foods I didn’t like on MWF, since I wouldn’t be eating anyway, and justify fixing whatever I like on TTR because I could justify being a little selfish those two days.   I mean, they’re the only days I get to eat, right?  But NOW, they’re also the only days Andy gets to eat too, so I’m back to having to debate dinner according to both of our tastes.

I don’t mind too much, it’s just funny.

Entry filed under: Lent, Successes. Tags: , , .

Lent, Day 1: Rollerblades! Lent, Day 3: It’s in the Jeans…

6 Comments

  • 1. Melalvai  |  March 2, 2009 at 10:07 am

    That’s really sweet of him. He might discover that some vegetables are tastier than he realized. As my mother ALWAYS says, “Hunger is the best sauce”.

  • 2. Amanda  |  March 2, 2009 at 11:14 am

    Could you alternate eating days? Then on your day you could really eat whatever you wanted and his day, he can eat whatever he loves even if you hate it .. or he can eat meat!

  • 3. Jennifer  |  March 2, 2009 at 9:06 pm

    I’ve actually suggested that to him (alternating days. I suggested he could take Sunday/Tuesday/Thursday, or I could.) I think he figures it’s not worth messing with the formula since he doesn’t plan to be on the diet for that long.

    Andy’s issue is that he’s very stubborn about food. If he knows that some ingredient in a given dish is something he doesn’t like, he won’t touch it… even just to SEE if he likes it. It’s frustrating because Noah is the same way.

    So I don’t know how he’s going to manage, exactly. But I figure I’ll just give him suggestions and let him sort it out.

  • 4. Michelle  |  March 3, 2009 at 1:36 pm

    Uh, when you started this you had some issues like that, too. I can’t believe you eat beans now. Just help him if he asks you and he’ll find his way.

  • 5. Jennifer  |  March 6, 2009 at 12:10 am

    Well, to be fair.. I’m still not eating *beans*. Bean dips, yeah… I’m coming around there. But white beans still don’t do much for me, I’m afraid, and I only put up with black beans in the Healthy Weight blend because there’s Edamame in it that makes it okay again. 😉

  • 6. Pangie  |  March 6, 2009 at 9:23 pm

    You trust me, don’t you Jen? Lima beans. Baby green lima beans. I promise!


Recent Posts

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Check it out!

  • 9,469 people are watching me!

