Lent, Day 6: Dropping Off the Scale

March 2, 2009 at 11:20 pm 2 comments

Oooo-kay.  While I am certainly happy to have technically achieved my second 10% goal as of today, I am (as previously stated) not quite sure whether or not to trust this.  I don’t mean to sound ungrateful, but two five-pound losses in as many weeks is pretty unprecedented, and (as previously stated) potentially unhealthy.

So … I guess I brace myself for what Rachel said — that it might not last.  Or, at the very least, that I might actually gain a pound or two back this week.  I certainly intend to do a better job of eating right this week, and of drinking enough water, so we’ll see what happens.

I did make a concerted effort to kind of stick to the upper end of my food goal today, too.  It’s a Down Day, so I try to stay under 6 points or so, but today I let myself eat a little more than I normally would.  I also made it a point to get a full serving of quinoa in, at the very least.  Protein is important.

However, once I saw my weight, I did go upstairs and give the size 16 jeans another shot.  As before, they fit me great through the legs, but this time I could fasten them if I laid down to do it.  That doesn’t suggest ‘fitting’, but it wouldn’t be the first time I’d had to fasten slacks or jeans that way, sadly.  So once I had them fastened and on, I proceeded to wear them for the rest of the day, even on to handbells.  I wouldn’t say they’re *COMFORTABLE*, but they’re not horribly uncomfortable either.

And the fact that the leg length is perfect certainly helps.   The main thing is my tummy, which is obviously still loose and kind of flabby.  I’m really not sure there’s a cure for that, though admittedly I could be doing floor work like crunches and twists to try and build up the muscle tone there.  I just really HATE those exercises.  They make me feel nauseous.

So anyway… all told, it was a good day.  I’m probably firmly in what would be called a Size 17 now, but hopefully (not this week, but maybe next) these size 16s will start to fit more comfortably for the right reasons.

Entry filed under: Lent, Successes, Vegetarian. Tags: , , , , .

Weight Check, Week…whatever. Lent, Day 7: Hydration and Food

2 Comments

  • 1. Michelle  |  March 3, 2009 at 1:41 pm

    Doing ab work will NOT take care of skin or fat. It will just tighten what’s under it. Jillian Michaels actually works on different muscles more and less based on what parts of her body she wants to appear bigger. She has no waist, so she doesn’t do anything to build larger abs. And there are lots of ab exercises that don’t require bending in half. Look up Plank position and do some of that. You’ll figure out where your abs are. 🙂 It’s actually really good to be strong there. And it’s probably time for you to add in some resistance training if you’re not already doing it. You could be losing a lot of muscle mass because you’re not really doing anything to keep it and now your body is a lot less hard to move around, so your muscles are actually getting less resistance than they were before you lost weight.

  • 2. Melalvai  |  March 3, 2009 at 2:11 pm

    Walking is really really good for maintaining muscle mass but it will help a lot of you are building core strength too. You are putting your body through a lot right now.


Recent Posts

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Check it out!

  • 9,469 people are watching me!

