Lent, Day 5: Prone Position

March 1, 2009 at 7:25 pm

Okay, so after church this morning, I found myself trying to decide what to wear for the day.  I am now finding that my whole wardrobe is becoming a source of concern, because literally 90% of what exists in my closet is just too darned big now.   I can still wear my shirts, obviously, but I’ve grown a little picky now. 😉  Now that I have a waist again, I’m sort of loathe to hide it with a big, baggy shirt.

This led me to contemplate those size 16 jeans again.  I got them out and put them on, and did the lie-on-the-bed thing to get them fastened.  Not surprisingly, in that position I could fasten them easily.  I wasn’t too keen on the resulting roll of tummy that this produced above the waistband, but at least the jeans weren’t uncomfortable once I had them on.

I proceeded to wear them for the rest of the day.  Within an hour they were really comfortable.

As I know I’ve noted, my weight loss is taking place mostly from extremities inward, which means the last big horizons for weight loss will be my tummy and rear end.  Not that this is unusual, but now that I’m seeing results elsewhere I’m really wondering if it will be possible to shrink this horrid belly away somehow.  The stretch marks are so embarrassing, even if I did come by them pretty darned honestly.  I’m also finding myself feeling impatient with the loose skin on my upper arms and thighs.  It’s not disgusting or anything, but I wish it would go away.

All in good time, all in good time.  It’s funny how my expectations have changed now. 😉  Before I was sure I’d be happy if I could just get into teen sizes and shop places that didn’t include the words ‘Woman’ or ‘Plus’.    I’m not actually THERE yet, but my goals keep shifting forward the closer I get.  Now I don’t just want to be out of the 2X range.. I want to not need an X at all.  I don’t just want to shop in the normal people sizes, I want to be at liberty to buy a medium..or even a small.    And I want my tummy to tighten up, my arms to have some definition, my rear end to lose its prominence.

Suddenly I understand why Angie Meyer is accused of ‘working out too much’ now.  In fact, I’m tempted to call her and ask what her gym membership fees are.  This must just be how it goes; you start out down the slope and before you know it, you’re racing toward things you never anticipated.

Once again, I was good and avoided meat, and that wasn’t easy.  The boys’ Blue and Gold banquet was last night, and they had the meal catered by Lee’s Chicken… so the takings included Fried Chicken, Mashed Potatoes and Gravy, Cole Slaw and Applesauce, with buttered rolls.   Serious comfort food, none of it especially good for you.  I was good and avoided the chicken, but the gravy presented a little bit of an issue.  Odds are the gravy served there was made from a mix, but would it have had meat products in it?  No one was sure.

I ate some.  I figured it was up to me to determine whether that violated my principles or not, and  I just had a feeling it was mostly salt anyway.  It seemed a small compensation considering I was avoiding fried chicken.

Entry filed under: Lent, Successes, Vegetarian. Tags: , , , , .

Lent, Day 4: Forever in Blue Jeans Weight Check, Week…whatever.


Recent Posts

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Check it out!

  • 9,474 people are watching me!

